Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,869 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Camaro engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Camaro:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Camaro Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #35

Nov 222016

Camaro

  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine light illuminated with P0008 obd-II trouble code: Engine positions system performance bank 1. twice was told by dealership it was an oil issue even though no oil change alerts came on and check engine light kept coming back after service (occasionally intermittent). Mpg was negatively impacted during regular operation and occasional rough idling at stoplights. At 77,000 miles (and just past the 7 years covered by extended warranty), was finally told this was a timing chain issue and $1,700 to fix (of course not covered). Research on stretched timing chain from P0008 error for Camaros indicated many others with issue and extended warranty up to 10 years/120,000 miles issued by GM for other vehicle models using same engine. Bulletin/warranty should be extended to affected 2010 Camaros.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #34

Nov 212016

Camaro

  • 44,150 miles
Check engine light came on. Car was in motion. Took to dealer for diagnosis: Need to replace the timing chain on a car with 44000 miles on it. Car usually sits in winter. All maintenance has been performed by the dealer. Ordered the car and purchased it to keep it. Always hand washed. It is the V-6 engine and I understand that they will only repair this engine on Cadillac & some Saturn models. It is the same engine used in various vehicles. I feel that this is very premature. I have never had to replace a timing chain. I understand that the gears are plastic and the chain is metal. I do not feel that this should be a cost to me as this is designed to fail. Im sure I am not the only one this has happened to.

- Fraser, MI, USA

problem #33

Oct 272016

Camaro

  • 50,000 miles
Timing chain. Took car to dealership to diagnose check engine light. Revealed code P0008 which was later found to be an issue with a stretched timing chain. Vehicle had just over 50,000 miles and even the dealer admitted it should not have had this issue. After research, discovered that the same engine used in the 2010 llt Camaro was used in other GM vehicles---but those vehicles had power train warranties extended to 10 year/120,000 miles to help cover this potential issue. This was not done for the Camaro, so I was forced to pay nearly $1400 to repair my car since the warranty had expired. Why was the warranty not extended on the Camaro which uses the same engine as those other GM vehicles??

- Ralston, NE, USA

problem #32

Sep 272016

Camaro

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Having the error code P0008 show up on my Camaro 2010 at 100,000 miles seams to be a stretched timing chain. Loss of power high gas.

- Fairborn, OH, USA

problem #31

Aug 072015

Camaro

  • 55,000 miles
The check engine light illuminated. Read the code and it comes up P008. This code is for the timing chain. In doing research on this issue there seems to be numerous complaints regarding this problem. Found out that GM has extended the warranty for this engine issue where it is used in other GM vehicles but not for the Camaro. I don't understand why the Camaro isn't included when it has the same engine as the other GM vehicles. These other vehicle warranties are extended under customer satisfaction program 10287. The cel would come on and then go off over the course of a couple weeks. Finally it just stayed on.

- Nesconset, NY, USA

problem #30

Jul 112016

Camaro

  • 52,724 miles
Check engine light code P0008 & P0017. Dealer diagnosed needs timing chains on 3.6 V6. Milage 52,724 cost approx $3,000. Not covered under warranty. Other GM models with 3.6 V6 engines covered 10 years 120,000 miles under customer satisfaction program 10287. Camaro not included. Needs to be included in recall.

- Brick, NJ, USA

problem #29

Aug 022016

Camaro

  • 58,778 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have 2010 rs V.6 Camaro, with problem P0008 bank 1 engine, needs timing chain, miles 58778 on 8-2-16. I seen many complaints of same issue. Engine light was on, pulled code. P0008

- Grove City, OH, USA

problem #28

Jul 202016

Camaro 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro. While accelerating at low speeds, the vehicle barely accelerated and the check engine light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the metal timing chain damaged the plastic timing gears. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 76,000. Updated 09/27/16 updated 10/05/16.

- Daleville, AL, USA

problem #27

Jul 112016

Camaro

  • miles
Engine check light came on and I took the car to pine belt Chevy in lakewood, NJ. Engine code P0008 & P0017 for camshaft position correlation on 3.6 V6 engine. Vehicle diagnosed as needing timing chains. Car only has 52,721 miles on it. Estimated cost to repair $3,000. Research indicates that GM has a recall on many different makes and models for timing chain failure with the 3.6 V 6 engine with the same timing chain part numbers. GM has extended the warranty to 10 years and 120,000 miles on the affected makes and models on all vehicles except the Camaro. GM bulliten 10287. GM needs to step up and include the Camaro to its timing chain recall.

- Brick, NJ, USA

problem #26

Jun 162016

Camaro

  • 100,000 miles
My light engine came on at around 100,000 miles, so I figured it was because I needed to have my 100,000 mile maintenance work done, which was a regular tune up, which included, change of spark plugs, and change of engine oil, transmission and differential oil change, which I did by taking it to the dealer I purchased the car from new in 2010. When I took the car in it was working fine with no problems and was running very smooth but after they completed the work and $560 dollars later the care came out with very bad idling and missing a lot and losing power! I took the car back and they told me it was because the timing chain was bad and needed to be replaced! I don't agree with their diagnostic and feel they are doing something wrong and are trying to cover it up, so I started to research the matter to find out that there are a lot of other Camaro owners having the same issue! someone needs to do something about this matter I don't think an engine's chain should go bad at 100,000 miles! the dealer wants me to pay $1600 to have it replaced, which I think its outrageous considering there are a lot of problems that have been reported on the same issue! I believe it is dangerous driving a vehicle with a faulty timing chain for it loses power when you are trying to accelerate when crossing intersections or switching lanes!!!

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #25

Apr 112016

Camaro

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro. The contact stated that the engine light was constantly illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the timing chain needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not covered under warranty. The failure mileage was 89,000.

