Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.0

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
29,887 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Buick Rendezvous engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Buick Rendezvous:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Buick Rendezvous Owner Comments

problem #12

Jan 032012

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Shortly after I bought my used Buick Rendezvous, it started stalling. It was a monthly occurrence until recently when it is happening weekly. Although this car was within the VIN breakpoints of a safety recall in 2005, Buick told me that my particular VIN in its entirety wasn't affected and even if it was that they wouldn't cover repairs because it was too old.

- Racine, WI, USA

problem #11

Jan 272011

Rendezvous

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Buick Rendezvous. While driving approximately 35 mph the contact began to smell a burning odor. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was told that the coolant began to mix with the oil and destroyed the head gasket. The engine was repaired. The failure and current mileages were 90,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Allenstown, NH, USA

problem #10

Jan 182009

Rendezvous

  • 67,000 miles
Two head gaskets blew on my car and I want to know if this has been a problem with Buick Rendezvous 2004 model or others. This car has only 67,000 miles. I see a list of recalls on this model and want to know if one of those could cause head gasket problems.

- Bessemer, MI, USA

problem #9

Jul 052006

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2004 Buick Rendezvous that I bought in 2004 with 9000 miles on it. At 32000 miles the check engine light came on and the dealer said the number three cylinder was misfiring. He reset the the cylinder and 10000 miles later it is doing it again. Also at 42000 I have had to replace both front and rear breaks along with the power steering pump and the master cylinder. I think these are excessive breakdowns for a vehicle this age and milage. So far repairs to the vehicle in the last month have exceeded $1000. Luckly I wasn't in and accident when the steering and breaks failed. There was no warnign chirp or dash indicator showing the steering and breaks were failing.

- Superior, WI, USA

problem #8

Apr 252005

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,545 miles
My 2004 Buick Rendezvous has been in the shop 8 times in 10 1/2 months. Currently I am experiencing a loud noise (much like an air raid horn) while I am stopped in traffic and when I turn my vehicle off. It started back in April, the dealership could not recreate the noise, in the shop again 11/4/05 and again 11/11/05. I just do not feel safe in the car. I it is getting progressively worse, louder and more frequent, lasting longer. I purchased my vehicle 17 Dec 04 and the very next day had a break problem. My service record is as follows: 1) 12/20/04- ABS light on - all wheel drive disabled 2) 01/27/05 - ABS light on - all wheel drive disabled 3) 4/25/05 - ABS light on all wheel drive disabled would not drive over 40 mph - 3) 4/25/05 - passenger side mirror clicking when vehicle is put into reverse 3) 4/25/05 vehicle makes a loud air horn noise when vehicle is turned off 4) 5-19/05 - ABS light on - all wheel drive disabled 4) 5/19/05 - vehicle looses power when making left turns or on incline 4) 5/16/05 installed rear lift gate latch 5) 7/15/05 driver side mirror glass came loose 6) 9/01/05 - drivers side power window inoperative- 7) 11/4/05 - very loud acceleration - exhaust manifold leaking right exhaust manifold 7) 11/4/05 loud noise while driving vehicle, stopping in traffic and when vehicle is turned off 8) 11/11/05 wobble in left front tire- reface front rotors out of round 8) 11/11/05 took vehicle in for the loud air horn noise while driving, stopping in traffic and turning vehicle off - had a 5 minute discussion with service person about this and it did not even make it on the invoice.

- Ft. Washingon, MD, USA

problem #7

Mar 012005

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
The starter and horn did not always work. Thermostat and fuel gauge was not accurate. There had previously been a problem with the ignition switch and it was repaired due to a recall. The problem with the starter started in March of 2005. These problems have not been repaired as of yet. When the consumer took the vehicle it to the dealership they told her it was designed that way.

- Baumont, TX, USA

problem #6

Jan 012005

Rendezvous

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The consumer stated his particular problem is that vehicle simply stopped running for no reason.

- Wheeling, WV, USA

problem #5

Feb 112005

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,500 miles
2004 Buick Rendezvous has had engine failure 3 - 5 times. At low speeds 0-15 mph, car will will cut off. The car restarts immediately once you put it back to park or neutral. I took the car to the dealer on one occasion but they wre unable to duplicate problem. I will take it to the dealer again and provide the similar complaints by other consumers.

- White Plains, MD, USA

problem #4

Dec 142004

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,200 miles
The vehicle stalled when driving on the highway. The vehicle would sometimes cut completely off. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for service, but the dealer could not duplicate the problem. While the dealer was trying to find the problem with the stalling, they found that the brake module lost communication with the computer. The stalling problem continued to occur. Other problems were: The battery light had come on followed by engine stalling, the ebcm was intermittently dropping out therefore the ignition relay was replaced and the liftgate did not open properly.

- Acworth, GA, USA

problem #3

Sep 292004

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Several-failures, braking noise, front/rear tire wear, unsecured roof and top tail lamp. Steering wheel was noisy along with a thump roar and grinding, there was poor air flow circulation on the rear passenger side, the rack roof was unsecured and side rails, poor wear on the tires front/rear, rear wheel rubbing/grinding during normal operation, brake noises, poor idle and shuts off the engine, lack of air flow for passengers in the rear of the vehicle, and the right front passenger window black rubber seam buckled.

- Compton, CA, USA

problem #2

Aug 152004

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,300 miles
Vehicle stalled intermittently at low speed of 0-15 mph, occasionally vehicle would restart. Vehicle was taken to the dealer on one occasion, and they were unable to duplicate the problem. Consumer was making another appointment with the dealer. The dealer has installed a data recorder which has recorded one failure. The consumer is waiting for another failure before taking the vehicle back to the dealer.

- Waynesville, OH, USA

problem #1

Sep 032004

Rendezvous 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
While driving vehicle stalled. Consumer was able to restart the vehicle, and had vehicle towed to dealership, who did not resolve the problem. This was a problem many times and not repaired.

- Paoli, IN, USA

Not what you are looking for?