Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,348 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Aveo electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Aveo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Aveo Owner Comments

problem #12

Jan 132015

Aveo

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Aveo. The contact stated that after hitting a bump in the road at approximately 30 mph, the lights on the instrument panel and rear passengers side lights became inoperable. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the alternator, the dimmer switch and the fuse block needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 02/10/16

- Boonville, IN, USA

problem #11

Jun 112014

Aveo

  • 61,000 miles
The service engine soon light, keeps coming on, have had it checked and it indicates either a open or short circuit condition in the cooling system, a faulty thermostat heater, or faulty ECM. This same message appears in mid June and stays on thru early September. Nc safety inspection is due now. It is becoming expensive, and annoying. This is a problem, and Chevrolet need fix if free of charge. Also when we purchased the car used, the dash lights did not work, it took two switches to fix, because of a short under then dash. Appears this vehicle was welded on outside of Chevrolet before trade in. Radio speakers appear to be blown out, points toward welding that was not grounded. Dealership says got vehicle from very reputable individual. Has been a very big lemon since we purchased. Dealership say vehicle was ok when they got it.

- Rocky Mount, NC, USA

problem #10

Jun 122015

Aveo

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Aveo. The contact stated that the driver was involved in a crash where the vehicle rolled over three times. The details of the crash were not available. The contact also stated that the rear seat detached from the vehicle and the air bags failed to deploy. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 68,000. The VIN was not available.

- Henderson , NV, USA

problem #9

May 112015

Aveo

  • 114,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I drove parked and key is stuck I got it out once and it's hot now won't come out

- Johnston, RI, USA

problem #8

Jan 212015

Aveo

  • 80,536 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Aveo. The contact stated that while driving approximately 23 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted, but failed to move. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,536.

- Washigton, DC, USA

problem #7

Mar 222014

Aveo

  • 50,000 miles
My vehicle would not start on a trip to Florida and my boyfriend and I had to push start it all the way back to Ohio. As soon as we got back I got back I got the clutch switch repaired which was $300. Then I went on a second trip to Florida in July and once I arrived I got in my car to go somewhere and it would not start yet again. I took it to a repair shop where they could not find them problem yet still charged me $220 because it just started randomly. As soon as I took it back to the place I was staying in Florida and turned it off, I tried to start it again and it would not. My sister and I push started it and I took it to a Chevy dealer repair place and they informed me the clutch switch needed programmed and I paid $90 for that. The car was finally starting smoothly again until 10/27/2014 when again the car would not start. I took it to the Chevy dealership O bought it at and they informed me that I I needed a new ignition switch and that it would cost $315. I am tired of this car I have only had it for four years and it only has 65000 miles on it. This has been a continuing problem and she be included in the ignition recall because it was obviously a faulty part. Because of the problems I have had with this car I will never by Chevy or GM for that matter ever again.

- Vermilion, OH, USA

problem #6

Aug 132014

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 67,927 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The 2010 Chevrolet Aveo worked fine on 8/13/14. Drove it all day long with no issues, parked it while shopping for 1 hour. Car did not start when I came out to leave. Paid $125 get it towed to nightingale's auto tech & repair (12331 31 mile rd, romeo, mi 48065. 586-752-4514) approx 18 miles away, on 8/14/14. Nightingale's found blown 2amp ignition fuse (under hood) charged us $79.18 & told us to take it to the dealership because they did not have the ability to fix it any further (on 8/15/14). We drove it to buy 2 amp fuses at a auto parts store 1 block away in case it happened again, which it did & we replaced the 2amp fuse again. We drove the car straight to the heidebreicht dealership a couple miles away & the fuse blew again trying to get it into the dealership service dept., on 8/15/14. Today is 8/26/14, and the car is still at heidebreict's service dept, they do not know what the problem is. The service rep, [xxx], has told us over several phone calls that they couldn't find the problem & had to to call GM for consult.chris C. told me that GM recommended the tech should install 4 separate fuses just to troubleshoot, & I had to pay for that to find the problem. At this point, GM & the tech determined that the digital instrument panel was bad & the dealership ordered a new one. The dealership told me that my cost so far would be over $1360. They tried the new instrument panel& it did not correct the problem (fuses still blowing). On 8/26/14, heidebreicht's told me that GM told them to order another instrument panel & if that didn't work, then GM was going to send their engineers out to help them fix the problem. Our car has been down for this problem for 13 days now & there is no resolution yet, even from GM engineers. Are there any recalls, tsb's or anything on file for this issue" is it related to the huge ignition switch recall". GM should pay for this!!! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bruce Twp., MI, USA

