Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
94,111 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Maxx brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Malibu Maxx:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Malibu Maxx Owner Comments

problem #9

May 232012

Malibu Maxx

  • 151,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had problems with my power steering over the years. But this was the worst it has ever been. I was driving 55 mph on the highway. The roads were clear on this spring day. My traction control, brake light and check engine light came on. Then the power steering was chiming and the alert came on for that which effected my power steering. The instrument cluster was flashing on and off along with the gauges not working correctly. Then the instrument cluster went completely out. So the instrument cluster was replaced. A couple of weeks later, this all repeated again. So this time the ignition was replaced. After all that, the power steering still chimes and alerts still come on which makes it harder to steer. Then I have to stop the car, turn it off, wait and restart it. Then it is fine for a while. My mechanic says the only code that shows up is for the 14772 recall. But my car is not part of that recall since it was manufactured in January of 2006. Please do some research and expand the current recall to include all 2006-2007 Chevrolet Malibu and Malibu maxx vehicles. Repairs need to be done on these vehicles asap to any fatal or potential crashes.

- Trempealeau, WI, USA

problem #8

Jul 042015

Malibu Maxx

  • 173,000 miles
As I drove from racine, wi to milwaukee, wi. To visit family for the 4th of July weekend as I was to turn car off to park I wasnt able to press down on the breaks, couldnt go into park, gear shift was stuck couldnt move it in to park had to put on emergency break in order to keep car in park! it left me stranded was very upset & confused!!!

- Mt. Pleasant, WI, USA

problem #7

Jul 302014

Malibu Maxx 6-cyl

  • 147,000 miles
End of July 2014, early morning, while driving 70mph on the interstate with clear dry conditions, my brakes began to pulse on their own and the traction control light began lighting up in correspondence with the brake pulse.. the cruise control shut itself off. The check engine light and brake light came on remain on and cruise control no longer works. This continues to happen throughout the entirety of my 60mile one way daily drive. I was notified of recall13036 which includes all of these issues., I took the vehicle in for a scheduled service for this 12/12/14. After waiting more than 2 hours to get my vehicle back (without the recall work being done), I rescheduled for 12/16/14. After completing the recall work the vehicle was returned to me with all error codes cleared. Less than 3 miles down the road, all of the issues returned. No cruise control, pulsing brakes and T/C light, check engine light and brake light came on and remain on. I contacted the dealership and they told me that they simply added lubricant to connections and that all of these issues are not associated with the recall. I read the recall notice to them, it clearly states all of these issues are related to the recall. The dealership (pete harkness/morrison, il) recommends that I bring it back in again and pay $90 for a diagnostic check and then I will need to pay for any repairs needed.

- Franklin Grove, IL, USA

problem #6

Aug 182014

Malibu Maxx

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu maxx. The contact stated that she attempted to have her vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V224000 (power train) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Traverse City, MI, USA

problem #5

Aug 162014

Malibu Maxx 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
I have received two recall notices in the past two months, one for the electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control; and the other for the transmission shift cable, which may fracture at any time. Both notices informed me that the dealer would perform repairs at no cost, but that parts are not currently available. Am I to continue driving my defective car and hope that I won't get into an accident caused by the above problems? I am very low income and can't afford to rent a car.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #4

Jun 262014

Malibu Maxx 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
Cruise control stopped working, remote start stopped working, brake lights come on when pedal is not pressed and go off when pedal is pressed. Vehicle shows stopping when driving and driving when stopping. Will get rear-ended same thing happened 3 years ago. GM technical service bulletin #08-05-22-009C issued in 2008.

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #3

May 062009

Malibu Maxx 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 128,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Malibu maxx. The contact stated that the power steering warning light illuminated then the vehicle became difficult to steer. The contact also mentioned that the ignition warning light sporadically illuminated at various speeds and there was an abnormal metal odor in the cabin. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the steering column and rack and pinion was replaced. The contact was also informed that the rear brake calipers needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 128,000. Updated 7/7/14 updated 07/14/2014

- Gig Harbor, WA, USA

problem #2

Nov 142013

Malibu Maxx

  • 135,000 miles
Driving from school saw a car ahead person had turn signal on to go left. Took foot off gas went to brake and turn wheel could not do either. The car was totaled.

- West Chester, PA, USA

problem #1

Jun 102006

Malibu Maxx 6-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
We purchased our 2006 mailbu maxx in November 2005. Two months later there was a violent shake in the front end, the dealership turned the rotors because they were warped. Then we started having trouble with the electrical system right after the warranty ran out.the rear wiper comes on by itself, interior lights blow constantly as well as headlights. Door locks work when they want to. Keyless has not worked for three years even with new remote batteries. Since the car has had 40,000 miles on it the power steering has been acting up. My wife has hit our garbage cans and even my truck pulling into the driveway. We cant even trade this piece of crap in because everybody knows the problems with this car. Our Malibu has 78,000 miles on it and we have put 4 sets of brakes on the front with heavy duty rotors and three sets on the rear. GM is not concerned with the safety of their customers. This car is crap and they know it. We should at least get 200 percent over trade in value to purchase another vehicle. Like a rock....more like a turd!!!!!

- Ranson, WV, USA

Not what you are looking for?