Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,980 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet HHR brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet HHR Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Jun 022014


  • miles


2006 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall and power steering and other vehicle problems. The consumer stated two days after getting the vehicle back from the dealer, the vehicle had to be flat-bedded back to the dealer, because it wouldn't start. It was determined the ignition switch needed to be replaced. Also, the right passenger outside mirror fell off, the right passenger wiper arm broke, the rotors were replaced twice in two years, and the rear shocks were replaced.

- Kirkville, NY, USA

problem #25

Feb 062014


  • 180,000 miles
Fuel leak in front of drivers side rear wheel. This is completely unacceptable in an 8 year old vehicle. The fuel line corroded and leaked heavily, cost me $254.22 to replace this faulty gas line. I am obviously not the only person this has happened to. I have also had all the other typical problems such as the key will not release from ignition, bad rotors, loose front end bushings and excessive front end vibration over typical street cracks. Broken drivers side interior door handle, cracked windshield...... updated 10/22/2014

- Woonsocket, RI, USA

problem #24

Mar 102012


  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph and lightly depressing the brakes, the brakes did not respond. The vehicle would not stop and the contact steered the vehicle onto grass and continued to depress the brakes, but to no avail. The vehicle did not come to a stop until crashing into a tree. The contact sustained a fractured ankle and the vehicle was destroyed. The failure and the current mileages were 44,000.

- Seminole, FL, USA

problem #23

Apr 272006


  • 6,000 miles


I bought my HHR in April 1006. The car had approximately 5,000 miles when I purchased the vehicle. That fall, in September 2006, the brakes began to shudder every time I applied them. I took the vehicle to my mechanic and he said the rotors needed to be ground and turned. He did this and the vehicle was fine until the next summer (2007) when it began to shudder again. I took the vehicle in and had the brakes checked. This time I had to have both the pads and the rotors replaced. In fall 2008, he vehicle began to shudder again. I took the car in and the rotors one again needed to be ground and turned and one shock was leaking. I stopped driving the car every day and alternately drove my pickup and the brakes lasted beyond the one year mark. However, in 2010, the brakes began to shudder again and I had to take the car in and have the rotors ground and turned again. It is now March 2012 and he brakes are bad again. I do not drive the car in the summer because the warm weather seems to make the problem worse. Also, because of the brake issue, I have had to put two new sets of tires on the vehicle due to abnormal wear. I would like to add that I do not speed and do not brake quickly or ride the brakes.

- Horseshoe Bend, ID, USA

problem #22

Mar 012007


  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact was exciting the vehicle when the interior driver's side door handle detached. The contact also stated that on a separate occasion while driving 40 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated. In addition, the front end of the vehicle would shake abnormally when the brakes were depressed. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic who confirmed that inside door assembly failed and needed to be replaced along with both side front rotors. The manufacturer was contacted and confirmed to the contact that the VIN did not qualify for repairs under NHTSA campaign id number: 08V046000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 46,000 and the current mileage was 89,000.

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #21

Dec 062011


  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the brakes was depressed and the pedal went to the floorboard abnormally. The failure caused the driver to crash into another vehicle from the rear. The contact stated that the air bags did not deploy and the driver was injured. The vehicle was towed to a repair shop and deemed as destroyed. The police stated that the air bags should have deployed and the insurance company planned to inspect the vehicle. The failure and the current mileage was 106,000.

- Lebanon, TN, USA

problem #20

Nov 182011

HHR 4-cyl

  • 82,000 miles


Brake pedal assembly: At the upper brake pedal, at the cross tube there was a defective weld, only welded on one side and the weld did not adhere to cross bar. The weld did not penetrate metal, causing the pedal to slide to the left.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #19

Aug 102011


  • miles
I am scared, for my family's safety fear that this vehicle will stall and we will crash or be hit by some one...when a vehicle stalls you loose all power...that is power steering, brakes.....the ability to maintain control of your vehicle I am attaching a link that GM should review.....danger this vehicle is an accident waiting to happen !!!!!!!!!!!!! copy this link to your web browser http-// if you would prefer I can send a typed transcript (word for word) of this news broadcast? I will not allow my wife and kids life to be put in danger, by letting them ride in this vehicle this vehicle is unsafe and should be recalled the link I am attaching shows a news broadcast in raleigh nc. On channel 11 news !!!!! involving number 12 issue on my long list below with the Chevy HHR stalling while driving..... I purchased a 2006 Chevy HHR lt, in 2007. Since I have purchased this vehicle the following issues have occurred. Mileage on car 33,346 1) the key locked up in ignition..9/06/07 2) shifter froze up and would not come out of park.. 9/06/07 3) headliner trim ? energy absorption capability 4) front end and whole car started to shake when applying brake..9/06/07 dealer turned rotors( but did not fix issue) 5) replaced driver side running board..9/06/07. 6) got in vehicle one morning tried to take kids to school, vehicle would not go over 15 mph, had towed back to lawson Chevrolet. Working on getting date/mileage..this issue occurred twice before.

