ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

« back to states

Iowa Lemon Law Information

The Iowa Lemon Law applies when, during the first two (2) years or 24,000 miles (whichever occurs first) following delivery of a new vehicle to the consumer:

  • the dealer has attempted to repair the same problem three (3) or more times, or
  • the dealer has attempted to repair a defect likely to cause death or substantial bodily injury at least once, or
  • the vehicle has been out of service due to repair attempts by the dealer for a total of 20 or more calendar days.

For the Iowa lemon law to apply, the problem or defect has to render the vehicle unfit, unreliable, or unsafe for ordinary use or significantly diminish the value of the vehicle.

Iowa Lemon Law information » Motor Vehicle Defect Notification » Iowa Lemon Law Code Chapter 322G »

Helpful Lemon Law Tips

Most states require you to notify the dealer and the manufacturer that you have a Lemon Law claim. Always use Certified Mail with Return Receipt.

If the manufacturer has an informal mediation or dispute resolution process, most states require you to do that first before pursuing litigation. However, you should contact a lawyer immediately.

Most lawyers will not charge you for an initial consultation or legal fees for Lemon Law arbitration. If they decide you have a case, normally the manufacturer is forced to pay your legal costs.

Add Your Complaint

Bump the car problem graphs up another notch. Get answers and make your voice heard!

Become a Fan & Spread the Word