Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2007 Buick LaCrosse (Page 1 of 4)

2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 15
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,866 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Buick LaCrosse electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Buick LaCrosse:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Buick LaCrosse Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #68

Jul 012016

LaCrosse

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Buick locrosse. When touching the ignition switch and moving the key around, the instrument panel warning lights flashed on and off. The contact indicated that the remedy for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system) was performed in 2014, but the failure continued. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Sullivan, IL, USA

problem #67

Apr 242016

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,022 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Buick Lacrosse. After the vehicle was shut off, the headlights remained illuminated for over an hour without warning. The contact noticed a burning odor emitting from the vehicle and discovered that the head lamp driver module, located in the fuse box, was melted. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician stated that the head lamp module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 86,022. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 06/14/16

- Darlington, SC, USA

problem #66

Apr 282015

LaCrosse

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that there was a failure that progressed in which the low beam head lamps randomly shorted. The contact had to apply the high beams each time the failure happened. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting) and the dealer was unable to provide a permanent remedy for the condition for over a year. The dealer stated a year ago that they provided a temporary solution. The failure mileage was unknown. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 05/26/16

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #65

Mar 012016

LaCrosse

  • 57,830 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

You are driving down the road at night and for no reason the headlights go out. You hit the high beams and in a few minutes they go out. Had this car to the dealers at least 4 times and they keep replacing the relay and a month or two later it does the same thing. We have a lot of dark roads here in Ohio and you can be coming into a curve and the lights go out. You can't see a thing. GM claims they don't have a permanent fix for the problem.

- Girard, OH, USA

problem #64

May 132015

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Buick Lacrosse. Consumer writes in regards to intermittent engine loss of power.

- Lunenburg, MA, USA

problem #63

Nov 252014

LaCrosse

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that a recall notification was received for NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting). The dealer was unable to supply the part beyond a reasonable time frame. The contact was experiencing the random failure of the low beam head lamps failing to work. The contact had to apply the high beams when the failure happened. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who replaced the headlamp relay. The contact was unable to obtain the part from the dealer for the recall repair for longer than two years. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #62

Feb 022016

LaCrosse

  • 67,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Headlights went out while driving - known issue and recall with GM. Car would not start, though battery was dead. Went to jump car and found out fuse box and wiring harness was melted like it caught fire. Numerous sites are showing complaints about this same issue, melting, and electrical issues. Car was parked the night before and was not started or moved prior to this issue being found.

- Woodstock, VA, USA

problem #61

Oct 202015

LaCrosse

  • 88,888 miles
Purchased a 2007 Buick Lacrosse less than 2 months ago. Within the first month the low beam head lights went out. Took back to the dealer and they replaced the head light module. No the low beams are not working again. Now the dealer is telling me I have a faulty fuse block under the hood.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #60

Mar 012015

LaCrosse

  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the headlights became inoperable without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that an unknown electrical part needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V519000 (exterior lighting) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 37,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 04/08/16

- Twining, MI, USA

problem #59

Oct 172014

LaCrosse

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Buick Lacrosse. While driving at an unknown speed, the steering wheel seized and the vehicle stalled without warning. In addition, the key was stuck in the ignition switch. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the rack and pinion needed to be repaired and the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired and serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000. The VIN was not provided....updated 03-31-16

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #58

Dec 112015

LaCrosse

  • 145,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Buick Lacrosse. The contact stated that the steering wheel failed. The contact was unable to turn the steering wheel and the vehicle made a grinding noise while attempting to turn. The contact also stated that the headlights failed to illuminate while driving. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 09E005000 (steering) and NHTSA campaign number: 15V519000 (exterior lighting). The dealer stated that the part was not available for repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 145,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #57

Dec 072015

LaCrosse

  • 63,000 miles
Purchased car 11/2015 with 60K miles. A month later, I turned on the rear defrost while driving. When I came home, I parked and exited the car. The rear windshield shattered.

