Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Visibility: Power Window Devices And Controls Problems

2002 Buick LeSabre (Page 3 of 5)

3.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,455 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Buick LeSabre windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Buick LeSabre:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Buick LeSabre Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #42

Sep 012005

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Buick Lesabre. Letter on behalf of constituent, expressing concern about the regulator that controls the window glass. The rear door regulator on the drivers side failed. The consumer stated in September 2007, the regulator on the rear passenger door failed.

- W. Eylie, TX, USA

problem #41

Nov 242007

LeSabre

  • miles
It is currently 39 degrees and raining in san antonio Texas and I just had the second window on my 2002 Buick Lesabre fail. This is ridiculous! my grandfather worked for GM for 40 years and I have been loyal to a fault. Please help me understand why this is happening to me and apparently many others and Buick won't recall the cars to fix them. At 500 dollars each I am furious. Shame on you GM.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #40

Nov 042007

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
Both rear passengers car window regulators broke and the windows fell down with in 2 days of each other.

- Maybee, MI, USA

problem #39

Oct 202007

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,534 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2002 Buick le sabre. I have a broken rear window regulator on the right side rear. It is stuck in the down position. I am awaiting aftermarket part to repair myself since on-line information indicates this is a very prevalent problem, and quite expensive (>$500) to repair at the dealer or in a body shop. There are numerous reports of problems with Buick regulators, and it seems nobody has addressed the problem: Not Buick not NHTSA. There should be a recall, and there should be compensation for repairs people have been forced to pay out of their pocket. I own 2 Buick at this time, and will probably never buy another.

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #38

Oct 182007

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 111,279 miles
10-18-07 went out to check windows before storm and noticed right side rear window was down slightly. When I tried to put it up I found that the window regulator had failed and just let the window drop. This is the second one to fail this month. First one failure 10-3-07 this is plainly a factory defect that Buick will not address on it's own.

- Grand Haven, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #37

Oct 032007

LeSabre

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
10/3/07 while driving down road with nobody in rear passenger side, rear window just dropped and wouldn't go up. Took to betten auto for repair and was told the regulator was broke and repair cost was $592. And that this is a common problem. And when 1 goes the other are sure to follow.

- Grand Haven, MI, USA

problem #36

Sep 082007

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2002 Buick Lesabre with just over 23,000 miles and after closing the door the power window behind the driver's seat, had dropped down and would not go up. I retrieved a web site below with numerous others that have experienced the same problem.(see below) could you see that the manufacturer of this power assembly issue a recall for this faulty workmanship. Purchased at sharpe Buick dealership 1010 28th St. S.E. grand rapids, mi. 49508 in year 2002 with 6,000 miles on odometer. www.carsurvey.org/viewcomments_review_52823.html updated 01-15-08. Updated

- Kentwood, MI, USA

problem #35

Aug 172007

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,500 miles
2002 Buick lasabre - a rarely used (no childern) back window fell suddenly while driving. Just had it replaced at the dealership at a cost of $442 (after getting them to lower the price $50 - so total would have been $492). This is an known problem by GM. The dealership and GM has not owned up to this problem. The part on the open market is only $99 - the dealership charges $344 for the same part.

- Palouse, WA, USA

problem #34

Aug 212007

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I own a 2002 Lesabre and in the last six months I have had (3) of my window regulators to break. First was the passenger window in the front and two weeks ago the one in the back on the passenger side broke and today 08/21/2007 the one behind the driver broke while I was driving on the highway.

- Forest Park, GA, USA

problem #33

Jun 102007

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles
1) no evidence leading up to failure 2) window mechanism failed, window would not return to closed position 3) had to have Buick replace mechanism at over $500 expense there are over 82 records of this exact problem on carsurvey (.org) - and not everyone surfs to record their problem.

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #32

Aug 132007

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On June 18, 2007, I heard a loud noise from the back of the car. I had no idea what it was until I got home and noticed the rear right window was open. I tried to close it but it would not close. I brought it to my mechanic and he said it was the regulator/motor that broke. He said that it was common in Buick because the parts are made of plastic. Today it happened again, this time to the left rear window. Slight popping noise and the window slid down and I couldn't get it back up. I was alone both times and no one ever rides in the back. I think I may have opened those windows less than a dozen times. I only have 11,000 miles on the car and can't believe that this has happened.

- East Meadow, NC, USA

problem #31

Jul 152007

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,000 miles
Window on right driver side and on left rear driver side broken in down position. Neither window was used excessively.

