Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,630 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Cadillac CTS engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Cadillac CTS:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Cadillac CTS Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Nov 092016

CTS

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Warning light came on.I brought the vehicle to my mechanic and he said that the timing chain was the problem. The car has only 61000 miles on it.

- Saint John, IN, USA

problem #20

Jul 132016

CTS

  • miles
I purchased my vehicle in April of 2016 and it ran fine. But as of late I have been experiencing some major problems with the functioning of the vehicle. To date a "service all wheel drive" illuminates on the dash as well as a "service stabilitrak" which causes the check engine light to illuminate and the engine to reduce power. I was on a highway where the speed limit is 65 mph and this occurred which almost cost me my life. I contacted my warranty company which was no help so I scheduled an appointment at a Cadillac dealer. I have been researching this issue for 2 months and have found forums online with car owners of GM vehicles experiencing the same issue. I have spent days reading the outcome but no one could say what caused the issue or what was fixed or corrected. The only thing everyone agreed upon was that said issue should be a recall to properly diagnose the problem. I have an appointment with a Cadillac dealer in the next week but feel they will not be of any help but have no choice at this point.

- Amherst, NY, USA

problem #19

May 102014

CTS

  • 58,000 miles
Check engine light came on in May 2014 at 58,000 miles. My timing chain wore out prematurely. GM had a recall through July 2013 for this issue (tsb #10287 2007-09 Cts and special coverage adjustment 11340C) that repaired and extended warranty to 10 years from date of original purchase on affected vehicles. I was told my vehicle was not covered under recall. In May 2014, I paid the dealership $1,800 to install a new timing chain kit. In September 2014, check engine light came on again at 80,000 miles and same issue occurred requiring a new timing chain kit after only 22,000 miles on last timing chain kit. GM and dealership refuse to cover the entire cost of replacing timing chain and deny there is a manufacturer's defect. I disagree and have discussed my issue with two independent mechanics who also disagree. GM has not included all affected vehicles in original recall and should do the right thing and repair this defect at no cost to its customers. I should not have paid anything for the first or second repair. GM is putting drivers at risk if timing chain breaks while operating vehicle.

- Louisiville, KY, USA

problem #18

Sep 192016

CTS

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Over the past two years, 4 of the 6 cylinders on this automobile have needed coil replacements on the cylinders. I have owned several GM vehicles and have not needed any repairs of this nature, and believe this may be a hardware defect. The effect has been intermittent loss of power, particularly when accelerating uphill at traffic speeds (50-55 mph). This forces the driver either to slow or to accelerate through this narrow speed band.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #17

Sep 052016

CTS

  • 87,500 miles
I had a P0008 check engine code come up on my car for timing chain issues. GM issued a special extended warranty for 2008-2009 Cadillac Cts with this issue, but they stated I am not covered under this warranty, but it is the same problem as the tsb they issued.

- Malden, MA, USA

problem #16

May 022016

CTS

  • 100,839 miles
Regarding tsb 11340 (NHTSA reference- 10043857), which states, "if premature wear of the timing chain occurs on your 2007 model year GMC acadia; Saturn outlook; 2007-2009 model year Cadillac Cts, srx, sts; 2009 model year Buick enclave; Chevrolet traverse; GMC acadia; or Saturn outlook vehicle, equipped with a 2.8L/3.6L V6 engine, within 10 years of the date your vehicle was originally placed in service or 120,000 miles (193,000 km), whichever occurs first, the condition will be repaired for you at no charge" our 2009 Cadillac Cts with ~100,839 miles has been diagnosed with this failure, and caused my motor to lock up. Our timing chanin was already fixed under warranty once prior, this will make it a second repair but now our complete engine has failed; however, General Motors refuses to make the repairs stated in the tsb at no charge in accordance with the tsb. My experience dealing with Cadillac over the past 2 days indicates that Cadillac had no intention of making the repairs that they have informed the NHTSA were appropriate. It is my observation that General Motors had no intention of honoring the bulletin and only submitted the information to the NHTSA as a means to mitigate the negative public image from this engineering failure. General Motors should not be permitted to manipulate public trust and abuse the resources of the NHTSA for their own marketing benefit. This is a deceptive practice and the government should require that the manufacturer abide by the stated resolution and not permit the manufacturer to abuse public resources.

- Arnold, MO, USA

problem #15

Aug 032016

CTS

  • 52,594 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Cadillac Cts. While driving approximately 30 mph, an unknown warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the timing chain was worn and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 52,594.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #14

May 022016

CTS

  • 94,000 miles
Regarding tsb 11340 (NHTSA reference- 10043857), which states, "if premature wear of the timing chain occurs on your 2007 model year GMC acadia; Saturn outlook; 2007-2009 model year Cadillac Cts, srx, sts; 2009 model year Buick enclave; Chevrolet traverse; GMC acadia; or Saturn outlook vehicle, equipped with a 2.8L/3.6L V6 engine, within 10 years of the date your vehicle was originally placed in service or 120,000 miles (193,000 km), whichever occurs first, the condition will be repaired for you at no charge" our 2009 Cadillac Cts with ~94,000 miles has been diagnosed with this failure; however, General Motors refuses to make the repairs stated in the tsb at no charge in accordance with the tsb. My experience dealing with Cadillac over the past 2 days indicates that Cadillac had no intention of making the repairs that they have informed the NHTSA were appropriate. It is my observation that General Motors had no intention of honoring the bulletin and only submitted the information to the NHTSA as a means to mitigate the negative public image from this engineering failure. General Motors should not be permitted to manipulate public trust and abuse the resources of the NHTSA for their own marketing benefit. This is a deceptive practice and the government should require that the manufacturer abide by the stated resolution and not permit the manufacturer to abuse public resources.

