Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,113 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Buick Lucerne accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Buick Lucerne:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Buick Lucerne Owner Comments

problem #20

Oct 282014

Lucerne

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lucerne. The contact stated that the rear driver and passenger side doors failed to unlock or open. The contact stated that this was a recurring failure. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the locks needed to be oiled. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000. The VIN was not available.

- Paetoskey, MI, USA

problem #19

Mar 142015

Lucerne 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lucerne. The contact stated that the theft locks activated on the vehicle, which prevented the rear doors from unlocking while the vehicle was in park. The failure recurred twice. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 61,000.....updated 04/23/15 the vehicle was repaired at a cost of $900 both rear locks were replaced. Updated 04/24/15....updated 06/09/15 updated 06/16/16

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #18

Nov 062014

Lucerne

  • 52,000 miles
Latches locks linkages -- starting at 52000 miles, my Buick Lucerne 2006's rear passenger door would not open under any circumstances. The door will not open from the inside, from the outside, and although the key fob visibly actuates the latch, it does not assist in opening the door. Now at 53000, the driver's side rear door will not open. I now have no access to half of the inside of the automobile. After investigating numerous complaints on the internet, I discovered that apparently this is due to a latch assembly failure in each door. The buickforums.com provided advice: Chisel open the back doors, then pull the door panel off. At that point, apparently the visible linkages are not the issue. Instead, it is the internal mechanism of the lock housing. Problem not resolved.

- Ann Arbor , MI, USA

problem #17

Aug 222013

Lucerne

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lucerne. The contact stated that the front driver side actuator lock fractured and prevented her from entering or exiting the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 45,000.

- Willoughby, OH, USA

problem #16

Aug 212008

Lucerne 6-cyl

  • 35,043 miles
Door locks jam and can't open door. Locks can not be manually opened. Locked in vehicle. Reported 8/21/08 and fixed. 2/16/10 broke and I had to pay $400. 6/25/13 broke 3rd time and GM refused to refund me $400 and said vehicle had too much mileage. I was told to buy a new car. Numerous reports of faulty locks on internet.

- Avon, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #15

May 132013

Lucerne

  • 65,000 miles
Reported this to dealer on 7/2/13 and was diagnosed as inside door lock assy at 58.97$, and 410$ plus tax to repair. Went home banged on in side of door and was able to open until this week when problem recurred and no amount of banging would open door. Went on google and noted this to be prevalent with many owners. This can be fatal in an accident where the passenger cannot exit the vehicle. Do we have to wait for a fatality before the GM acknowledges either a faulty design or faulty part, and repair without customer cost. Please advise.

- Galloway , NJ, USA

problem #14

May 152013

Lucerne 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 119,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lucerne. The contact stated that while entering the vehicle, the rear driver's side door locked independently and could not be unlocked. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where it was stated that the latching mechanism needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 119,000. Updated 12/23/13 the consumer stated the doors could not be opened from the inside or outside.

- Allegan, MI, USA

problem #13

Feb 152013

Lucerne 6-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lucerne. The contact stated that the rear driver and passenger's side door locks would not unlock electronically or manually. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated the door locks would have to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 73,000.

- Glen Ellyn, IL, USA

problem #12

Mar 192013

Lucerne

  • 67,000 miles
I closed the rear driver's side door. I then locked the car. Later after unlocking the vehicle the door would not open; from the outside or inside. It appears to be locking and unlocking. After checking forums I see that there are many Buick Lucerne owners that have also experienced this issue. This is a major safety issue! I can't believe there isn't a recall on this car. I'm scared to put my children in the back seat by chance we are in a accident and they are injured.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #11

Feb 162013

Lucerne 6-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
The rear door locks on the 2006 Buick Lucerne have a fundamental design flaw. If the rear seat passenger pulls the door handle to open the door while the door is locked, and holds it in place when the power lock mechanism attempts to unlock the door, the mechanism binds internally making the door impossible to open. This has occurred 5 times on our Lucerne over the past 4 years. The only way to open the door is remove the inner door panel. Reach into the lock through the access holes and free up the mechanism. Until the door is repaired the backseat passenger sitting next to the frozen door cannot get out. I can't believe that the engineering team at GM has not discovered a fix for this condition. This is very disappointing and dangerous.

