10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,000 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Audi A4 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Audi A4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Audi A4 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #39

May 272016

A4

  • 134,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

"takata recall"

- Mandeville, LA, USA

problem #38

Jul 112016

A4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Audi A4. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V382000 (air bags). The part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Parma Heights, OH, USA

problem #37

Jan 122017

A4

  • 60,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Audi A4. The contact's vehicle was rear ended and the air bags failed to deploy. The driver sustained blunt head and chest trauma that required medical attention. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V382000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #36

Jul 012016

A4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. I have contacted Audi usa multiple times, with no resolve or reply. I have been waiting since July 2016 with no solution.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #35

Jun 132016

A4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Audi A4. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V382000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #34

Jul 012016

A4

  • miles
Takata recall our passenger air bag was recalled in May 2016, and Audi informed us in July 2016 of the recall. The defect has not been fixed, which has caused hardship for our family of four, for whom this car is the main mode of transportation. We purchased this car used in 2011. We contacted Audi of North America, who would not give us a rental car or tell us when our car would be repaired.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #33

Jun 132016

A4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Audi A4. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V382000 (air bags). The part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The failure mileage was not provided. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Stockerbridge, GA, USA

problem #32

Dec 082016

A4

  • miles
Takata recall. This vehicle has been located and driven in the state of Texas from August 2011 thru February 2016. It was relocated to Illinois in February 2016 and the recalled for takata airbag danger in May 2016. This recall process has been an unethical and immoral process with irresponsible delays and lethal possibilities. This situation must be rectified immediately regardless of consequences to the manufacturer.

- Winnetka, IL, USA

problem #31

Dec 092016

A4

  • 145,000 miles
Tamara recall. This recap was announced May 2016. I received a letter from Audi in June. It is now December 2016 and there has been no further contact from the manufacturer. The letter states not to allow a person to sit in the passenger seat. Most of my driving is alone to work. But my father was recently diagnosed with cancer and I am not able to take him to treatment. I called dublin Ohio dealer to ask for a loaner car for a couple of hours twice a month. No cooperation. No path forward. No schedule for remedy. Nothing. My car might as well be a one seated car.

- Bellefontaine, OH, USA

problem #30

Jul 152016

A4

  • miles
Takata recall: The recall notice was issued in July. 2016. As of Dec. 2016 no repairs have been possible, nor parts available until "the spring". the passenger seat is unsafe for use, rendering the auto extremely dysfunctional for at least 9+ months. Inexcusable!

- Charlestonn, SC, USA

problem #29

Nov 202016

A4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Audi A4. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V382000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #28

May 262016

A4

  • miles
Takata recall according to the Audi web site, this recall has been open since May 26, 2016, with no remedy available yet. Six months seems like an excessive amount of time to address a serious safety issue. I am unable to have anyone ride in the passenger seat, for fear of their injury or death in the event of an accident, and the possible personal liability related to this.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #27

Jul 012016

A4

  • miles
Takata recall

- San Clemente, CA, USA

problem #26

Jul 012016

A4

  • miles
Takata recall. Since July 2016, I have called the local Audi dealer three times for information on expected airbag repair or removal. No repair date offered. Called Audi usa for airbag repair date or information in November 2016. Audi stated takata has not given them any information on replacement airbags. I asked about a vehicle buy-back program in regards to recall. Audi usa stated no help offered.

- Oceanside, CA, USA

problem #25

Sep 292016

A4

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Audi A4. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V382000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. While attempting to turn the vehicle, the contact sideswiped a truck and a crash occurred. The air bags did not deploy. The vehicle was not towed and a police report was not filed. There were no injuries. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #24

May 162016

A4

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Audi A4. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V382000 (air bags) was received in May. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Escondido, CA, USA

problem #23

Jul 112016

A4

  • 77,000 miles
Informed by Audi of recall. No remedy, no timetable for repair, no offer ofloaner car, just advised to not drive with passengers indefinitely. Talked to two Audi dealers and heard same story. They do not address loss of use of not being able to safely Transport passengers yet they say do not disconnect airbags. Other auto brands affected by this recall are making repairs and providing loaner/rental cars. I assume the VW diesel scandal is affecting their desire to protect and take care of their customers. It's been 4 months since the notice and as of 10/28 there is no new info or remedy available.

- Woodland Hills, CA, USA

problem #22

Aug 012016

A4

  • miles
I did not receive a notice that Audi supposedly sent that my 2008 A4 sedan has a takata air bag that will be replaced.

- Newton, MA, USA

problem #21

Oct 212016

A4 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Audi A4. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V382000 (air bags). The contact stated that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available...updated 11/21/16 updated 11/30/16.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #20

Jun 012016

A4

  • miles
Takata recall I have received the takata airbag recall notice from Audi about 5 months ago. I have call the Audi customer service and after so long time they havenżT taken action to repair my car. As described on the recall note the risk seems quite high and IżM worried. Can you help me please?

- Irvine, CA, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?