- Sunman, IN, USA

problem #13

Mar 112016

CTS

  • 109,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Cadillac Cts. While driving 40 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician stated that the check engine code needed to be reset and the timing chain possibly needed to be replaced. The check engine warning light was reset, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 109,000.

- Saginaw, MI, USA

problem #12

Mar 012016

CTS

  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Cadillac Cts. While driving 40 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the timing chain needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was eligible for repairs under a customer satisfaction campaign related to the timing chain. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 54,000.

- Hainesport, NJ, USA

problem #11

Nov 212015

CTS

  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated that while driving at 60 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated. The failure occurred twice. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the timing chain failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 71,000.

- Cape May Court House, NJ, USA

problem #10

Nov 092015

CTS

  • 90,636 miles
My engine would not turn on when leaving for work. I did a check under the hood and found I was completely out of oil. My oil gage display was at the halfway mark which means I am still good on my oil. Also, the digitial display in my car says that I have 54% of oil life remaining. Somwhere within the car, the system wasnt reading the oil level accurately which caused me to believe my oil level was still good. At the moment my car is at the shop waiting for details. How can this issue be fixed to prevent this from happening again and to others?

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #9

Apr 072015

CTS

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Cadillac Cts. While driving various speeds, the check engine light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the timing chain failed prematurely. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 70,000. Updated 03/11/16

- Framingham, MA, USA

problem #8

Jun 242015

CTS

  • 93,203 miles
Service engine light came on at 93203 miles. Obd code P0008 timing chain problem. There's a special coverage adjustment (sca) #11340C on 2007-2009 Cadillac Cts vehicles for that known problem. I'm at the Cadillac dealer and my specific VIN doesn't fall under that sca. I called the Cadillac hq and they opened a case #71-1492554265 and told me to file a complaint with the NHTSA. The sca is 10yrs or 120K miles. It's a known problem which needs to be addressed. Thank you

- Samson, AL, USA

problem #7

Mar 252015

CTS 6-cyl

  • 83,797 miles
The check engine light illuminated and dealer diagnosed problem code as P0008 pertaining to the timing chain. I was then told that the timing chain was stretched and needed to be replaced for a cost of approximately $2200. Vehicle is well-cared for and has 83,800 miles on it. According to other complaints made to NHTSA, a number of people have experienced premature timing chain wear with this make/model. I called GM to inquire about a special coverage adjustment bulletin, issued 11/5/12, #11340C, pertaining to 2009 Cadillac Cts and other vehicles with premature timing chain wear. Even though my vehicle is experiencing this exact issue and presumably would be included in the special coverage adjustment (which extended the warranty for affected vehicles to 10 years/120,000 miles for this issue and requires dealers to replace the chain without the customer paying for it), GM told me that my vehicle was not eligible as only "some" vehicles were included and apparently my VIN# was not one of them. If my vehicle is experiencing the exact issue that necessitated the special coverage adjustment, then why am I not given the benefit of the coverage" instead, I am forced to pay out of pocket for a known premature wear issue? why doesn't the special coverage adjustment apply to all 2009 Cadillac Cts vehicles, not merely "some""

- North Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #6

Dec 072014

CTS 6-cyl

  • 27,750 miles
While driving I heard a loud noise from under the hood and the service engine soon light came on. Once able to stop I called onstar and asked them to give me a diagnostic. I was told that it was an engine error and to take in for service. I took the car to the dealer first thing the next morning. Was told my timing chain needed to be replaced. My car has less than 28,000 miles. Called GM/Cadillac was told that while there was a recall (#10287) for prematuring timing chain wear for certain 2009 Cts mine was not one of them.

- Rahway, NJ, USA

problem #5

Jan 072012

CTS

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Cadillac Cts. While driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle would not accelerate when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The engine stalled. The failure recurred twice. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000.

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #4

Sep 092014

CTS

  • 66,617 miles
Premature timing chain wear. Needs to be replaced for approximately $3000. Check engine light alerted us of the situation. From our research, there is a known issue with this particular GM vehicle. GM denies there is an issue for our VIN. Timing chains do not to wear in 5 years 66617 miles. It is a manufacturer defect.

- North Caldwell , NJ, USA

problem #3

Jun 162014

CTS 6-cyl

  • 70,300 miles
The check engine light came on. I took it into Cadillac and they said the timing chains needed to be replaced. General Motors announced a customer satisfaction program 10287 in Feb., 2010 for premature timing chain wear on 2007-2009 Cadillac Cts. There is obviously a problem with the timing chain wear but I was told that mine wasn't part of that. Very early for that to happen with only 70,000 miles on the car. I was told the cost to repair would be $2650.

- Mt. Prospect, IL, USA

problem #2

Feb 012012

CTS 6-cyl

  • miles
2009 Cadillac Cts. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle vibration/unexpected loss of power and transmission shifting and acceleration problems. The consumer stated the vehicle began shifting gears erratically, vibrating and lacked power. The condition appeared irregular and for some time, no trouble light appeared. Once a light finally appeared, the vehicle was taken to a Cadillac dealer who determined that all the ignition coils on one side of the engine were defective. The service representative explained that when one or more ignition coils fail, the engine would have a greater vibration and lack of power. In addition, the coil failure would cause the transmission to unexpectedly downshift to compensate for the loss of power and with multiple coil failures it may shift multiple times each time more power was needed to maintain the throttle speed. In July 2013, the consumer began experiencing the same performance issues. Again, no trouble light appeared. A trip to the dealer resulted in nothing being found, despite the service history of the vehicle. The condition continued and in August 2013. The trouble light appeared. The dealer found an ignition coil on the other side of the engine was defective.

- Middleburg, FL, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?