Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,028 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Cadillac CTS brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Cadillac CTS:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Cadillac CTS Owner Comments

problem #17

Jun 062007

CTS 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles


My Cadillac Cts has a manual shift transmission. Unfortunately Cadillac installed a foot emergency brake on my car. When stopped on a hill the vehicle rolls backwards when you engage the gear because they installed a foot emergency brake instead of a hand emergency brake. With a hand brake you can ease off the brake while you engage the drive train. With the foot brake you cannot ease off the emergancy brake its either on or off. This creates a problem when setting on an hill. Its impossible to keep the car from moving backwards when engaging the drive train on a hill.

- Hyattsville, MD, USA

problem #16

Jul 112011

CTS 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
Montgomery, al. July 22, 2011 2007 Cadillac Cts: Brakes fail when making turn at slow speeds, such as into driveway, parking spot etc, and car continues to move forward in a slide.. dealer claims there are no brake problems and that they can't replicate problem. After speaking with several other owners who have the same problem, I "googled" the issue and found numerous complaints regarding the same situation and all indicatingt he dealerships were either unaware, unwilling or unable to resolve the problem. Finally I accidentaly bumped a car on the church parking lot on 7/10/2011 and I took the car in on 7/11/2011 for the 5th time since I purchased it on 8/24/2010. I told them now I don't want it back again until it is fixed, because I almost hit the owner of the vehicle, he had just step away from the trunk of his car, and I was trying to stand up on these brakes, but the car would not stop, it just rolled into the back of their car, thank god I was going very slow. My car was returned to me on 7/17/2011 and they claim to have fixed it this time, so far it has been a week and I haven't had a problem yet. If this has fixed the problem, I will put another message in here to let others know what the dealership says they did to repair my car.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #15

Jun 192011

CTS 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
On a 2007 Cadillac Cts the rear right brake hose is designed and assembled in such a way that it comes in contact all the time with a sharp edge of a metal bracket. This interference lead to an erosion on the hose that is close of perforating the hose at only 58,000km. I guess that for older cars and/or much mileage, this hose was already perforated. This car already had a recall for the front brake hoses, that were replaced. But for the rear hose there is no recall, although the danger is much greater. Will contact GM and then ask for a replacement of the hose under warranty.

- Bowmanville, 00, USA

problem #14

Aug 012008

CTS 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles


2007 Cadillac Cts: Brakes fail when making turn at slow speeds, such as into driveway, parking spot etc, and car continues to move forward in a slide.. dealer claims there are no brake problems and that they can't replicate problem. After speaking with several other owners who have the same problem, I "googled" the issue and found numerous complaints regarding the same situation and all indicating he dealerships were either unaware, unwilling or unable to resolve the problem.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #13

Nov 252009


  • miles
Every time I turn a hard left into a parking space or any hard left my car looses its breaks & my service brakes assist light goes on. I have had my car in the shop twice & they cant seem to figure out what is causing the problem. It is a very dangerous problem. If anyone else has had this same problem and have the cause figured out please let Cadillac know.

- Battle Ground, WA, USA

problem #12

Mar 172011


  • 40,000 miles
Cadillac Cts 2007 fails to stop when turning to the right at low speeds as when parking, problem is intermittent but often enough to happen twice per/week. Hit another vehicle while parking. A person had just crossed in between the two cars and could had being crushed.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #11

Jul 012010


  • 28,350 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated that while driving he heard an unusual noise. The manufacturer was contacted and referred him to the dealer. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the brake pads were completely worn out, the rear rotors were damaged beyond repair and the vehicle had a faulty master brake cylinder. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 28,350 and the current mileage was 32,500.

- Maumee, OH, USA

problem #10

Jul 152010


  • 20,000 miles
During normal driving experienced hard brake pedal and heard air leaking with approximately 90% brake loss. Removed brake pressure immediately and reapplied brake pressure resulting in full normal braking. Happened approximately 5 - 6 times within 6 week period. Returned to authorized Cadillac repair facility for inspection. Service manager reports found nothing wrong with brake system and failed to report my exact symptoms in his service report, just stating brake pads are low.

