Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,133 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Camaro engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Camaro:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Camaro Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Sep 272016


  • 100,000 miles


Having the error code P0008 show up on my Camaro 2010 at 100,000 miles seams to be a stretched timing chain. Loss of power high gas.

- Fairborn, OH, USA

problem #31

Aug 072015


  • 55,000 miles
The check engine light illuminated. Read the code and it comes up P008. This code is for the timing chain. In doing research on this issue there seems to be numerous complaints regarding this problem. Found out that GM has extended the warranty for this engine issue where it is used in other GM vehicles but not for the Camaro. I don't understand why the Camaro isn't included when it has the same engine as the other GM vehicles. These other vehicle warranties are extended under customer satisfaction program 10287. The cel would come on and then go off over the course of a couple weeks. Finally it just stayed on.

- Nesconset, NY, USA

problem #30

Jul 112016


  • 52,724 miles
Check engine light code P0008 & P0017. Dealer diagnosed needs timing chains on 3.6 V6. Milage 52,724 cost approx $3,000. Not covered under warranty. Other GM models with 3.6 V6 engines covered 10 years 120,000 miles under customer satisfaction program 10287. Camaro not included. Needs to be included in recall.

- Brick, NJ, USA

problem #29

Aug 022016


  • 58,778 miles


I have 2010 rs V.6 Camaro, with problem P0008 bank 1 engine, needs timing chain, miles 58778 on 8-2-16. I seen many complaints of same issue. Engine light was on, pulled code. P0008

- Grove City, OH, USA

problem #28

Jul 202016

Camaro 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro. While accelerating at low speeds, the vehicle barely accelerated and the check engine light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the metal timing chain damaged the plastic timing gears. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 76,000. Updated 09/27/16 updated 10/05/16.

- Daleville, AL, USA

problem #27

Jul 112016


  • miles
Engine check light came on and I took the car to pine belt Chevy in lakewood, NJ. Engine code P0008 & P0017 for camshaft position correlation on 3.6 V6 engine. Vehicle diagnosed as needing timing chains. Car only has 52,721 miles on it. Estimated cost to repair $3,000. Research indicates that GM has a recall on many different makes and models for timing chain failure with the 3.6 V 6 engine with the same timing chain part numbers. GM has extended the warranty to 10 years and 120,000 miles on the affected makes and models on all vehicles except the Camaro. GM bulliten 10287. GM needs to step up and include the Camaro to its timing chain recall.

- Brick, NJ, USA

problem #26

Jun 162016


  • 100,000 miles


My light engine came on at around 100,000 miles, so I figured it was because I needed to have my 100,000 mile maintenance work done, which was a regular tune up, which included, change of spark plugs, and change of engine oil, transmission and differential oil change, which I did by taking it to the dealer I purchased the car from new in 2010. When I took the car in it was working fine with no problems and was running very smooth but after they completed the work and $560 dollars later the care came out with very bad idling and missing a lot and losing power! I took the car back and they told me it was because the timing chain was bad and needed to be replaced! I don't agree with their diagnostic and feel they are doing something wrong and are trying to cover it up, so I started to research the matter to find out that there are a lot of other Camaro owners having the same issue! someone needs to do something about this matter I don't think an engine's chain should go bad at 100,000 miles! the dealer wants me to pay $1600 to have it replaced, which I think its outrageous considering there are a lot of problems that have been reported on the same issue! I believe it is dangerous driving a vehicle with a faulty timing chain for it loses power when you are trying to accelerate when crossing intersections or switching lanes!!!

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #25

Apr 112016


  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro. The contact stated that the engine light was constantly illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the timing chain needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not covered under warranty. The failure mileage was 89,000.

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #24

Aug 142014


  • 80 miles
I have three issues for my Camaro 2010. First and most important is the the timing chain, the chain moved and activated the cam sensors. The cost to change it is princely. Second, the air bag light on the passenger is on. Took it to the dealer and paid and still they couldn't find the issue so they wanted more money. Third, three of the tire sensors when on and dealer wants more money. The car runs with poor performance so I stop using it.

- Lake Elsinore, CA, USA

problem #23

Mar 222016


  • miles
After putting gas in my car 1 mile down the road my engine started to knock I took it to the mechanic he said engine was bad I called GM for help I was under the hundred thousand mile warranty but the year of my car was out of warranty by 8 year GM told me take it to a dealer and they would pay to have it looked at their dealers said it needs a timing chain I had timing chain replaced once already on it at 51000 miles and now at 96,000 miles it went again I made appointment for following week to get it fixed they told me I could drive it but too baby it the day before I was supposed to get it fixed the engine locked up on me and was stranded with no cell service with my daughter not to mention it was snowing out after looking into it I found out these engines are known for burning oil like a couple quarts or 3 between oil changes these engines are in the Cadillac cts and a bunch others and are known for weak timing chain GM extended the warranty on those tires for 120000 miles 10 years but they refused to do that for the Camaro which has the same engine if they did not tell people to change oil at 15000 miles or 10000 miles this problem would never happen also there is no oil low oil light so when you go by what your car tells you to you will lose your timing chain this is GM's fault they have you go too far in between to change your oil and these engines burn oil bad and GM has known for years if you go on Camaro forums that's all you hear about with the 2010 Camaros and Cadillac cts and acadia rayburn oil bad after von holzen ashland Wisconsin told me GM would not help they offered me $1,000 for a new car that is a slap in the face how disrespectful can you be it seems like GM only wanted to get me in the doors of their dealerships so I would buy a new car because they knew my car was already out of warranty so I offer to hv it looked at if you're not going to help.

