If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

NHTSA — Electrical System: Ignition: Switch Problems

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 1999-2003 Acura TL has a known & widespread defect with the transmission.

Honda fixed some vehicles with a recall in 2004 by changing the oil cooler return line. To settle a class action lawsuit in 2006, Honda extended the transmission warranty on some of these Acura TL's to 93 months / 109,000 miles.

Now these vehicles are past the warranty limit, so buyer beware.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
92,449 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1999 Acura TL electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1999 Acura TL:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1999 Acura TL Owner Comments

problem #16

Sep 012009

TL 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1999 Acura 3.2tl with recalls that the consumer experienced but never received a recall. The consumer stated the transmission failed and he had to pay for the repairs out of pocket. While driving on the highway at 60 mph, the vehicle suddenly shut off with no warning. The consumer managed to pull over to the side of the road. The consumer was informed, the stalling was due to a defective ignition switch.

- Hackensack, NJ, USA

problem #15

Mar 022010

TL 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
The contact owns a 1999 Acura 3.2tl. The contact received recall repairs (NHTSA campaign id number 02V12000: Electrical system: Ignition: Switch) due to a faulty ignition switch. Later, while driving 30 mph, the vehicle stalled in the middle of the road. He was able to move the vehicle to the side of the road and restart the vehicle. The contact called the manufacturer and was informed although they were aware of the problem with the ignition switch, they would not cover any costs for the repair. The contact was not convinced that the dealer accurately repaired the vehicle under the recall. The contact is concerned that his safety was at risk while driving the vehicle. The failure mileage was 101,000 and the current mileage was unknown. Updated 08/19/10 updated 08/23/10

- Colts Neck, NJ, USA

problem #14

Nov 222009

TL

  • 232,000 miles
The contact owns a 1999 Acura 3.2 TL. When the vehicle was parked and unoccupied it rolled backwards, hit an electrical pole and collided into a brick wall. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they attempted to repair recall 05V025000: Electrical system: Ignition: Switch after the failure occurred. The insurance company confirmed that the vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer stated that they would assist them with some of the repair cost. The current and the failure mileage were 232,000.

- Southborough, MA, USA

problem #13

Feb 132008

TL

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1999 Acura 3.2tl. The vehicle was parked on an incline and the gear shifter was placed into drive. The ignition interlock allowed the key to be removed without shifting into park. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was previously repaired according to NHTSA campaign id number 03V423000 (electrical system:ignition:switch) in October of 2006. However, the failure has resurfaced because the recall remedy was insufficient. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 90,000 and current mileage was 120,000. Updated 07/14/09 updated 07/16/09.

- Virginia Beach , VA, USA

problem #12

Feb 022009

TL

  • 179,950 miles
The contact owns a 1999 Acura TL. While driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle stalled and caused the contact to pull over to the side of the road. He restarted the vehicle and drove to his residence. The following day, he drove to a local repair shop and the mechanic stated that the ignition switch was defective. The dealer and manufacturer stated that the vehicle was previously repaired according to NHTSA campaign id number 02V120000 (electrical system:ignition:switch); therefore, the contact would be responsible for the repairs. The current mileage was 180,000 and failure mileage was 179,950. Updated 03-09-09 updated 03/13/09.

- Thousands Oaks, CA, USA

problem #11

Mar 202008

TL 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
I have brought auto in twice to dealership to repair parts and still is not repaired. Recall campaign numbers: 02V12000, 03V423000, 05V025000.

- Somers, NY, USA

problem #10

Aug 012007

TL 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 133,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1999 Acura 3.2tl. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle shut off without warning. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure and diagnose the cause. The contact felt that the ignition switch caused the failure. There is a recall for the ignition switch (NHTSA campaign id number 02V120000). The dealer replaced the ignition switch in 2002 as part of the recall. The powertrain was unknown. The failure mileage was 133,000 and current mileage was 137,000.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #9

Aug 012007

TL 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 1999 Acura 3.2 TL. While driving various speeds the vehicle would shut off without warning. There was also a loss of power steering and brakes. The vehicle would restart after trying five times. There was NHTSA recall #02V120000 (electrical system: Ignition: Switch). The dealer stated that the recall was already repaired. The failure mileage was 120,000 and the current mileage was 134,000.

- Alverda , CA, USA

problem #8

May 212007

TL 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles
I own a 1999 Acura TL, my ignition switch which was recalled in 2002 and replaced is failing again. This happens most frequently when it is hot. The car will stall for no reason. It seems to stall most often at the higher rates of speed but now is stalling on a more regular basis

- Norristown, PA, USA

problem #7

Jan 292007

TL 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 1999 Acura 3.2tl. While driving, the engine will stall without warning and restart automatically. The speed varies when the failure occurs. A local mechanic stated that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The current and failure mileages were 115,000. Updated 02-01-08. The dealer agreed to replace the ignition switch again.

- Staunton, VA, USA

problem #6

Jan 122007

TL

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sent my customer's Acura to dealer last month for quitting problem, they did a transmission repair. Looked at car here again and found a bad ignition switch causing problem. Ignition switch appears to be covered by a recall, called dealer to verify. Not only did customer not get letter but even when vehicle is at dealer for repair recalls do not get done. Car quits on the highway while driving!.

- Fairhaven, MA, USA

problem #5

Jul 172006

TL 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 160,000 miles
My 1999 Acura TL stalls on me on the road, this has happened several times, approximately 4 times in the past 3 months. This occurred while driving, meaning my car stalled while I was in traffic. I learned about a recall from the national highway traffic and safety authority. Recall numbers: - 02V120000 on 05/16/2002 - 05V025000 on 01/28/2005 - 03V423000 on 10/27/2003 these are all recalls with the same problems I have in my car. I fear for my safety and that of my families as we use this car on a daily basis. I do not know what caused this failure because this vehicle is well maintained.

- Mississauga, 00, USA

problem #4

Jun 012002

TL 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
Acura and its dealer failed to comply with the corrective action required in recall 02V120000 concerning the ignition switch. Instead, they replaced a component of the switch. Ignition switch failed a second time.

- Yardley, PA, USA

problem #3

May 052004

TL

  • 68,231 miles
Problems with ignition switch on 1999 Acura 3.2tl. On several occasion the vehicle would stop while driving. The vehicle's ignition switch has been tested and replaced. The consumer did some research and found an ignition switch recall on his vehicle.

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

problem #2

Jul 022002

TL

  • miles
Dealer ship is refusing to honor recall concerning ignition switch failure.

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #1

Jan 122000

(reported on)

TL

  • miles
Car will start by returning key to off position and then try again. Dealer contacted.

- Springfield, IL, USA

Not what you are looking for?