Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Exterior Lighting Problems

2006 Buick LaCrosse (Page 1 of 6)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
85,050 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Buick LaCrosse lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Buick LaCrosse:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Buick LaCrosse Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #108

Oct 072016

LaCrosse

  • 96,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My headlamps have gone out on me three times (Oct. 7, 2016, Nov. 3, 2016, and Nov. 9, 2016 ) while either driving to work or driving home from work in a straight line and in the dark. The first time, I turned the switch off and back on. The lights remained on for the duration of the trip. The second time, the lights came back on without touching the switch, and were out briefly. The third time, the lights were out longer than the second time, but they did come back on without touching the switch. The first and second times happened on a rather busy state road while driving approximately 55 mph. The third time happened on a street near my home at about 20- 35 mph.

- Thomasville, NC, USA

problem #107

Nov 062016

LaCrosse

  • 2 miles
I drive at night and the low beam light out side shots off that I can not see the road to drive until I turn on the high beam to get to my place. Now the low beam light does not work at all. I took my car to the dealer for diagnostic, they coul not find what the problem is. It is of a matter of safty issue to drive at night when lights go off. I was driving last night and the light low beam went off " dangerous " I was driving in the city streets, I could not go to hyway. I normally drive in hiway.

- Columbia, MO, USA

problem #106

Oct 142016

LaCrosse

  • 99,760 miles
Takata recall, while driving at night the low beam headlamps go off. This has happened several times starting in 2011 but have come back on until 10/14/2016, while driving at night on a busy city street. Now the low beams do not work at all. The recall description matches to what is happening to my 2006 Buick Lacrosse with this problem. I have contacted the local Buick dealer informed me my car VIN # is not on their recall list.

- Clarksburg, WV, USA

problem #105

Oct 242016

LaCrosse

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The hdm module failed leaving no low beams while driving in a rural area at night. VIN was not covered by the recall allowing Buick to ignore the problem and leave the owner to pay.

- National Park, NJ, USA

problem #104

Oct 242016

LaCrosse

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. While driving approximately 55 mph, both headlights failed. The bright lights eventually illuminated; however, the low beam lights remained off. The VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign number: 15V519000 (exterior lighting). The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Marysville, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #103

May 262016

LaCrosse

  • miles
The low beam headlamps permanently fail to illuminate. High beam headlamps are not affected. GM refuses to include this VIN in it's recall of Buick Lacrosse vehicles for this item but includes others of the same make and model. The replacement part available to the consumer only repairs this issue for a short time. Buick is requiring me to pay for the repair of something that has been recalled on other automobiles of the same make and model by taking it to a dealer where the new part is only available. The dealership is quite expensive compare to my regular auto repair place. I feel that the Buick company is acting inappropriately in only covering specific VIN numbers of Lacrosse from 2006.

- Corning, NY, USA

problem #102

May 052016

LaCrosse

  • 182,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that the low beam head lamps failed. The vehicle was driven to a mechanic and the battery was replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V519000 (exterior lighting). The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 182,000.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #101

Sep 092016

LaCrosse

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that while driving a approximately 35 mph, the low beam headlights suddenly shut off and failed to operate. The contact indicated that the low beam headlights later began to operate as normal. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 102,000.

- Newton Falls, OH, USA

problem #100

Sep 022016

LaCrosse

  • 104,000 miles
Intermittent problem with headlamps going dark while driving at night forcing me to use my high beams. Daytime running lights appear to work although I wouldn't necessarily notice if they go dark during the day. I understand GM has a recall for this problem and want to know if my vehicle qualifies. I have not received any recall notice from GM although I read they have started to send notices out in May 2016.

- Holland, PA, USA

problem #99

Apr 182016

LaCrosse

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V519000 (exterior lighting) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Haverhill, MA, USA

problem #98

Dec 012015

LaCrosse

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. While driving at various speeds, the headlamps became inoperable without warning. The contact mentioned that the lights operated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the cause of the failure was undetermined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage and VIN were unknown.

- East Windsor, CT, USA

problem #97

Nov 192014

LaCrosse

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V519000 (exterior lighting). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Bloomington, MN, USA

problem #96

May 082016

LaCrosse

  • 176,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. While driving 45 mph, the low beam headlights failed to illuminate without warning. The failure occurred constantly. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V519000 (exterior lighting). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 176,000.

- Ottawa, IL, USA

problem #95

Apr 012016

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 106,400 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. While driving at night, the headlights suddenly shut off. The contact indicated that the failure occurred on multiple occasions. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed. The vehicle was repaired on 06/27/16. The headlight driver module was replaced at a cost of $ 122. The manufacturer was informed of the failure. The failure mileage was 106,400. Updated 07/12/16 updated 08/02/16.

- Sanidel, FL, USA

problem #94

Apr 302016

LaCrosse

  • 130,000 miles
On two occasions, the headlights stopped working while I was driving at night. Both times occurred when I was driving under 35 miles per hour and had been driving for less than five miles. The first time (February 2016), I stopped, turned the car off and back on and the lights came back on. The second time (April, 2016), I stopped, turned off the ignition and turned it back on. The lights did not come back on. I turned on the ignition and tried the high beams, and they illuminated. When I arrived at home, I tried the regular lights again, but they still failed to work. I found a recall online for this situation for the make, model, and year O F my car (#15V519000), so I contacted Buick customer service. I was told that my car did not have this recall on it. I believe that the fact that I have the same problem on the same car model, make, and year should should qualify my car for the recall for this serious safety issue.

- Lexington Park, MD, USA

problem #93

Jan 042016

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Buick Lacrosse. Consumer requests reimbursement for low-beam headlamps recall notice repairs. The consumer stated the low beam headlights went out. The headlights would only work on high beam. The headlamp switch was replaced.

- Covington, KY, USA

problem #92

Dec 012014

LaCrosse

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- St Mary's, OH, USA

problem #91

Nov 252014

LaCrosse

  • miles
GM recall # 140291 issued Nov 25 2014 there is apparently no intent to ever fix this problem. It's now a year and a half later and still an open issue. We are afraid to drive our car after dark in fear that the headlights will fail. Is there any NHTSA follow up on these recalls" what does it take to get this fixed"

- Waterbury, CT, USA

problem #90

Nov 242014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting). The part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 06/29/16 the consumer stated the headlamp was replaced on June 2, 2016. Updated 06/30/16.

- Reece, MI, USA

problem #89

Mar 192016

LaCrosse

  • 127,900 miles
Beginning to drive home at night and discovered that headlamps were not illuminated. Stopped car to verify that headlamps were not working. Found that high beams would work but not low beams. Tried resetting auto headlamps without success. Was able to drive home with high beams. Once home tried resetting auto headlamps again - no success. Not likely that both headlamps went out at same time but checked bulbs and fuses for low beam headlamps - all good. Have seen reports that hdm for 2006 Lacrosse fails and has a recall but my VIN is not included in recall on NHTSA site.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?