Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,094 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Camaro electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Camaro:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Camaro Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Dec 262016

Camaro

  • 59,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Manual driver's seatback went forward on its own & stuck in forward position and trunk popped on its own while stationary. 2010 Camaro 2lt hadn't been driven over christmas break. While out strolling, my husband stops to crank the car since it had been sitting for a couple of weeks. He got in, cranked it. No trouble. A week later I went to drive it to work, used remote key to unlock doors and noticed the seatback was stuck close to the steering wheel. I tried latch on seat's back and side lever, but couldn┐T get the seatback to move. I called to tell my husband I was taking our other vehicle to work and asked if he'd raised the seatback the day he cranked the car for good measure. He didn't recall doing so. Later that evening, we went to look at the car together, used the remote to unlock the doors. He tried moving the seatback and couldn't. he noticed the trunk was popped and asked if I'd popped it. I didn┐T think so, but maybe I hit the wrong button when unlocking the doors. He slammed the trunk shut. We thought perhaps he forgot to lock the car and someone had rummaged through our car and jammed the seat. A brief online search revealed other Camaro owners w/ same issue. The seatback had gone forward on its own. I thought, if seatbacks are moving forward on their own what happens if someone's driving. Unsafe! I visited NHTSA online and saw pictures are helpful. I went home to take a pic. This time the remote didn┐T unlock the doors, so I used the key. After photos, I noticed that the trunk was popped again. No way I ┐hit the wrong button, ┐ the remote wasn't working. I checked trunk and noted the inside lights weren't on. The car's battery had drained from the trunk being open for extended periods of time on two separate occasions. Seatback moving forward on its own and trunk popping on its own┐not a coincidence. Both are serious safety concerns.

- Lincoln, CA, USA

problem #28

Jul 062015

Camaro

  • 42,600 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro. The contact stated that while parked, the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact stated that the failure occurred when driving or parked along with a chime. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the air bag sensor and module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 42,600.

- Sherman, TX, USA

problem #27

Jan 152015

Camaro 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V346000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the repair was performed; however, the remote was damaged during the repair. The contact stated that he paid for a new remote, but the new remote was a pre-recall remote. The remote was non-compliant with the recall. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 09/10/15

- Corinth , TX, USA

problem #26

Feb 032015

Camaro 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Due to a structural defect of the car, water accumulated and the electrical system failed completely. The dealership identified that there was a structural defect related to the sunroof. The car completely lost all power since the electrical system failed. Therefore there was no power steering, and I was unable to exit the car since all power failed. This was an immediate life threatening danger. The dealership " repaired " the problem after an extensive assessment which included correspondence with General Motors. The cost of the repair was $1200. My concern is that this may be a life threatening safety hazard in other vehicles of the same make and model. I would also like to be reimbursed the full amount of this repair since this was a manufacturer defect. The outcome of this could have been catastrophic. Please advise me on how I would implement the process of reimbursement.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #25

Aug 042014

Camaro

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V346000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced the failure. Updated 7/9/15

- Elkhorn, WI, USA

problem #24

Feb 092015

Camaro

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled several times without any warning. The contact mentioned that the instrument panel flickered for all of the gauges and the sensors indicating that there was some sort of electrical short. The contact stated that after inspecting the vehicle, it was noticed that there was a water leak in the trunk. In addition, the contact stated that the key became lodged in the ignition switch and the brake pedal failed to depress. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer, who diagnosed that there was corrosion around the terminals and the power circuit. The technician was unable to identify the source of the leak and diagnosed that the electrical wiring harness needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was not available.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #23

Nov 012014

Camaro 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,936 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro. The contact stated that the electrical driver seat adjuster failed to move the seat. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the seat bottom and driver motor switch needed to be replaced. The repairs were made. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 42,936. Updated 04/10/15

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #22

Jan 012015

Camaro

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro. The contact stated that the trunk wire separated and failed to operate. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who diagnosed that after numerous cycles the wires separated and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 48,000.