- Mineola, NY, USA

problem #9

Feb 152008


  • 15,000 miles
2007 Cadillac Cts, when brakes is depressed brakes becomes hard and car does not stop, this occurs quite often once every 2 weeks, I have taken the car to the dealer twice, and both time they told me that they could not find any problems

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #8

Jul 112008


  • 30,655 miles
Brakes and rotors at 30655 now at 52345 brakes and rotors have to be replaced again. Replaced

- Palenville, NY, USA

problem #7

Mar 112009

(reported on)

CTS 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles


2007 Cadillac Cts have a bad brake system. Consumer states that the pads and rotors are rusted with only 27K miles. The pads and rotors had completely rusted.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #6

Dec 092008

CTS 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated that the brakes on his vehicle worked intermittently. The brake pedal extends to the floor and the vehicle has difficulty stopping. The failure occurs most frequently when making left turns. The vehicle was taken to the dealer at least five times and they installed new brakes and made other repairs, but the failure persists. The contact has paid for some of the repairs. The vehicle has been at the dealer for the past five days to diagnose the failure. The failure mileage was 34,000. Updated 3/25/09 upadted 03/25/09.

- San Jacinto, CA, USA

problem #5

Mar 182008


  • miles
I purchased my 07 Cts new Oct. 2007 (my sex is female). My car has been in & out of the dealers shop numerous times. Some of my problems rear end slip growl, trunk opens, 3 water leaks, message lights engaging, driver seats malfunctions, brakes, service lights, rust, front noise, window, door handles, A/C & 2 recalls. Some of my concerns get addresses alot they say they can't duplicate. My car lost full power for a short time in Oct. Of 2008. I lost my lemon law case through the BBB in Sep. 2008. I did get a invoice from my dealership on error while preparing for my lemon law case. My car was in the dealers shop for six days painting the deck lid before I even bought my car (I was never told about this). Dealer claims nothing major just minor. Now in Oct. Of 2008 I've learned something more has happened to my car before I bought it. I've discovered my car has weld marks on the inside trunk area? the dealership owner says no way that happened on his lot that my car came from the manufacturer like that. The dealership owner can't explain the weld marks on my car. Again I bought this car brand new. I've been through lots of tears with the performance of my car & now it's been damaged too. My car still has performance problems to this day. I've even learned that a couple of my accessories that I paid lots of $$$$ for the dealership to install where done poorly.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #4

Jul 072007

CTS 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Cadillac Cts. In Feb of 2008, the vehicle was taken to the dealer for NHTSA campaign id number 07V58900 (power train:axle assembly:axle shaft:seal); however, the vehicle was not repaired correctly. The transmission module was recently replaced and the manual gear failed. Recently, the rear rotors failed. A complaint was filed with the manufacturer and they stated that they would not assist with the repairs because the vehicle was over 30,000 miles. In addition, the warranty was expired. The failure mileage was 15,000 and current mileage was 38,000. Updated 12/02/08. Updated 12/03/08.

- Boylston , MA, USA

problem #3

Jun 172008

CTS 6-cyl

  • 5,630 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Cadillac Cts. While driving approximately 25 mph, the contact depressed the antilock brake pedal, but the vehicle failed to slow down after a couple of attempts. There was no warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer; however, they could not determine the cause of the failure. The failure has recently recurred. The vehicle will be taken to the authorized dealer for repair. The failure mileage was 5630 and current mileage was 5727. Updated 09/10/08 updated 09/11/08.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #2

Jun 112008


  • 4,833 miles
Mileage: 4,833 I had been waiting in line at a carwash, and when it was my turn to enter, I began to slowly move forward. As I was inching forward, my car began to move faster than it should. I applied the brake, but I did not have any and my steering was locked. It felt like my car stalled, but at the same time, it kept moving forward. Fortunately, I was able to engage my emergency brake to prevent me from crashing. This is the 2nd time this has happened. The first time was in August of '07. That time, I was parked at the top of my sloped driveway. The car lurched forward and I had no brakes or steering and my car rolled down the hill and into a brick wall. I ended up in the er with a neck injury. The dealership found nothing. My car has been in and out of the dealership for various problems tied to the electrical system of the car. (ex. The traction control would engage inappropriately or would stop me dead in the middle of the road, the trunk came open while I was driving, it would have pickup hesitation, it would also feel as if it were accelerating itself while I was driving, my oil life reading was off by 38%, car had to be reprogrammed because the power train system detected a malfunction in the engine control system, the gas gauge and low fuel warning lights are not performing accurately.) as of today, my car has been in the shop for 17 days as they continue to attempt to fix my problems. If you factor in the time it was in their after my accident due to the malfunction of the car, it has been over 77 days in the past 10 months.

- Bellaire, OH, USA

problem #1

Mar 282008

(reported on)

CTS 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Cadillac Cts with several brake problems. Consumer states he has experienced partial brake failure three times. He states that mechanic stated they couldn't find a problem. Brake problems continue. One of the three times, the driver information center flashed and stated there was a brake problem. When the consumer applied the brake, the stopping distance was much greater than normal.

- Bradenton, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?