Texas Lemon Law Information
The Texas Lemon Law applies when the criteria for at least one of the following tests is met:
- Four-times test: the dealer has attempted to repair the same problem at least twice during the first year/12,000 miles, and at least twice more during the next year/12,000 miles, or
- Serious safety-hazard test: the dealer has attempted to repair a serious safety hazard at least once during the first year/12,000 miles, and at least once again during the next year or 12,000 miles, or
- 30-day test: the vehicle has been out of service for repair for a cumulative total of 30 or more business days during the first two years or 24,000 miles, AND there were at least two (2) repair attempts during the first 12 months/12,000 miles.
The Texas Lemon Law does not cover used motor vehicles (including program vehicles), repossessed vehicles, non-travel trailers, boats, or farm equipment. Neither does it cover vehicles with problems caused by owner's abuse, neglect or unauthorized changes to the vehicle, parts or components not authorized or installed by the manufacturer*, or problems that do not substantially affect the use or market value of the vehicle like minor rattles or stereo problems.
Recommended Texas Lemon Law Attorneys
We have partnered with JustAnswer.com to offer help and advice from expert Lemon Law lawyers.
Describe your lemon law case in the text box to the right, & receive an answer in 10 minutes or less!
The fee is typically $9 to $15, and you do not have to pay anything unless you accept the answer.
Consumer Law Attorney Kevin Le, J.D. »
The Law Offices of Kevin Le handle lemon law and warranty claims for most new cars and consumer products. Under the "Texas Lemon Law", applicable Federal Consumer Laws such as the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act, and the Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Act, you may be entitled to a recovery in a form of a settlement, new vehicle replacement, or refund.
Helpful Lemon Law Tips
Most states require you to notify the dealer and the manufacturer that you have a Lemon Law claim. Always use Certified Mail with Return Receipt.
If the manufacturer has an informal mediation or dispute resolution process, most states require you to do that first before pursuing litigation. However, you should contact a lawyer immediately.
Most lawyers will not charge you for an initial consultation or legal fees for Lemon Law arbitration. If they decide you have a case, normally the manufacturer is forced to pay your legal costs.