- Phoenix , AZ, USA

problem #21

Oct 152014

Camaro

  • 70,000 miles
Trunk latch just stopped opening trunk. It still make the sound that it always made but it doesn't release the lid. The only way to open the trunk is to pull the emergency trunk release inside the trunk as there is no manual key operated release of the trunk from the outside of the trunk. Many others have voiced this exact complaint posted online on automobile forums. Also replacing the bulbs in the headlights seems to produce very poor light for night time driving. The replacement bulbs were 4300K hid bulbs 35W just like the original manufacturers equipment, purchased from a very respectable parts supply company.

- Ellenwood, GA, USA

problem #20

Nov 172014

Camaro 6-cyl

  • miles
2010 Chevrolet Camaro. Consumer writes in regards to GM ignition recall* the consumer stated the repair was not actually a fix at all. Portions of the key were removed and a separate key was attached by two small keys rings. The ignition was not repaired in any way.

- Toluca Lake, CA, USA

problem #19

Oct 012014

Camaro

  • 20,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

License plate lights overheated and melted through their respective assemblies. The heat also caused the rear plastic bumper to melt in a small area at one assembly.

- Scottsburg, IN, USA

problem #18

Jul 282014

Camaro

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number: 14V346000 (electrical system). However, the parts were not available. The contact was notified that the recall repairs were an interim fix. A case manager was schedule to review the safety of the vehicle pertaining to the remedy of the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure.

- Mount Vernon, IL, USA

problem #17

Oct 012013

Camaro 6-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
I have taken this vehicle in several times for loss of power while driving on the freeway. In addition to the vehicle losing power, reduced speed vehicle dropped from 60 mph to 25mph. The first time the dealership stated the vehicles computer had 5 error messages & just needed to be reset. The second time occurred a couple of months later. I addressed the manufacturer & dealership manager...they said nothing could be done. They reset the computer again, after the 3rd incident almost caused me to have an accident the dealership provided me a rental & thoroughly inspected the vehicle to diagnose the issues. The vehicle was also making a grinding noise between 20-30mph between 2nd & 3rd gear. The vehicle has only been serviced by an authorized GM dealership since I purchased it. This time the service manager said the catalytic converter was the main culprit, however the vehicle was almost entirely void of oil....this was in between the manufacturer recommended oil change interval- apprx had driven in 4700 miles the grinding noise was said to be due to lack of oil but no oil leak was detected. I researched this issue in several auto forums & discovered that the high output 3.6 liter V6 engines had a known problem for burning oil & causing the engine to wear & breakdown prematurely. Dealer advised me that I would need to take the vehicle in every 1000 miles to check how quickly the oil was burning in between oil changes. They confirmed that if indeed it was burning oil they would replace the engine under warranty. I believe this to be very dangerous, loss of power at highway speeds multiple times is very alarming & was not taken seriously by GM customer support - dealership service advisor was more helpful than the manager.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #16

Feb 032014

Camaro 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
A electrical fuse short has caused the passenger airbag to no longer activate/ turn on when a passenger is in the front seat. Thus, when a passenger is in the seat, the air bag will not deploy. Both the fuse and the module are required to be replaced. No damage or change was done to the vehicle to cause the shortage in the electrical system.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #15

Jul 012013

Camaro 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Vehicle displays a "service airbag" light and message in the message display. I was told that this will lead to a non-deployable airbag in case of an accident. Several people have the same problem. I was told that the sensor is defective.

- Horizon City, TX, USA

problem #14

Oct 092013

Camaro 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
Passenger air bag sensor did not detect a passenger in the seat, had to pay $$ to have this replaced. On star red light was also on then green on & off. On star said it a communication failed & with the accident notification. The car was checked at dealership same time the air bag sensor was checked. Then checked 2 more times since. The dealership could not find the problem & told us they would have to take dash & console out to find problem at our expense & our expense for a diagnostic again. We now have the car at a different GM dealership that has a testing instrument for the antenna and. It charging us for the diagnostic. We bought this car off show room at dealership for our daughter to have a dependable safe car to get her through high school & college. No the extended warranty hasn't covered any of this.

