« back to states

Oklahoma Lemon Law Information

GET MAD: Oklahoma has one of the worst Lemon Laws in the U.S. from the consumer's perspective. Oklahoma's out-of-service criteria of 45 days (6 weeks!!) is the second-longest of the 50 state lemon laws, & the 1-year limit is the least amount of time for coverage.

Tell your reps how unfair this is & that you want the law changed »

The Oklahoma Lemon Law applies when, during a one-year period following delivery of the vehicle:

  • the dealer has attempted to repair the same problem four (4) or more times within the first year of ownership, or
  • the vehicle has been out of service due to repair attempts by the dealer for a total of 45 or more calendar days.

To qualify for the Lemon Law, the problem or defect must substantially impair the use and value of the vehicle, and must not be the result of abuse, neglect or unauthorized modifications or alterations.

Oklahoma Lemon Law information from the Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Commission »

Helpful Lemon Law Tips

Most states require you to notify the dealer and the manufacturer that you have a Lemon Law claim. Always use Certified Mail with Return Receipt.

If the manufacturer has an informal mediation or dispute resolution process, most states require you to do that first before pursuing litigation. However, you should contact a lawyer immediately.

Most lawyers will not charge you for an initial consultation or legal fees for Lemon Law arbitration. If they decide you have a case, normally the manufacturer is forced to pay your legal costs.

Add Your Complaint

Bump the car problem graphs up another notch. Get answers and make your voice heard!

Become a Fan & Spread the Word