Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Visibility: Power Window Devices And Controls Problems

2002 Buick LeSabre (Page 1 of 5)

3.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,455 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Buick LeSabre windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Buick LeSabre:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Buick LeSabre Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #82

Mar 202003

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • 4,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Window motors on all windows in the vehicle have been replaced multiple times. If a crash had occurred I would be unable to open window to escape if unable to open door. Talked to Buick and they refuse to acknowledge the problems with the window motors, I have been in contact with other Buick Lesabre owners (at least 100) and they have had the same issues with the window motors failing and needing replacement multiple times with a few owners stating being unable to exit the vehicle after a crash because they could not open the vehicle windows. Again Buick has not offered any help in this matter nor have they even acknowledged there was a problem.

- Bayville, NJ, USA

problem #81

Aug 072012

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
This is regarding recent replacement of both rear window regulators. Research has proven that many complaints have been filed over the years with no recall. I would hope for financial help, $1000 to cover the cost of repairs, as the minimum response; and also, I hope for a recall to help the many others who have suffered great financial costs and safety. I have been directed by my father, [xxx], original and present owner of this 2002 Buick, to help him be a responsible consumer/customer. My father of 88 years still believes in american made cars, especially in GM. He has been watching, like many americans, for a "come back" in the auto industry, especially the correction of problems that clearly has a large documentation of complaints as this one. I hope you will be able to honor his faithfulness in perhaps a small financial way, and perhaps even in a greater way through a recall. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Newark, OH, USA

problem #80

Dec 122009

LeSabre

  • 25,000 miles
At approximately 25,000 miles, my 2002 Buick Lesabre's rear driver's side window regulator went out in the middle of the winter while a child was in the back seat. It just fell down, and barely missed harming the child. Three days later, I replaced the part. Four days after that, the rear passenger side window did the exact same thing. I replaced the part. Two months after that, both the front window regulators went out. Those parts were replaced. Four months later, the front passenger side went out again. Within two weeks, all four window regulators had gone out for a second time. They were all replaced at the same time. Six months later, and now three of the four are out again. (only the driver's window remains working at this point.) I have spent over $1,500 in just over a year, getting parts replaced for the windows and still the problem persists. I have spent $98.50 on different types of tape to try to find one that will hold the windows up, so they do not break while driving. I have had no luck finding one that holds for more than a day or two. This is an extreme danger to everyone in my car, along with others on the road, because I have to use so much tape to hold them up that I cannot see my mirrors properly. I have to travel with small children in my car with child safety seats, but I cannot trust the windows to stay up and am tired of constantly being scared that one will come down and break near the children, but have already spent so much trying to fix it that I cannot possibly sink any more money into 'fixing' something that is now apparent will never be 'fixed'.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #79

Sep 052011

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The rear window drivers side just fell down, won't go back up. Have been told thus is common and is from GM bad parts for window regulators.

- Deltona, FL, USA

problem #78

Jan 012010

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
Dash pad coming loose, bowing up in front of driver, becoming detached in crucial area at passenger side airbag. To repair will cost around $950 parts and labor. Also window regulators have been replaced in windows that are used the least.

- Big Stone Gap, VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #77

Feb 212010

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Lesabre. The contact started the ignition and the front passenger window abruptly released in a downward position without assistance. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the window regulator was replaced. Recently, the rear driver window exhibited the similar failure as the front passenger window. The contact notified the dealer and scheduled an appointment for repair. The failure mileage was approximately 70,000. Updated 02/23/11 updated 02/28/11

- Richmond , IN, USA

problem #76

Nov 302010

LeSabre

  • 64,141 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Buick Lesabre - powered rear window regulator failure 2X.

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #75

Aug 232010

LeSabre

  • 60,000 miles
Both front and rear passenger windows failed to go up after put in the down position. Had to replace both widow regulator's at a cost of $450. Only 60,732 miles on the car.

- Machesney Park, IL, USA

problem #74

Oct 012009

LeSabre

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Lesabre. The rear driver side window fell into the door panel and the contact was unable to close the window. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair facility where the contact was informed that the window regulator would need replacing. The vehicle was repaired. Approximately nine months later, the failure recurred on the front passenger window. The vehicle was taken back to the same independent repair facility where the window was repaired. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 82,000.

- Warren, OH, USA

problem #73

Jul 042010

LeSabre

  • 90,000 miles
Window falls into the door without input from driver or passenger. This is a very common problem with Buick Lesabre cars and should be covered by GM as a design defect.

- Spring Grove, IL, USA

problem #72

Aug 222007

LeSabre

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2002 year Buick Lesabre where the front and rear windows would not raise up or down fully. I had to manually raised each window NY hand to close it if accidentally lowered by a passenger. We got one of our windows replaced for $600. I bought the other part for our rear window for about 60 dollars and had a mechanic placed in much cheaper than the former dealership charged. With one of the child-proof rear windows now locked with a piece of wood holding it up in the door window this makes it very unsafe if this car ever is submerged in water or some other compromising position with the rear passenger needing to escape.