- Rush Springs, OK, USA

problem #13

Jan 112011

Camaro 8-cyl

  • 14,265 miles
I reached out to [xxx], GM CEO on May 24, 2013 with a strong concerns of power failure for the 2nd time while driving the vehicle; causing me not to have control while the vehicle was driven. Thus it was also noted that I originally reached out to GM to request a replaced vehicle while my vehicle was under warranty due to the vehicle losing power on a major freeway; which was life threatening; however the response back from GM was a declined letter that I received ensuring me that the vehicle was safe to drive. I travel major freeways as part of career so having a reliable vehicle is imperative as for I value my life. [xxx], senior vice president of global quality & customer experience has not returned my calls and now GM is also not honoring the warranty too. After assisting me with my car for 5 months.please not my 2010 Camaro ss is park as for it's not safe to drive. ( GM offer me a contract to sign that would guarantee "no fault to GM ". I couldn't not due them should my Camaro harm myself or others while driving it. Additionally, I was told that GM knows there is a problem with the Camaro but can't find the problem. It's has been noted that the corrections that I need to have made in order to be safe in the GM vehicle cannot be obtained as for my vehicle has been keep Chevy for shop 5 months. I just recently pick up my vehicle on September 6 and now I┐┐M returning the vehicle again on September 9th for continuing repairs with regards to brakes that were just replaced. 1. acceleration pedal getting struck 2. electrical failure( while driving the vehicle ) losing power 3. seat belt 4. getting stuck in gears I hope you can squeeze me in to take my case [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Marysville, CA, USA

problem #12

Jan 112011

Camaro

  • 14,265 miles
I reached out to [xxx], GM CEO on May 24, 2013 with a strong concerns of power failure for the 2nd time while driving the vehicle; causing me not to have control while the vehicle was driven. Thus it was also noted that I originally reached out to GM to request a replaced vehicle while my vehicle was under warranty due to the vehicle losing power on a major freeway; which was life threatening; however the response back from GM was a declined letter that I received ensuring me that the vehicle was safe to drive. I travel major freeways as part of career so having a reliable vehicle is imperative as for I value my life. [xxx], senior vice president of global quality & customer experience is not honoring the warranty too. After assisting me with my car for 5 months.please not my 2010 Camaro ss is park as for it's not safe to drive. ( GM offer me a contract to sign that would guarantee "no fault to GM ". I couldn't not due them should my Camaro harm myself or others while driving it. I was told that GM knows there is a problem with the Camaro but can't find the problem. It's has been noted that the corrections that I need to have made in order to be safe in the GM vehicle cannot be obtained as for my vehicle has been keep Chevy for shop 5 months. I just recently pick up my vehicle on September 6 and now I'm returning the vehicle again on September 9th. 1. acceleration pedal getting struck 2. electrical failure( while driving the vehicle ) losing power 3. seat belt 4. getting stuck in gears I hope you can squeeze me in to take my case [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Marysville, CA, USA

problem #11

Jan 192012

Camaro 6-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
Engine check light came on, and car started running badly and shaking. This also happened in March 2013, July 2013, and September 2013. Everytime, the ECM went bad.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #10

Mar 272012

Camaro 8-cyl

  • 5,500 miles
I purchased my 2010 Chevy Camaro 2ss, in February of 2012. It had 4,400 miles on it. About a month or two, after I bought it, it completely shut off on me, on a major highway, while doing 65 mph. I threw it into neutral and turned the key and it started right back up. About a month after that, I was doing about 20mph on a back road and it did the same exact thing. Just recently, about 2 weeks ago, I was in 6th gear, on cruise doing 60mph and I felt the car "jerk" or buck" a little bit. Followed immediately by the car decelerating. I down-shifted to 4th gear and was giving it gas, but still wouldn't speed up. It fell down to about 40mph, before finally catching itself and speeding back up. About a mile later, I got off my exit and was coming down to the stop sign, when all the indicator lights came on for about 10 seconds. They went off and I made a left hand turn and went about a mile up the road. At that point, the car completely shut off doing about 35mph. There was heavy traffic, so I pulled over and started it back up. I called the Chevy dealership, where I bought it from, and they had no openings for a week. So I took it last week to get it checked and they found nothing that could have caused it, they say. I am very upset, but very thankful that my two children were not with me when it happened. I am currently contemplating trading it in, cuz I am worried that if it happens again, and my children are in the car, that it might shut off in very congested bumper to bumper traffic, on the highway at night, and a tractor trailer is behind me and I can't get it started or someone doesn't see me cuz my lights would be off. The thought of that completely scares me.

- Nanticoke, PA, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?