- Paxton, IN, USA

problem #30

Mar 262007

LeSabre

  • miles
Defective power window regulators on my 2002 Buick Lesabre cost to repair @ $500 each. This is a huge problem with this vehicle from 2000-2005 model GM needs to recall this defective part.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #29

Mar 132007

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,900 miles
Rear power window failed to go back up when lowered while driving. There was no warning or indication that there was a problem until it stopped working. 2002 Buick, Lesabre, has only 34,000 miles, but was no longer under warranty. The rear power window had only been lowered 10-12 times since purchased brand new, as I hardly ever had rear seat passengers. Based on symptoms and research it appeared to be a defective power window regulator. Based on internet complaints this appeared to be a chronic problem with Buick. In fact, when I called the local Buick dealer for a cost estimate, about $500, they said that they had just fixed O another Lesabre that day! also, they suggested it was likely the window regulator based on my brief description. However, they said there was no recall on that recurring failure, and I would have to pay full price. I have been driving with the rear window held up with black duct tape, but it does not hold that well. I is obviously not a fix, but I refuse to pay $500 to fix something that has only been used about a dozen times, is a known defect and has the probability of breaking again after another dozen uses based on what I have read.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #28

Mar 112007

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
Just replaced my first window regulator in my 2002 Buick Lesabre. The dealer wanted to charge $500+ but after arguing about it being such a widespread issue, they did agree to do it for the labor cost ($140). But I know that won't work for the future repairs and if the postings on the web sites are any indicator, the next one could happen any day now. I am afraid to use the window! but I now know to carry duct tape in the car. Buick has quite a deal going - install cheap plastic parts and charge consumers $500 a pop to fix them with the same cheap plastic part.

- Ponte Vedra Beach, FL, USA

problem #27

Feb 182007

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
General Motors cars: (a) 2001 Oldsmobile Aurora, with 55,000 miles & (B) 2002 Buick Lesabre, with 62,000 miles 1. in June 2006, within 2 weeks of one another, both rear power windows on car a just dropped. Repair and replacement cost about $500 for each window. Old parts are not available. 2. last night (2/18/2007), in 28 degree weather, we got into car B to return home and when we shut the doors, both right side windows dropped. It was frigid and I put a blanket up to keep the cold out. This blocked my view of the left side of the vehicle and I almost hit a pedestrian. I will take the car to a dealership for repairs and replacement which will undoubtedly cost over $1000. In both cases, I engage the child door locks and window control to prevent children from opening or falling out of the window. When the rear window falls as it did, children are in danger. While researching this problem on the internet, I have discovered that this has been a problem for Buick since 2000. Why has the problem persisted for over many years, until the 2002 model year and beyond!? this problem demands a recall!

- Crofton, MD, USA

problem #26

Sep 152006

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Driver side rear window failed. Actuator broken. After review on internet learned that defective actuator very common on Buick Lesabre.

- Concord, OH, USA

problem #25

Dec 152006

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2002 Buick lasabre. Window regulator failure. I have not replaced it yet. The motor works fine, it is the plastic regulator that fails. I have been unable to purchase just the regulator without the motor. Appears to be a very high number of these failures, yet Buick refuses to recall the part or supply the part minus the motor, which would cost significantly less than the current price of $400.

- New Castle, CO, USA

problem #24

Dec 292006

LeSabre

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles
Power window regulators continue to fail. If not fixed properly could cause damage to individuals and vehicle. Failure is very common and due to a manufacturers defect in design.

- Euless, TX, USA

problem #23

Dec 032006

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,015 miles
The rear driver's side window made a pop noise as I was driving. The window then slowly slid down into the door. The window now will not return to the up position. This could be a safety issue during poor driving conditions causing the driver to be distracted by anything coming through the window; snow, rain, etc. It is also a personal safety issue as well as a child safety issue. I have a child in the back seat and I keep the child locks engaged to keep him from opening the door but what is to stop him from going out the window even if I have the windows locked. The cause of the failure is cheap plastic parts used in the window regulator that break even if the window is not used. I have already replaced one window regulator and now I am going to have to replace this one as well. I know GM is aware of the problem because they reimbursed me for the first one but refuse to do so on this one. The dealership has said that it is not a question of if the windows will fail, but when. There are many websites on the internet of this same problem. When is someone going to look after the consumer and not the corporation. I have detailed in this letter the possibility of a crash hazard if the window fails and causes a distraction to the driver, personal safety, and personal security of children in the rear seat.

- Clermont, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?