Ohio Lemon Law Information
The Ohio Lemon Law applies when, during the first year or 18,000 miles (whichever occurs first) following delivery of the new vehicle:
- the dealer has attempted to repair the same problem three (3) or more times, with at least the first repair attempt occuring within the 1-year/18,000 mile period, or
- the dealer has attempted to repair various problems eight (8) or more times, or
- the dealer has unsucessfully attempted to repair a problem that could have resulted in death or serious injury at least once, or
- the vehicle has been out of service due to repair attempts by the dealer for a total of 30 or more days.
Most automakers participate in some kind of arbitration program. Some of these have been approved by the Attorney General, but others have not. If a program has been approved by the Attorney General, you must go through arbitration before you have the right to file a lawsuit. Contact the Attorney Generalís Consumer Protection Section to learn which manufacturers have approved arbitration programs.Ohio Lemon Law information from the Attorney General's Office »
Have Your Case Reviewed (FREE) -- Ohio Lemon Law Attorneys
Helpful Lemon Law Tips
Most states require you to notify the dealer and the manufacturer that you have a Lemon Law claim. Always use Certified Mail with Return Receipt.
If the manufacturer has an informal mediation or dispute resolution process, most states require you to do that first before pursuing litigation. However, you should contact a lawyer immediately.
Most lawyers will not charge you for an initial consultation or legal fees for Lemon Law arbitration. If they decide you have a case, normally the manufacturer is forced to pay your legal costs.