Montana Lemon Law Information
The Montana Lemon Law applies when, during the first two (2) years or 18,000 miles (whichever occurs first) following delivery of a new vehicle:
- the dealer has attempted to repair the same problem four (4) or more times, or
- the vehicle has been out of service for repairs at the dealership for a cumulative total of 30 or more business days.
To qualify for the Montana Lemon Law, there must be substantial defects that impair the use, market value or safety of the vehicle. The problems can't have resulted from abuse, neglect, modification or alteration by anyone other than the manufacturer or authorized dealer.
The Lemon Law coverage can be extended by up to an additional year as long as you report the defect in writing to the dealer or manufacturer during the 2 year/18,000 mile period.
- Montana Lemon Law information from the Department of Justice »
- Montana Statutes Title 61, Chapter 4 - New Motor Vehicle Warranties - Remedies »
Helpful Lemon Law Tips
Most states require you to notify the dealer and the manufacturer that you have a Lemon Law claim. Always use Certified Mail with Return Receipt.
If the manufacturer has an informal mediation or dispute resolution process, most states require you to do that first before pursuing litigation. However, you should contact a lawyer immediately.
Most lawyers will not charge you for an initial consultation or legal fees for Lemon Law arbitration. If they decide you have a case, normally the manufacturer is forced to pay your legal costs.