- Cosby, TN, USA

problem #18

Oct 182010

HHR 4-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to a local mechanic because of a vibration and shaking that occurred whenever the brakes were applied. The mechanic turned the rotors and replaced the brake pads. The failure recurred within six months in addition to an abnormal grinding noise exhibited by the brakes. The vehicle was not inspected of further repaired. The failure mileage was 79,000 and the current mileage was 85,000. Updated 06/17/11 updated 06/21/11

- Maple Wood, MN, USA

problem #17

Jan 012011


  • 38,000 miles
2006 Chevrolet HHR. Consumer states several problems with vehicle the consumer stated his sons vehicle had a severe shimmy in the steering wheel and became progressively worse when the brake was applied. The pads and rotors were replaced twice and the third time the rotors were machined, but the problem continued. There was also a strange noise coming from the front suspension, but the dealer was unable to pinpoint the problem. At 42,000 miles the air condition made a loud screeching noise for 2 minutes, then stopped working. At 68,000 miles, a metal skid plate had fallen from underneath the vehicle. Soon after, the exhaust was very loud. The vehicle was taken to the repair shop and the consumer was informed the catalytic converter had cracked. The vehicle lost power and a cylinder had to be replaced, the check engine light would come on and then go off, the temperature gauge did not work, so the air condition only worked if the check engine light was off. The door locks did not work, the radio worked intermittently, the sun visor would fall down at random times. There were times when the vehicle would not start. The consumer stated even with an alignment, new struts, shocks and good tires, the vehicle continually pulled to the right.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #16

Jul 272010


  • 200 miles


I have a 2006 Chevy HHR lt with just 30K. Drove it off the lot with 3 miles and at 200 miles it had the rotors turned for the first of about 30 times. The steering wheel shudders when breaking or at speeds above 45 mph so much so that at times the car is hard to control. The answer to this very dangerous problem is..turn the rotors. "normal wear and tear" this is not acceptable to me anymore. My car has had issues with the shocks, the struts, the continued rotor problem, the steering wheel that shudders, and as of today, the power steering is going as well as the steering rack. The potential of me killing myself, my children, or the person next to me has become a reality. I have complained since practically driving it off the lot. GM just refuses to pay, or do anything about this. I have been in touch with the CEO of GM as well as the North America president mark reuss I have expressed my concerns with the safety of the HHR. And I have said that the answer is not to "just turn the rotors for the 35th time". there is something very wrong with this car, and it seems as though everyone that drives one has the same power steering, rotor, at the shudder of the steering wheel. I have plunked nearly 2K into a car that GM needs to be responsible for. An urgent recall needs to be issued or I see the potential of a Toyota problem on the horizon for GM and their Chevy HHR. I really believe it is going to take someone or maybe many to be injured or worse yet dead before GM will look into this further. The world headquarters told me yesterday that there are no other complaints like mine and I shouldn't believe what I read. They have closed my case and refuse to listen any longer. I know this is not my driving, I am not hard on the brakes, nor have I caused the rotors needing to be turned so many times on the lathe that they are like putting bicycle brakes on a freight train. Car is a bit too heavy to stop when you have rotors that are dangerously thin.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #15

Jan 112010


  • 75,084 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated upon initial start, the brake pedal would fall further into the floorboard than normal. When the failure would occur, the ABS and traction warning light would illuminate. The dealer advised the failure was attributable to the steering and replaced the steering column bearing. The failure persisted and the vehicle was taken to a second dealer where the front hub bearing assembly was replaced. The failure seemed to have been repaired however, the warning lights would continue to illuminate intermittently. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure mileage was 75,084 and the current mileage was 80,000.

- Fontana, CA, USA

problem #14

Apr 152007


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. While driving at 35 mph, the contact stated that the brakes would not engage, causing the steering wheel to shake when the brake pedal was depressed. The contact called the authorized dealership and was advised that they would repair the vehicle. The current mileage was approximately 67,000. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000.

