Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,875 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Buick LaCrosse electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Buick LaCrosse:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Buick LaCrosse Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #61

Apr 292014

LaCrosse

  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

GM Buick la crosse headlight control. NHTSA recall notice in 2015. Failed in April 2008. Out of warranty. Replaced control unit with new unit cost $1048. Sent detqils to North county Buick dealer in March 2015. No answer.

- Vista, CA, USA

problem #60

Jun 152015

LaCrosse

  • 150,000 miles
The headlamps on the vehicle began to dim occasionally when I would come to a complete stop then when my vehicle hit 140000 miles the front headlights stopped working even after I changed the bulbs. Now only my high beams work, this is not safe.

- Davie, FL, USA

problem #59

Nov 012013

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that while driving at 50 mph, the low beam headlights failed. The contact was able to use the high beams in order to view the road. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the headlamp modules needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (lighting, electrical system), however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to do the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 63,000. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 02/05/16 updated 02/10/16.

- Bridgewater, NJ, USA

problem #58

Jun 192015

LaCrosse

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I noticed one day when I was driving my lights would not come on just the high beam works but not the low beam so I have to be home before dark because I can not use my lights I know it should be recalled and I should not have to pay for it.

- Charenton, LA, USA

problem #57

Aug 202015

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. While driving approximately 50 mph, the instrument panel became inoperable intermittently without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 71,000...updated 12/16/15 updated 12/21/15.

- Sanford, NC, USA

problem #56

Jan 162015

LaCrosse

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that the front headlights would intermittently fail. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting); however, the dealer advised that the part needed to complete the repair was not available. The dealer also stated that they could perform a diagnostic and provide an interim temporary repair at the contact's expense until the recall repair parts would became available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time to remedy the failure. The failure mileage was not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #55

Sep 182015

LaCrosse

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. While traveling various speeds, the lights and speedometer on the instrument panel failed without warning. The contact stated that the failure was recurring. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000.

- Natural Bridge Station , VA, USA

problem #54

Sep 182015

LaCrosse

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. While traveling various speeds, the lights and speedometer on the instrument panel failed without warning. The contact stated that the failure recurred. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000.

- Natural Bridge Station , VA, USA

problem #53

Aug 292015

LaCrosse

  • 114,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that while driving at 10 mph, the headlights failed to illuminate. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 114,000.....updated 10-27-15

- Beaver Falls, PA, USA

problem #52

Jul 202014

LaCrosse

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that after the ignition key was turned to the on position, the vehicle failed to start as the security warning light illuminated. The contact mentioned that the failure occurred after the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. In addition, the contact stated that the headlights failed to operate without warning intermittently. The contact replaced the head lamp driver module twice; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Whitelake , MI, USA

problem #51

Jul 142015

LaCrosse

  • 51,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that while driving at 50 mph with the high beam headlights activated, the low beam headlights failed to work. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 51,000. MA 10/5

- Oakland, MD, USA

problem #50

May 182015

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. Upon starting the vehicle, the air bag warning light would illuminate intermittently. The contact also stated that the headlights and instrument panel lights would fail intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,000. MA 08/13/15

- Lapeer, MI, USA

problem #49

Nov 072014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Buick Lacrosse. Consumer writes in regards to head lamp driver module recall notice. The consumer stated while driving, the windshield wipers started operating on their own. The consumer stopped and inspected the vehicle and discovered smoke coming from the fuse box. He disconnected the battery cable, but smoke was still coming out. He removed the cover from the fuse box and a part of the fuse box had melted and smoke continued to come out but after a minute it stopped. The wipers extended over the windshield and would not work even when the battery was re-connected later. The fuse box and wiring harness had to be replaced. Updated 12/22/15.

- Lesage, WV, USA

problem #48

Mar 222015

LaCrosse

  • 54,400 miles
I had to be to work by 6:00 am on the date of the incident. I entered my vehicle at 5:30 to leave and discovered upon ignition that the low beam headlamps were out of service. After checking the fuses under the hood and finding no issues, I was forced to make my 20 minute/9 mile drive using the high beams for visibility (with no daylight). The low beam headlamps remain out of service. (note: Low beam bulbs were replaced approximately two months ago)

- Mansfield, OH, USA

problem #47

Nov 012013

LaCrosse

  • 89,000 miles
My lights go out and don't come back on. I have to drive with my high beams at night.

- Benson, AZ, USA

problem #46

Jul 172014

LaCrosse

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Alamogordo, NM, USA

problem #45

Mar 052014

LaCrosse

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that the headlights shorted intermittently for the low beams and the contact had to apply the high beams as an interim repair. As the failure progressed, the low beams would illuminate and then shorted with no warning. Months later, the low beams failed to work entirely. The vehicle was taken to the authorized dealer who stated that the part was not available to repair according to NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting). The contact was also waiting for the part to become available to perform the repair for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure and was unable to provide a reasonable timeframe to schedule the two recall repairs. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #44

Jan 072013

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 89,600 miles
Low beam headlights go out, sometimes they will not come back on until car ignition is turned off and back on sometimes they don't come back on at all, very dangerous, GM has a recall but they say my VIN number is not covered, I have talked to local dealer as well as General Motors concerning this issue with no positive response. It appears this issue will be just like the key switch issue, people will have to die before anything is done.

- Key West, FL, USA

problem #43

Jun 152014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that the headlights failed. As a result, the contact had to activate the high beams. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting) however, the part was available. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where she was informed that additional repairs were required prior to the recall remedy being performed. The dealer mentioned that the wires were burned. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 04/06/15

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #42

Sep 092014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2006 Buick Lacrosse. Consumer states parts been installed regarding ignition recall.

- Townsville, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?