- Roxboro, Nc, NC, USA

problem #71

Jul 012009

LeSabre

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Lesabre. The contact stated the glass on the rear driver side window fell into the window mount without warning. The vehicle was diagnosed at a local repair facility where the contact was informed the failure was caused by a defective cable motor. The manufacturer would not provide any assistance, stating they had not received any similar complaints on the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 38,000 and the current mileage was 45,000.

- Lake Orion , MI, USA

problem #70

May 172010

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • 88,100 miles
Second time a power window has dropped within 4 months. First was the passenger rear in January 2010, second was front passenger window May 2010. Seems the power window regulators are running a metal cable over a plastic pulley wheel and using a plastic spool on the motor. When the plastic pulley wheel breaks the cable misaligns on the spool and the window drops and is inoperable. Costs of repairs is over $460 usd.

- Silvis, IL, USA

problem #69

Apr 272010

LeSabre

  • miles
While driving my 2002 Buick Lesabre, the front passenger window made a crunching noise and then just sank down into the doorframe. So I guess I'll be either replacing the window regulator or having the window permanently closed. I've already replaced one regulator (driver's seat) and had one other window closed (back seat, passenger side). First failure occurred about a year ago. Second was about 2 months ago. Latest event was yesterday.

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #68

Jan 282010

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
I have had to place 3 window regulators in the past year. I have been told that some plastic piece on the regulator is failing. I've researched and seen that many others have had the same problems. Also I've been told by the previous owner that they had the same problems.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #67

Jan 012010

LeSabre

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Ltr addressed to the potus re defective parts on his 2002 Buick Lesabre custom, inquiring what can the government do through GM to properly compensate him; for the administrators signature. All four of the window regulators had to be replaced, the sealant holding the cover to the dashboard came apart, which caused a large gap near the base of the windshield on the drivers side.

- Thomson, GA, USA

problem #66

Jul 182008

LeSabre 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Buick Lesabre. She noticed that both rear windows had fallen inside of the door. The vehicle has not been taken to the dealer for inspection. The same failure occurred on the front passenger-side window. The current and failure mileages were 42000. Updated 1/28/10 the fuel pressure regulator was leaking. The manifold was cracked and had to be replaced as well as the crankshaft sensor. Updated 02/03/10.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #65

Jun 092004

LeSabre

  • miles
Regarding my 2002 Buick la sabre, limited edition I am in ottawa Canada - the window regulators on this car are all faulty and I have heard this same complaint from countless other owners of this model. I bought this car August 2002 in good faith and did not expect this kind of trouble. When I first bought this car the front and back windows started having issues in putting the windows back up after being opened. After many investigations in oleans, Canada the dealer came to the conclusion that it was the window regulators and it would cost me $400 to replace just one window regulator alone this complaint has been going on ever since I bought this car and it is well know in the car industry that this particular 2002 Buick la sabre, ltd edition has had a lot of problems mainly in this area (regulators) but GM is avoiding any recalls on this and to me this is totally irresponsible on GM's part not to do a recall on these regulators, it is actually a complete avoidance of there responsible, they have just been totally derelict in their duty as a manufacturer and just letting the customer take the full financial brunt of gms ineptness to supply quality parts in their window mechanisms, ,,,,,,,,,, namely the cheap regulators! will anyone do anything about this irresponsible and troublesome safety issue"?????????????????"

- Ottawa, Ontario Canada, 00, USA

problem #64

Apr 012009

LeSabre

  • 160,000 miles
I lowered the windows and when I went to raise the rear-passenger there was a "crack" noise and it would not go back up. The plastic part, at the top of the window regulator, had broken - causing the wire, which runs through the regulator, moving the window up and down, to just coil up inside the door panel. I went to a dealership to have them quote me the cost of repairing and was eventually told the repair would run me ~$700. I was told that the part alone was ~$400. I didn't have them fix it... because I was expecting a ~$75 repair... not ~$700! I taped up the window (which I hate being "that car") and decided to get another quote. At the time I was incredibly busy with work and didn't get around to it though. Roughly a month later the exact same thing happened to my front-passenger window. I now have both passenger side windows held up by tape. I cannot believe there is no recall for this. I have tried looking for a place to submit problems with cars to Buick directly, but have been told to only go to a dealership and tell them.... and I've already been to a dealership with this problem and no luck. I have taken my door panel off to try and fix myself and was very surprised that the problem was just that the top part of the regulator, which is basically just a track for the wire to run in as the window goes up and down, was cheap plastic. The rest of the regulator is steal, and the part that has all the tension from the wire running over it, is plastic. Ridiculous.

- London, KY, USA

problem #63

Nov 082009

LeSabre

  • 94,250 miles
Window regulators are very prone to fail. Three have failed on my car, and one has been replaced twice. This is a very common problem on several GM cars. The window can fall open and will not close which could be dangerous in inclement weather. This is also expensive and a financial hardship on owners and should have been addressed some time ago.

- Evington, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?