If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

« back to states

New Mexico Lemon Law Information

GET MAD: New Mexico has one of the the worst lemon laws, hands down. The "out-of-service" criteria of 30 business days is among the longest out of all the states, while the coverage period of one year is the shortest.

Think about what this means -- to qualify, your brand new vehicle would have to be out of service for 1 1/2 months in the first year after you bought it. Most folks would be bankrupt long before the New Mexico Lemon Law "out-of-service" criteria kicks in.

Tell your reps how unfair this is & that you want the law changed »

The New Mexico Lemon Law applies when, during the first year following delivery of a new vehicle to the consumer:

  • the dealer has attempted to repair the same problem four (4) or more times, or
  • the vehicle has been out of service due to repair attempts by the dealer for a total of 30 or more business days.

Only major defects that both decrease the value of the car and interfere with its use are covered.

New Mexico New Car Lemon Law (see New Car Lemon Law section near the end) » New Mexico Attorney General's Office »

New Mexico Used Car Lemon Law Information

Effective January 1, 2004, dealers that sell used cars are required to tell the customer about any problems the vehicle has and issue warranties for 15 days or 500 miles, which ever comes first. Dealers are not allowed to use the terms "AS IS' or "no warranty".

New Mexico Used Car Lemon Law information »

Helpful Lemon Law Tips

Most states require you to notify the dealer and the manufacturer that you have a Lemon Law claim. Always use Certified Mail with Return Receipt.

If the manufacturer has an informal mediation or dispute resolution process, most states require you to do that first before pursuing litigation. However, you should contact a lawyer immediately.

Most lawyers will not charge you for an initial consultation or legal fees for Lemon Law arbitration. If they decide you have a case, normally the manufacturer is forced to pay your legal costs.

Add Your Complaint

Bump the car problem graphs up another notch. Get answers and make your voice heard!

Become a Fan & Spread the Word