Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,165 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Buick Lucerne engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Buick Lucerne:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Buick Lucerne Owner Comments

problem #10

Sep 152016

Lucerne

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lucerne. While driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle suddenly shut off. After restarting the engine, the vehicle continued to shut off. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 67,000.

- Wilmington, OH, USA

problem #9

Dec 152014

Lucerne

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lucerne. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 160,000.

- Tallulah, LA, USA

problem #8

Sep 102012

Lucerne 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lucerne. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle jerked and there was an abnormal noise. The failure occurred on two occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine bracket fractured and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 58,000. Updated 12/2/14

- American Canyon , CA, USA

problem #7

Mar 062013

Lucerne

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lucerne. The contact stated that while traveling approximately 30 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. As a result, the contact lost control of the vehicle and crashed into a light pole. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The driver sustained minor injuries. The vehicle was destroyed. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was notified of recall NHTSA campaign id number: 14V355000 (electrical system). However, the vehicle had not been repaired under the recall since the parts needed were not available. The contact was waiting for a response from the local dealer and manufacturer to remedy the recall repair when the failure occurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was not available.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #6

Feb 012014

Lucerne 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Buick Lucerne. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the engine stalled. The contact was able to maneuver the vehicle to the side of the road and restarted the vehicle. The problem occurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the coil pack connector needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified about the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 52,000. Updated 10/02/14 updated 3/10/2015

- Webster, NY, USA

problem #5

Aug 162010

Lucerne 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Lower front motor support replaced @ about 45,000 miles. Now @ 81,000 replaced torque bar ? (upper front of engine 2 big bolts replaced myself) great idea for a less powerful 3800 engine. Also constant anti-freeze leak. You know the cause. It is all over the I-net...plastic connections.!!!!!! all this is common knowledge, why has nothing been done"??" [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hanceville, AL, USA

problem #4

May 212014

Lucerne

  • 121,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have filed a prior claim with you on the ignition control module failure. Dealer replaced the entire module - GM subsequently issued recall for Buick, altho they are claiming the failure has to do with a slot/hole in a key. I had only the key and the lock fob on the key - I did not have lots of keys and other accessories linked to my key, nor did I hit a pothole or anything jarring. The car just died, no brakes, steering, unable to restart the car and I had to have it towed. I was fortunate that it was at a low speed and not 65 mph on a highway. This repair cost me $939 dollars. And I am not sure that the replacement part isn't a defective duplicate, an inventory shelf item that has the same defect as the part replaced. If GM is claiming it's only a key issue, then the drivers of these larger vehicles are all at risk, as well as other vehicles that might be involved in an accident with a car unable to be controlled. Please don't let them get away with sweeping this issue under the rug. I don't want to be injured or cause a death because GM doesn't want to spend the money to replace defective modules. (I had the dealer give me the module they removed and will seek to find a good engineering test lab if GM continues to drag its feet on the Lucerne issue) I understand these parts were made in china and there is also a reported history of defects - here is a copy of material reprinted from reuters: America.aljazeera.com/articles/2014/6/25/GM-ignition-switchlinkedtorecallmadeinchina.html I am living on limited resources and don't want to have to sue GM to get reimbursed for this issue. Thank you for the follow-up.

- Marshfield, MA, USA

problem #3

Jun 182006

Lucerne 6-cyl

  • 7,291 miles
Initially the auto hesitated and then accelerate. Reported to dealer on 09/18/06. Mileage was 7,291.. then the auto would stall when driving at various speeds, at one time at 60 mph on the garden state parkway. Various fixes by the dealer failed to stop the problem. Have all documentation. In touch with GM on 06/13/2014 and advised to again bring back to the dealer. (kerbeck Buick atlantic city NJ.). the GM rep (([xxx]?) then said go to another dealer if not satisfied. Going to dealer on next week. Please advise.

- Galloway, NJ, USA

problem #2

Sep 022013

Lucerne 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
My 2006 Buick Lucerne engines stops randomly. As I am traveling down the road the engine suddenly cut off and there is a loss of all power steering and brakes. All electrical components blacks out and when it stops you can not crank it. After waiting different amounts of time you can crank it up and continues until the next mysterious outage. This is my wife car and I do not allow her to drive it. I do not take it on any winding roads. I went to the dealership where I purchased and was told if there is no check engine light then no codes will be set to find the problem. I have carried it to three other shops to no avail. One mechanical was driving it around town and it happen on a roundabout. He said he had to struggle with all his might to get though it before he could stop. I do not know what to do and hopefully nothing dreadful will happen, like GM cares.

- Grifton, NC, USA

problem #1

Jan 152014

Lucerne 6-cyl

  • 39,362 miles
Vehicle is a 2006 Buick Lucerne cx with 40,000 miles. About 2 months ago it started to go dead without any warning. The first occurrence was Jan 15, 2014 with my wife driving. The next shutdown on Mar 4, 2014, occurred in rush hour traffic. There was an audible signal accompanied by a "service traction control" warning, followed immediately by a throttle control warning and complete engine shutdown. I was able to coast across 2 traffic lanes into a parking area with great difficulty while steering and braking without power assist. Tried to restart the engine but got "throttle disabled? message. After 2-4 minutes was able to restart with no warning light illuminated. The last shutdown was on March 10, 2014, on the interstate at 70 mph. I had disabled traction control earlier in hopes of avoiding another unexpected shutdown. After coasting off the interstate, I was able to restart normally after a few minutes. No warning lights appeared after the restart. Two GM dealers checked the car on Mar 11, 2014. The first was a Chevrolet dealer, and after some diagnostic work they sent me to a Buick dealer down the street. Both dealers said there were no error messages and they could not repair. They said when it happens again to bring it back in immediately for diagnosis. The 3 shutdowns have been on cold mornings, temps less than 40 degrees. I believe in all three cases the warning ?watch for icy conditions" has appeared prior to failure. This is an extremely dangerous failure mode that leaves no tracks if there is an accident! my wife now refuses to drive the car, and I am very apprehensive about it.

- Cordova, TN, USA

Not what you are looking for?