- Woodstock, VA, USA

problem #56

Dec 052015

LaCrosse

  • 105,976 miles
The headlight control module part of the body control failed causing low beam headlights to be inoperable. I was advised GM issued a technical services bulletin about this issue. A recall notice may be issued. My wife was going to work at 4 am on Saturday morning and was forced to use high beams to illuminate the highway and local streets.the defective module was replaced this afternoon.hdm module 2545 cpc 1 15016745 (s) relay parts cost $60.74 labor $114 & sales tax $10.48 = total cost $ 185.22.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #55

Jan 012015

LaCrosse

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Buick Lacrosse. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- West Helena, AR, USA

problem #54

Jul 222015

LaCrosse

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Buick Lacrosse. While driving various speeds, the vehicle stalled and all of the warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. After taking it back to the dealer, the computer and traction control were replaced, but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 46,000.

- Orleans, IN, USA

problem #53

Aug 012013

LaCrosse

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Buick Lacrosse. While driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled. After restarting the engine, the vehicle operated as normal. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who indicated that the key caused the failure. The key was replaced. In addition, the ABS/traction control warning light illuminated, the high beam and low beam head lights would not operate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to determine the cause of the failures. The manufacturer was notified of failures. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Thelma, AL, USA

problem #52

Jul 152015

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • miles
I was getting off of work and as I tried to open my car I noticed the remote wasn't work. As I approached my vehicle I smelled something burnt. Figured it was coming from the alley. I noticed my windshield wipers were up. I manually opened the car and it smelled worse of burnt. Noticed that nothing was working inside my vehicle. I call security to come and help me and as we open the hood it smelled just as bad. We noticed that the fuse box had a melted hole in it. Once it opened several fused were burnt. I have read that several people have had the same issue. I wish U let us upload pictures of this incident. What if while driving my car had caught on fire or something worse could have happened to me or my child. Luckily I was out of my vehicle when this problem occurred. This issue has to be looked at. Now I have to tow my car out of my work garage pay for that and then pay for my vehicle to get fix which we should definitely get reimbursed for it because it's obvious that this is a recurring issue that has not been fixed. It can turn out to be a big law suit against Buick. I had the same issue also with the headlights. I would be driving at night and out of no where my lights would just shut off. Had to replace that also...updated 07/21/15 updated 11/9/2015

- Westchester , IL, USA

problem #51

Jan 202015

LaCrosse 6-cyl

  • 138,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Buick Lacrosse. While driving at approximately 25 mph, the low beam headlights failed to illuminate. The failure recurred while driving. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V755000 (exterior lighting) and 14V355000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 138,500. Updated 8/27/15 the consumer stated the low beams lights went out while driving. Updated 09/10/15

- Fayetteville, WV, USA

problem #50

May 232014

LaCrosse

  • 132,000 miles
A few times the headlights went out. Driving on two lane road once was close to head on accident. I did extensive testing to find that the hdm low beam head light relay manufactured by I think delphi was the problem. I went to auto supply bought the heaviest duty relay I could find. I replaced it an problem was solved. This was back in may of 2014. Then in January 2015 I received recall for this problem. I have contacted G.M. several times. I read where they state if you have paid for the repair they will reimburse owner for the repair. This is black and white plain and simply. I submitted form, receipts, ect. According to their requirement on the recall letter. Does not say I have to wait for several more letters or several years it is on their recall letter.everything they asked for to the standards. While on vacation message to call. After many calls again I was told I have to wait for second recall letter to get reimbursed. She stated I have to take it to dealer. Why so I can have another defective relay installed. Not going to happen just reimburse me for the claim I submitted. I can't return a one year old relay that is far better than their defective relay.they can't figure a remedy out yet. It has been a year now and I am still waiting to be reimbursed because I did not receive the second recall notification because they can't figure this out. Driving a car at night without headlights is not safe and neither is putting one of their defective relays back in it. This relay has been noted to not only fail, but it can melt causing wire harness to melt at a replacement cost to approach $ 2,000 and an possibly an engine fire and that cost very high or vehicle replacement. Just pay me the money owed...

- Wi.Rapids, WI, USA

problem #49

May 122015

LaCrosse

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Buick Lacrosse. The contact had the dealer perform the repair for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system) and the dealer only repaired the filler for the key. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled before and after the recall repair was performed. The contact spoke with the dealer who stated that the manufacturer replaced the ignition, but changed it to just the key filler. The contact felt that the repair was inadequate. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Elks Ills, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?