problem #5

May 152014

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 61,500 miles
Upon approaching a red light, I began slowing down and immediately the car started sputtering and once at a complete stop, the car rapidly vibrated for 5 seconds and then completely shut down. I waited a few seconds to try and restart and was able to make it home. This issue has been going on in different severities over the course of the past 7 months, dating back to October 2013. At other times the vehicle will begin decelerating while my foot is on the accelerator. The car will be unresponsive to any attempts to pick up speed for 3-5 seconds then all of sudden kick into gear and drive like normal. This happens at highway speeds and residential neighbor speeds just the same. I've had the fuel system cleaned, taken to 2 Chevy dealerships in different cities and neither was able to come up with a reason as to why the car does this. The most recent trip came after the car died while at the red light. There's no check engine light, codes showing up on the scanner, and no problem with the fuel pump according to the dealers.

- Enid, OK, USA

problem #4

Sep 182013

Aveo

  • 52,000 miles
Driving 45 mph car suddently shuts off coast to side of highway very dificult to steer waited 5 to 10 minutes restarted car and drove home.

- Grantsville, WV, USA

problem #3

Nov 272013

Aveo 4-cyl

  • 69,500 miles
I went to start the car and it was completely dead, the lights worked and the "door ajar" light worked also, I had the car towed to a shop where I was told it was the ignition switch. A new one was put in, I paid $553 took the car and ran errands. After leaving the car not running for about 1-1/2 hours I went to start it and the same thing happened. Car was towed back to shop where mechanic called Chevy dealer and they told him since it was an aftermarket part, it wasn't compatible. He ordered a GM/Chevy ignition switch and replaced my battery too. I picked the car up today, ran errands but left the car running. As soon as I came home I turned the car off and went to restart it and the same thing happened. I called the shop and the owner came here and opened the hood and showed me that the fuse blew, when going to put a new fuse in, it started sparking. This is a safety hazard as it is going to wind up causing a fire because there is obviously some sort of short in the wiring. I called GM/Chevy and conveniently as of 2010 models it is only covered under the bumper to bumper warranty so they will not do anything. I think they know that this is a malfunction on their vehicles but they won't do anything about it. Please help

- Manville, NJ, USA

problem #2

Jul 282012

Aveo

  • miles
We have had numerous problems with the battery not staying charged. We would get ready to drive it and we would need to get a jump start. It got to the point where we considered buying a portable charger so we wouldn't have to wait for roadside assistance. In the last incident, I was driving and all of the lights illuminated at once. The power steering stopped working and then the car stopped. As we were waiting for a tow truck, a mechanic who was driving by looked under the hood and discovered that our serpentine belt and another belt had broken. We took it to a mechanic and were told that there was engine damage and the head gasket needed to be replaced and possibly the whole engine. Also, we have had to replace the tires numerous times for no apparent reason. They keep going flat. According to a Consumer Affairs website, these issues seem to be common with Aveo owners. www.consumeraffairs.com/automotive/chevy_aveo.html.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #1

May 312012

Aveo

  • 27,713 miles
I was driving on the highway when the engine light came on. The vehicle ran for a few minutes before it started losing power and chugging along on the highway. When I pulled off, I had to flutter on the gas to keep the car from stalling at the stop sign. To make it home on the back roads, I did not stop at stop signs for fear of the car stalling, I had the gas pedal to the floor and it was only going approximately 10 mph. I did not drive it to the dealership, it was towed. They found several engine control module updates. Reflashed ECM code S47490D. Performed campaign 11290 spark plugs and boot. While at dealership, tech found rear shocks were leaking. E5807 - rear shock absorbers replaced, both sides.

- Proctor, MN, USA

Not what you are looking for?