- South Windsor, CT, USA

problem #10

Aug 012012

Lucerne 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The back doors on my Buick Lucerne 2006 have not unlocked for over a month. Strangely, one day I leaned on one door from the inside and it unlocked for a few hours and then relocked. I see many other complaints for the same issue online. The dealers were not helpful or sympathetic and charged me one hundred dollars to diagnose this in five minutes, with a two grand estimate. It is unsafe for back seaters who cannot get in or out safely. This should be on a recall from GM right away.

- Monroe, CT, USA

problem #9

Jul 052012

Lucerne

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lucerne. The contact stated that both rear doors had become inoperable. The dealer was contacted who advised the contact to bring the vehicle in for inspection. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact attempted to reach the manufacturer. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic who stated that the locking mechanism failed and needed to be replaced. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Monroe, CT, USA

problem #8

Aug 052012

Lucerne 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
Unable to open rear passenger door. Tried from both inside and outside, tried manually unlocking and using remote to unlock. Door will not open. Afraid to use back seat now in case of emergency.

- Derry, PA, USA

problem #7

Dec 202011

Lucerne 6-cyl

  • miles
I have experienced an issue that seems to be of concern ( reviewed complaints filed for the same issue) for safety. My passenger side back door failed to unlock both from the inside and outside. If I were in an accident and had passengers in the back seat, this could be life threatening. I cannot image that there has not been a recall for such a serious issue. After talking to GM, they will not take any action until notified by NHTSA-odl. What does it take for this issue to be addressed?

- Loganville, GA, USA

problem #6

Apr 252011

Lucerne 8-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
2006 Buick Lucerne - vehicle rear doors will not open from inside or out. Doors are unlocked but passengers in the back seat can not exit the car without climbing over the front seat to exit the front doors. Car doors will not open with inside door handle or outside door handle. Requires replacement of the rear door lock assembly.

- Cortland, NY, USA

problem #5

Apr 102011

Lucerne 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lucerne. The contact stated that the rear passenger door would not open. The contact stated that when attempting to open or lock the door with the key or key fob, the actuator would move up and down as if the vehicle was locking but the door would not unlock. The failure and current mileage was 76,000. Updated 05/26/11

- Dountifuf, UT, USA

problem #4

Mar 192011

Lucerne

  • 32,000 miles
The rear passenger door of my 2006 Buick Lucerne intermittently not unlock (open) from the inside or outside of the vehicle, creating a safety concern if the vehicle is to be exited quickly.

- Chesterland, OH, USA

problem #3

Jun 102010

Lucerne 6-cyl

  • miles
The rear passenger and/or driver side door(s) will not open from the inside or the outside. It is as though the locking mechanisms are not engaging either door.

- Kaukauna, WI, USA

problem #2

Jan 312011

Lucerne

  • 79,825 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lucerne. The contact stated that the rear passenger door could not be unlocked from the inside or outside. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who replaced the door lock. The failure continued. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who replaced the door lock assembly. The failure mileage was 79,825 and the current mileage was 80,082.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #1

Nov 132006

Lucerne 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,402 miles
: the contact stated while the vehicle was placed in drive, the doors locked automatically. It was driven to the dealer who determined the door locks performed as designed. The consumer stated if he is involved in an accident, he or the passengers may not be able to exit. The passengers will not be able to exit until the switch is operated or pulls up the manual lock post, then they can unlock the door by pulling the door handle. The consumer believes that takes too much time and effort if in an emergency situation. Updated 12/05/06.

- Metairie, LA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?