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #24

Aug 142014

Camaro

  • 80 miles
I have three issues for my Camaro 2010. First and most important is the the timing chain, the chain moved and activated the cam sensors. The cost to change it is princely. Second, the air bag light on the passenger is on. Took it to the dealer and paid and still they couldn't find the issue so they wanted more money. Third, three of the tire sensors when on and dealer wants more money. The car runs with poor performance so I stop using it.

- Lake Elsinore, CA, USA

problem #23

Mar 222016

Camaro

  • miles
After putting gas in my car 1 mile down the road my engine started to knock I took it to the mechanic he said engine was bad I called GM for help I was under the hundred thousand mile warranty but the year of my car was out of warranty by 8 year GM told me take it to a dealer and they would pay to have it looked at their dealers said it needs a timing chain I had timing chain replaced once already on it at 51000 miles and now at 96,000 miles it went again I made appointment for following week to get it fixed they told me I could drive it but too baby it the day before I was supposed to get it fixed the engine locked up on me and was stranded with no cell service with my daughter not to mention it was snowing out after looking into it I found out these engines are known for burning oil like a couple quarts or 3 between oil changes these engines are in the Cadillac cts and a bunch others and are known for weak timing chain GM extended the warranty on those tires for 120000 miles 10 years but they refused to do that for the Camaro which has the same engine if they did not tell people to change oil at 15000 miles or 10000 miles this problem would never happen also there is no oil low oil light so when you go by what your car tells you to you will lose your timing chain this is GM's fault they have you go too far in between to change your oil and these engines burn oil bad and GM has known for years if you go on Camaro forums that's all you hear about with the 2010 Camaros and Cadillac cts and acadia rayburn oil bad after von holzen ashland Wisconsin told me GM would not help they offered me $1,000 for a new car that is a slap in the face how disrespectful can you be it seems like GM only wanted to get me in the doors of their dealerships so I would buy a new car because they knew my car was already out of warranty so I offer to hv it looked at if you're not going to help.

- Hurley, WI, USA

problem #22

Mar 242016

Camaro

  • 111,750 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro. The contact stated that the check engine warning indicator illuminated every time the vehicle was started. The contact drove the vehicle to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the timing chain was stretched and needed replacement. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 111,750.....updated 04/25/16

- Enfield, CT, USA

problem #21

Mar 242016

Camaro

  • 111,545 miles
2010 Camaro 3.6L V6 cel P0008 callout stretched timing chain. Common issue with the GM 3.6 L engine. GM issue a extended warranty for this issue bulletin no. 11340A csc-10043857-8394. Extended warranty 10yrs. Or 120K what ever comes first. Provides owners additional protection for the timing chain. GMC acadia, Saturn outlook 2007-2009, Cadillac cts, srx, sts ;2009 model year Buick enclave, Chevy traverse, what they all have in common is they all use the same part number timing chain as the 2010 Camaro. The above mentioned vehicles get the timing chain replaced at no charge but Camaro owners have to cover the cost of over $2K. The Camaro's need to be added to the GM extended warranty so the timing chain replacement can be cover. Makes no sense to cover 98% of the cars that use that timing chain part number and not the last 2%. pn. Engine timing chain kit acdelco GM original equipment 12651450

- Enfield, CT, USA

problem #20

Dec 172015

Camaro

  • 105,000 miles
Reduced engine power message

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #19

Mar 202015

Camaro

  • 78,000 miles
The heater core in the Camaro has become faulty. It is leaking coolant onto the passenger floor area and also producing strong fumes within the cabin. It also makes visibility very difficult as the windows fog up and the defroster no longer works properly/

- Somerville, TN, USA

problem #18

Oct 052015

Camaro

  • 75,000 miles
One evening I got in my car and turned the heater on. Immediately, my windshield fogged up and the air coming out of the vents had a very strong odor, which smelt like coolant. For the entire drive (20 min) I could not get the windshield to defog. The next day, I drove my car and it was running extremely hot (about 220-250F). When I parked, I noticed that my car was leaking coolant. I tried to locate the source of the leak, but it was leaking from the middle of the car- about where the radio is. Not being able to locate the leak, I filled up the radiator with water to get me home without over heating. When I got home I found a large puddle of coolant where my car was parked overnight. After doing some research, I found many other Camaro owners who had foggy windshields, coolant smell in HVAC system, and leaking coolant. They said these were the signs that the heater core "went out." I then went to look near my heater core, and sure enough, I had coolant on my passengers floor board and found drips of coolant below the heater core. Many of the Camaro owners have shared their experience with having this problem repaired and it sounds like the front seats, windshield, and dash have to be removed to replace the heater core. This is on average about a $2000 repair at a dealership. With how many cases there seems to be just from a quick search online, this should be issued a recall! this is also a safety concern- hot coolant could have dripped on my passenger's feet and burnt them.

- Pomona, CA, USA

problem #17

Sep 052015

Camaro

  • 38,300 miles
The water pump on my 2010 Chevrolet Camaro rs failed while driving.vehicle only has 38,300 miles on it. Since 1962, I have owned 20 GM vehicles, but never had a 'water pump' failure on any except this car. I did notice many other Chevrolet cars (Impala) with same 3.6 V6 engine hah had water pump failures.

- Strongsville, OH, USA

problem #16

Jan 122015

Camaro

  • 119,433 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro. While driving at 30 mph, the engine warning light would illuminate on and off. The contact stated that the failure occurred in January of 2015. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The dealer diagnosed that the timing chain needed to be replaced. The VIN was not included in a recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 119,433. Updated 09/10/15

- Mount Enterprise, TX, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?