Pennsylvania Lemon Law Information
The Pennsylvania Lemon Law applies when, during the first year or 12,000 miles (whichever occurs first) following delivery of a new vehicle:
- the dealer has attempted to repair a problem three (3) or more times, with at least the first repair attempt occuring during the first year/12,000 miles, or
- the vehicle has been out of service due to repair attempts by the dealer for a total of 30 or more cumulative calendar days during the first year/12,000 miles.
The problem must substantially impair the value, use or safety of the vehicle. You lose your lemon law rights if the problem you are experiencing is the result of a modification or alteration, abuse or neglect of the vehicle.
Have Your Case Reviewed (FREE) -- Pennsylvania Lemon Law Attorneys
Helpful Lemon Law Tips
Most states require you to notify the dealer and the manufacturer that you have a Lemon Law claim. Always use Certified Mail with Return Receipt.
If the manufacturer has an informal mediation or dispute resolution process, most states require you to do that first before pursuing litigation. However, you should contact a lawyer immediately.
Most lawyers will not charge you for an initial consultation or legal fees for Lemon Law arbitration. If they decide you have a case, normally the manufacturer is forced to pay your legal costs.