- Hurley, WI, USA

problem #22

Mar 242016


  • 111,750 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro. The contact stated that the check engine warning indicator illuminated every time the vehicle was started. The contact drove the vehicle to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the timing chain was stretched and needed replacement. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 111,750.....updated 04/25/16

- Enfield, CT, USA

problem #21

Mar 242016


  • 111,545 miles
2010 Camaro 3.6L V6 cel P0008 callout stretched timing chain. Common issue with the GM 3.6 L engine. GM issue a extended warranty for this issue bulletin no. 11340A csc-10043857-8394. Extended warranty 10yrs. Or 120K what ever comes first. Provides owners additional protection for the timing chain. GMC acadia, Saturn outlook 2007-2009, Cadillac cts, srx, sts ;2009 model year Buick enclave, Chevy traverse, what they all have in common is they all use the same part number timing chain as the 2010 Camaro. The above mentioned vehicles get the timing chain replaced at no charge but Camaro owners have to cover the cost of over $2K. The Camaro's need to be added to the GM extended warranty so the timing chain replacement can be cover. Makes no sense to cover 98% of the cars that use that timing chain part number and not the last 2%. pn. Engine timing chain kit acdelco GM original equipment 12651450

- Enfield, CT, USA

problem #20

Dec 172015


  • 105,000 miles
Reduced engine power message

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #19

Mar 202015


  • 78,000 miles
The heater core in the Camaro has become faulty. It is leaking coolant onto the passenger floor area and also producing strong fumes within the cabin. It also makes visibility very difficult as the windows fog up and the defroster no longer works properly/

- Somerville, TN, USA

problem #18

Oct 052015


  • 75,000 miles
One evening I got in my car and turned the heater on. Immediately, my windshield fogged up and the air coming out of the vents had a very strong odor, which smelt like coolant. For the entire drive (20 min) I could not get the windshield to defog. The next day, I drove my car and it was running extremely hot (about 220-250F). When I parked, I noticed that my car was leaking coolant. I tried to locate the source of the leak, but it was leaking from the middle of the car- about where the radio is. Not being able to locate the leak, I filled up the radiator with water to get me home without over heating. When I got home I found a large puddle of coolant where my car was parked overnight. After doing some research, I found many other Camaro owners who had foggy windshields, coolant smell in HVAC system, and leaking coolant. They said these were the signs that the heater core "went out." I then went to look near my heater core, and sure enough, I had coolant on my passengers floor board and found drips of coolant below the heater core. Many of the Camaro owners have shared their experience with having this problem repaired and it sounds like the front seats, windshield, and dash have to be removed to replace the heater core. This is on average about a $2000 repair at a dealership. With how many cases there seems to be just from a quick search online, this should be issued a recall! this is also a safety concern- hot coolant could have dripped on my passenger's feet and burnt them.

- Pomona, CA, USA

problem #17

Sep 052015


  • 38,300 miles
The water pump on my 2010 Chevrolet Camaro rs failed while driving.vehicle only has 38,300 miles on it. Since 1962, I have owned 20 GM vehicles, but never had a 'water pump' failure on any except this car. I did notice many other Chevrolet cars (Impala) with same 3.6 V6 engine hah had water pump failures.

- Strongsville, OH, USA

problem #16

Jan 122015


  • 119,433 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro. While driving at 30 mph, the engine warning light would illuminate on and off. The contact stated that the failure occurred in January of 2015. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The dealer diagnosed that the timing chain needed to be replaced. The VIN was not included in a recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 119,433. Updated 09/10/15

- Mount Enterprise, TX, USA

problem #15

Jul 142014


  • 50,000 miles
The check engine light was intermittent. I have onstar. Onstar said it was a camshaft positioning sensor. I waited and the light was still off a long time, but came on and onstar said it was camshaft sensor again and another code P008. I finally went to the dealer and they said it was a bad timing belt and that my warranty was now up. They would not help, I called GM and they denied a problem with the engines. But offered a 20 % discount if I used a Chevy dealer. I have seen many articles online about bad timing chains in the V6 engines. I don't think I should pay for a known defect. I bought the car new in 2009. Thank you

- Oswego, IL, USA

problem #14

Jan 012015


  • 110,000 miles
The vehicle displayed a trouble code on the dash. I took it in to get a reading for the code and it appears to be a P0008 error code. After searching, it seems this code is relating to the timing chains within the engine becoming stretched. It also seems that a lot of owners are seeing this error with their own vehicles and dealer is charging anywhere from 2 to 3K to get the issue resolved. To quote another complaint that I saw regarding the same issue: " when is GM going to address the problem of the timing chains on the Camaro as it has the other models that have the same problem. It is ridiculous for GM to expect the buyer to come out of pocket for a problem that is a known manufacturer problem and not caused due to anything done by the buyer. "

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #13

Apr 122014

Camaro 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,552 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle's speed decreased independently and the engine power reduce and service engine warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine codes needed to be reset. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle stalled and was restarted however, the failure recurred multiple times as the engine power reduced and service engine warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuel rail pressure sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 24,552. Updated 7/13/15 the consumer stated the vehicle had numerous wiring issues. The fuel rail sensor failed twice and the wiring harness sensor casued the engine control module to fail. Updated 02/09/16

- Cedar Hill, MO, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?