ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
0 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1996 Cadillac SeVille AC / heater problems

AC / heater problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1996 Cadillac SeVille:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1996 Cadillac SeVille Owner Comments

problem #4

Nov 012001

SeVille

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car was purchased (leased) on 2/22/00. Car kept stalling while driving or wouldn't start at all. Had it towed to dealer on 2/29/00. They couldn't duplicate the problem on 6/8/00. They replaced the fuel pump and I had car towed to dealer. Dash board panel would read battery, no charge when it would rain had belt replaced. Had several stiff spots when turning steering wheel on 11/1/01. Rack and pinion and water pump had to be replaced with only 45654 miles. On 1/30/01 dealer performed "protect injector service" at 49481 miles. 2/20/02 returned car to dealer, gas pedal was sticking. They cleaned deposit is from throttle blades at 49533 miles. Car began stalling again. 10/29/01 egr valve replaced with 60324 miles. 12/12/01 spark plugs had to be replaced due to poor performance with 60324 miles. We have replaced the tires, front and back brakes. The air conditioning went out may, 2002. Had it repaired on 7/9/02 replaced R&R compressor assembly, expansion tube assembly, A/C recharge, freon, dye kit, A/C oil and orifice tube with an odometer reading of 69860!! ridiculous isn't it?? not done yet 7/11/02 - A/C is out again. This time had to replace the A/C sensor, A/C switch, acm module, R&R switch compressor cut-off, R&R sensor sunload (atc), R&R module climate control. Today, it still doesn't work. I'm tired of pumping $$ into something that is a lease. We contacted Cadillac on helping us get out of this lease and into a different GM lease, they wouldn't help. This car has been nothing but trouble since day 3. when parking the car and trying to remove keys is another problem. We have to hit the top of the shifter to get the keys to release. The shifter sticks and won't release the keys. Currently, the problem we have is the banging under the car, which we found are the struts. They don't even make after market ones yet! let us know if any of these things are "recalled". caddy crap!! thank you.

- Temperance, MI, USA

problem #3

Mar 072000

SeVille

  • miles
The HVAC only emits heat. The relay was replaced. Air conditioning failed again and once again had to be replaced. The air conditioner compressor and filter had to be replaced and the blower motor failed and was replaced.

- San Clemente, CA, USA

problem #2

Nov 011995

SeVille

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
A/C has lack of coolant under high ambient temperatures. Consumer warranty has expired & there was 50,1000 miles on vehicle.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #1

May 251996

SeVille

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Air conditioner failed.

- Whittier, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?