Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,916 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Buick LaCrosse seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Buick LaCrosse:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Buick LaCrosse Owner Comments

problem #18

Dec 182015

LaCrosse

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was confirmed that the VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign number: 06V417000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #17

Jul 122015

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,530 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. While driving 40 mph and also while in park, the front passenger side air bag and seat belt warning lights illuminated intermittently. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 63,530.....updated 08/29/16 updated 08/31/16.

- Manheim, PA, USA

problem #16

Jun 012015

LaCrosse

  • 103,451 miles
Passenger airbag light stays on. Took to dealership on 6/29/16 the following at the notes from the dealership to check this issue: "checked for codes B00921. Checked bulletin. Lubed seat connector at passenger floor. Cleared dtc. Rechecked and light is off. May neeed pps module if light come back on. All ok at this time." Dealership informed my spouse that if the light is on, that the airbag may not deploy. Drove car on 7/7/16 light is back on.

- Locust, NC, USA

problem #15

Jun 222016

LaCrosse

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that the air bag warning light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the occupant sensing system was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 160,000. Updated 09/08/16

- Geneva, IL, USA

problem #14

Jun 072016

LaCrosse

  • 60,000 miles
Drivers side air bag light comes on and remains on while driving or stopped for varying times. Seat belts are always used and it does not matter if a passenger is in the car or not. Local dealer unable to diagnose. On going since 10/01/2015

- Orlando, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #13

Oct 312006

LaCrosse

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. While driving at any speed. The air bag light remained illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. In addition, while driving at any speed and making a right or left turn, the steering wheel made a loud knocking noise. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the power steering pump had a leak and was replaced. The failure recurred. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 09E005000 (steering). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000. Updated 06/14/16

- Joshua, TX, USA

problem #12

Feb 162014

LaCrosse

  • 26,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. While driving 20 mph, the vehicle accelerated to approximately 45 mph. The contact had no control of the vehicle and it crashed into a snow bank. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. There were no injuries sustained in the crash. The vehicle was able to be driven and taken to a local automobile repair shop to be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 26,000.

- Pennington, NJ, USA

problem #11

May 182015

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. Upon starting the vehicle, the air bag warning light would illuminate intermittently. The contact also stated that the headlights and instrument panel lights would fail intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,000. MA 08/13/15

- Lapeer, MI, USA

problem #10

May 202015

LaCrosse

  • 83,000 miles
Trapped inside of 2006 Lacrosse with a door lock that would not open. Dealer could not replicate the problem nor fix it. GM executive offices claim the door lock is a wear item. It is unacceptable for a door lock to trap a person inside a car that has 83,000 miles and 9 years old. Enough such occurrences are discussed on various sites on the internet. This combined with a faulty passenger seat airbag sensor and executive managament's lack of concern is enough to stay away from all GM products.

- Clifton, NJ, USA

problem #9

Mar 022015

LaCrosse 8-cyl

  • miles
2006 Buick Lacrosse. Consumer writes in regards to instrument panel warning airbag light malfunction. The consumer also stated the headlamp driver module was not operating properly and needed to be replaced. The consumer received a recall notice after she paid for the repairs. Updated 09/23/15.

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #8

Aug 012014

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger air bag warning light comes on intermittently. Dealer wants over $1500 to repair.

- East Amherst, NY, USA

problem #7

Jun 012009

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • miles
For years, going back to when it had a warranty and the dealership even worked on it for this problem and has had one or two calls in the years since for same problem, ses light comes on, it used to go off and on occasionally, but now has been on for a year or so constantly. It is for diagnostic code P2440 (secondary air injection valve stuck open). Dealership replaced valve and/or air pump years ago and said it would fix it, but it didn't. within a few weeks, ses light came on again for same thing. I called them and they said I could bring it back, but it would be on my dime because they barely got it covered the first time under warranty. We put up with it for a bit, then I purchased a new valve and installed it myself, light did not go out and it still to this day says the valve (new one even) is stuck open. Problem is, when the ses light is on, the remote starter won't work, which is very upsetting for me and my wife. For years, just like the first problem listed, it was initially "fixed" while under warranty, which only worked for a short time. The passenger front seat air bag sensor has a mind of it's own! sometimes it registers a person, sometimes not. It doesn't even matter what time of year it is, or the temperature in the car. Sometimes it thinks that my wife (160 lbs) is a child and doesn't turn the air bag on and then if we hit a bump (sometimes works) then it might turn it on. It also has times that it also turns on the red air bag light on the dash while it says off for the passenger seat air bag. Years ago when we took it to the dealership for this problem, they said they "fixed it" initially, but it was just a short time later it did it again. When I called the dealership to let them know, they said just like the problem listed above, that it was out of warranty now and that I'd have to pay out of pocket, so I didn't take it in.

- Weldon, IA, USA

problem #6

May 282014

LaCrosse

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that the key was not able to turn from an off to an on position several times intermittently. The contact also stated while traveling approximately 65 mph, the contact crashed into the rear of another vehicle and was involved in a six vehicle crash. The air bags did not deploy. The contact was unconscious and a police report was filed. The contact sustained major injuries. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact notified the manufacturer who investigated the air bag concern and indicated that the crash location would not warrant the air bags to deploy. The contact was later notified of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #5

Jul 252011

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
No specific events leading up to failure, the airbag warning light came on when I started the car and has not gone off. Have not repaired. Unknown consequences but suspect it could deploy while driving or not deploy when in an accident.

- Red Rock, TX, USA

problem #4

Jul 012011

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Airbag readiness light flashes on and off while driving. Happens evertime I drive the vehicle.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #3

Jun 182011

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 43,500 miles
2006 Buick Lacrosse cxl airbag warning light is on and will not go off.

- North Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #2

Jun 152010

LaCrosse

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. The air bag warning light illuminated on the instrumental panel and remained illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for repairs or further diagnostic testing. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileages were 28,000.

- Center , TX, USA

problem #1

Dec 152009

LaCrosse

  • 50,000 miles
Air bag will sometimes register when my children are in the front seat and sometimes it does not. It is suppose to automatically detect their weight and come on or not depending on how much they weigh. The fact that it registers sometimes and does not at others has me concerned. I saw a recall on this model and was wondering if my car is affected in the recall. It is a 2006 Buick Lacrosse.

- Charleston, AR, USA

Not what you are looking for?