Nebraska Lemon Law Information
The Nebraska Lemon Law applies when, during the first year following delivery of a new vehicle:
- the dealer has attempted to repair the same problem four (4) or more times, or
- the vehicle has been out of service for repairs at the dealership for a cumulative total of 40 or more days.
There are other cases where the Lemon Law would apply - for example, an arbiter or judge might decide that a life-threatening defect does not need four repair attempts before concluding the vehicle is a lemon.
As long as you notify the manufacturer in writing of your intention to pursue lemon status for your vehicle before the end of the 1-year period, your claim will still be valid even if the process extends beyond the 1-year limit.
The Nebraska Lemon Law applies only to problems that substantially impair the use or market value of the vehicle, and problems that are not the result of abuse, neglect, or unauthorized modifications of the vehicle.Nebraska Lemon Law information from the Department of Motor Vehicles »
Helpful Lemon Law Tips
Most states require you to notify the dealer and the manufacturer that you have a Lemon Law claim. Always use Certified Mail with Return Receipt.
If the manufacturer has an informal mediation or dispute resolution process, most states require you to do that first before pursuing litigation. However, you should contact a lawyer immediately.
Most lawyers will not charge you for an initial consultation or legal fees for Lemon Law arbitration. If they decide you have a case, normally the manufacturer is forced to pay your legal costs.