ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

Print this page

5.4

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,976 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1996 Chevrolet Blazer accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1996 Chevrolet Blazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1996 Chevrolet Blazer Owner Comments

problem #11

Jan 022003

Blazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,734 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dealer replaced heater core due to leak and found sludge in cooling system (dex cool). Heater core replaced and system flushed 4 times. Heater core replaced again on 1/19/03, water pump replaced in 2/03. Radiator has large leak 5/22/03. Sludge visible in radiator and overflow bottle. Dealer/GM indicates problem with sludge build up caused by owner not maintaining system. Head gasket replaced in 2001 and windshield wiper circuit board in 2001 (bad solder joint) - GM indicated the windshield wiper problem not associated with VIN number. All costs out of pocket.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #10

Jan 052002

Blazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,000 miles
Windshield wipers front & rear failed, water pump quit, drive shaft broke, ball joints right front broke, heater quit, air conditioner quit. Drivers side rear view mirror fell off, steering problems, brake problems, universal joints worn out, cracked front rotors, etc.

- Elkview, WV, USA

problem #9

Jun 202002

Blazer 4WD

  • miles
02/17/00 (36417 miles)--cooling system flushed per tsb #99-06-02-012 and heater core replaced. 6/15/00 (39128 miles)--cooling system flushed per tsb. 11/15/00 (42626 miles)--cooling system flushed per tsb. 6/2/02 (60,715 miles)--radiator and heater core replacement and cooling system flush required.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #8

Mar 112002

Blazer 4WD

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This cooling system failure has resulted in my having to replace the heater core and hoses as well as the radiator due to the amount and thickness of the corrosion/rust inside. The system will have to be flushed...Chevy is aware of this issue as referenced by their repair bulletins...the extend and cost of the damage is understated.... IM out of pocket $1400 to replace a radiator a heating core and other component due to not being notified sooner about the possibility of the problem occurring and thereby having the vehicle inspected for the probably issue!

- Bothell, WA, USA

problem #7

Jan 102002

Blazer 4WD

  • miles
After recently buying this vehicle we noticed the air coming from the vents was not exactly warm. Took it to be repaired and was told it was probably a thermostat problem since the vehicle was so "new". unfortunately, it ended up being the heater core(which from what I am hearing is extremely rare for a vehicle of this age).

- Hebron, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #6

Oct 012001

Blazer

  • miles
Heater stops working. Dealer has been contacted for problem, and has informed consumer that heater core was clogged from anti-freeze because coils were clogged and stuck together.

- Manchester, MO, USA

problem #5

Oct 011999

Blazer

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Heater stopped working. Consumer took vehicle to dealer, and dealer said that heater core was clogged from antifreeze because coils were too close together. Dealer kets flushing out the system.

- Manchester, MO, USA

problem #4

Jul 012001

Blazer

  • miles
Dexcool in radiator cooling system had turned to a rusty sludge. Had coolant flush done at 60,000 miles by the dealer. Had dealer reinspect vehicle as I was going on a long road. I have copy of 27 point inspection stating my vehicle was in good condition with no noted problems. 261 miles later I was stranded in the desert with a plugged and blown radiator and heater core. The radiator cap was completely rusted. The fluid in the overflow tank was a rusty brown thick mess. The hoses going into the radiator had to be replaced due to a coating of rust on the inside. I had a new radiator put on, new hoses, and the radiator and engine block reflushed, new coolant added and overflow tank washed. 1,500 miles later (to the current mileage I am at now) the dexcool fluid is already discoloring and particles of rust are starting to reappear. Which tells me the corrosion is deep inside the system. GM will not acknowledge a problem of rusting and corrosion, dealer will take no responsibility for their work or inspections. GM never warned the consumers that this had to be carefully watched or major engine damage would occur. GM has a training video that was sent to dealers that specifically deals with the dexcool corrosion problem. It is called GM training video understanding radiator cap and cooling system contamination. They are claiming the radiator caps may have a problem properly sealing the radiator thus causing high evaporation and thus contaminating the cooling system. If they are aware of this why was the consumer not informed? how can GM not take responsibility for the damage that is being done to a large amount on their vehicles. They also claim that the radiator design on certain types of their vehicles make them more prone to the corrosion contamination, such as the Blazer, jimmy, St pickups, camaros. That is why not all GM products that were delivered originally with dexcool has had a problem.

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #3

Jun 142001

Blazer 4WD

  • miles
Radiator and engine completely flushed, cap and thermostat replaced due to "mud" in system.dealer told me "mud" was actually metal and sand left in engine block during the production/milling process. 1 month after flush the system is clogged again with this mud. Dealer saying another flush is needed along with possible water pump and heater core replacement. Dealer and other local car maintenance companies said they have seen this many times in these Blazer. This is obviously a problem GM should be held accountable for.

- Burlington, KY, USA

problem #2

Mar 012000

Blazer

  • miles
Heater core rusted. Nlm

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #1

Aug 022000

Blazer 4WD

  • miles
Radiator/htr core clogged up, dealer claimed not changed fluid but is a 100,000 mile svc. Per owners manual, only had 60K miles on it. $1,700 repair not cvrd. By extended warranty either.

- Oak Hill, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?