- Woodland, MI, USA

problem #13

Sep 012009


  • 52,000 miles
I own a 2006 Chevy HHR LT2, it has approx. 52K miles, and a rattle, vibration in the steering column has been occurring at speeds below 45mph. Also, the driver side floor is continuing to flood with water, and the heater/ac blower has failed or shorted out. Lastly, I have had the brake rotors worked on 4 times by Chevy, and they are now once again in need of repair. I recently took my vehicle back to the dealer for the rattle in the steering and the water leak. I found numerous tsb articles for the issues, but the dealer and GM are claiming the tsbs do not exist. The repairs will total more than $1100. I was told the bushings, and tension rods are the problem with my steering, and they would need to be replaced. At 52K miles I find it hard to believe these items would fail.. my major concern is my safety related to the steering as well as any possible electrical issue stemming from the water leak.. I do not understand why GM has not issued a recall for the steering issue as well as for the brake rotors. If you go to any vehicle complaint web site for the HHR you will see 100's of postings related to bad brakes. There are also similar complaints pertaining to the steering. The dealership refused to honor or compromise with regards to performing the repairs for free or for a reduced fee. I contacted GM corporate and filed a complaint. I was told the GM district manager would contact me. I am still waiting.

- Hopewell, NJ, USA

problem #12

Aug 202009


  • 12,000 miles
My 2006 HHR vibrates violently when the brakes are applied. I've had this problem checked numerous times from approximately 12000 miles on. I am currently at 55000. After inspections I was advised nothing was wrong with my brakes. I was told the materials used for the brakes heats so rapidly that it could cause it. I questioned about the materials used and it was explained to me that it was to keep the weight low on the vehicle for gas mileage. Yesterday I was returning home from work which I have to travel a long grade. I shifted to a lower gear to reduce speed going down the grade, I pressed on the breaks and the vehicle shook so violently I ended up trying to use the emergency hand break in order to gain control of the vehicle. My speed was approximately 52 miles per hour. I have had numerous problems with this vehicle and have an extensive warranty repair record on it including a fire. I find this vehicle is extremely unsafe especially with the braking problems.

- Clarkston, WA, USA

problem #11

Jun 122009


  • 36,420 miles
2006 Chevy HHR lt 2.4 liter - rattle when going over bumps and vibration when braking. Just past 36000 mile warranty. Contacted Chevy customer service-requested taking vehicle to dealer. Dealer states problems with lower control arm, strut stabilizers, brake rotors. Dealer waiting on authorization from Chevy customer service. Chevy customer service says contact them if dealer won't complete repairs under warranty. At present vehicle is still at dealer and no one has contacted me with any type of resolution. Note - vehicle rides well and tires show no unusual or uneven wear.

- Groveport, OH, USA

problem #10

Feb 072009


  • 30,000 miles
2006 Chevy HHR. At 30,000 the front end shakes while braking. Replaced rotors and brake pads with new from national auto parts retailer. Shaking still occurs. Dangerous, affects steering and ability to stop. Rotors checked for trueness and they are perfect with no warpage. Dealership is no help. This is worse at speeds above 40 mph, cold or hot brakes.

- Bass Lake, CA, USA

problem #9

Feb 182008


  • miles
I bought my HHR exactly one year ago. This is my first car so I have no general knowledge about vehicles. I bought the vehicle used with 31,000 miles on it. It currently has 58,000 miles on it so I am not covered for a warranty. At first I noticed a vibrating when exiting a highway or decelerating with my brakes. The steering shook violently. Also when driving the steering wheel is hard to control and the car seems to veer severely to the right and with sheer force I have to use both hands to control it. Recently that has increased dramatically, even at speeds of 30mph. I took the car to get the brakes inspected and they told me the brakes needed to be replaced and the rotors were warped and needed to be replaced, not resurfaced which others have said that is unusual since the vehicle is still fairly new. The mechanic also told me that my front struts are leaking and need to be replaced. I have also noticed that when I am driving the car tends to shake/vibrate and make strange noises. The key gets stuck in the ignition upon turning the engine off. There are times I have had to restart my car up to 8 times just to get the key out of the ignition.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #8

Sep 262008


  • 14,300 miles
My brakes shimmied/ vibrated badly when my HHR had 14300 miles, ferris Chevrolet dealership turned, ground, the rotors to repair the problem on 07/30/07 at the same time the heater/ac fan switch was repaired on 9/28/08 with 28365 miles on my HHR the same problem was repaired at the dealership, the brakes should not shimmy and need repairing every 14000 miles, this need to be corrected with new improved rotors before their is a total brake failure we plan on keeping this car for a long time, who is going to pay to fix this!at the same time the heater/ac fan switch was repaired and the fan motor was replaced, we were told water leaks on the fan, we have had water leak thru the heater vents before.

- New Philadelphia, OH, USA

problem #7

Jun 052008


  • 8,900 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet HHR. While driving approximately 35 mph in rainy conditions, the steering wheel vibrated when the brake pedal was depressed. The vehicle also pulled excessively towards the left. The ABS was not operating normally and locked up. There were no warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The failure recurred on a separate occasion. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and they stated that the rotors overheated. The vehicle was repaired. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 8,900 and current mileage was 11,260.

- Box Elder, SD, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?