South Carolina Lemon Law Information
The South Carolina Lemon Law applies when, during the first year or 12,000 miles (whichever comes first), following delivery of a new vehicle:
- the dealer has attempted to repair the same problem three (3) or more times, or
- the vehicle has been out of service for repairs at the dealership for a cumulative total of 30 or more calendar days.
To qualify for the South Carolina Lemon Law, your vehicle must have a defect that substantially impairs its use, market value or safety. Defects caused by the consumer's abuse, neglect or unauthorized alteration of the car are not covered.
Before pursuing legal action, you must participate in any arbitration procedure the manufacturer may have established, commonly known as an "informal dispute settlement procedure". By law, if the manufacturer has an arbitration process, it must be at no charge to you. If you are not satisfied with the arbitration, then you are free to pursue your claim legally.South Carolina Lemon Law information from the Department of Consumer Affairs »
Recommended South Carolina Lemon Law Attorneys
We have partnered with JustAnswer.com to offer help and advice from expert Lemon Law lawyers.
Describe your lemon law case in the text box to the right, & receive an answer in 10 minutes or less!
The fee is typically $9 to $15, and you do not have to pay anything unless you accept the answer.
Helpful Lemon Law Tips
Most states require you to notify the dealer and the manufacturer that you have a Lemon Law claim. Always use Certified Mail with Return Receipt.
If the manufacturer has an informal mediation or dispute resolution process, most states require you to do that first before pursuing litigation. However, you should contact a lawyer immediately.
Most lawyers will not charge you for an initial consultation or legal fees for Lemon Law arbitration. If they decide you have a case, normally the manufacturer is forced to pay your legal costs.