Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
81,388 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Owner Comments

problem #10

Apr 062016

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 163,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo. While driving 60 mph, the temperature and fuel gauges displayed incorrect readings. In addition, the low coolant warning light illuminated even though there was coolant in the vehicle. The air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 163,000. Updated 09/20/16 the consumer stated if the vehicle sat for two days, the battery was drain and die. His mechanic stated it was due to an electrical problem. Also, the rear defroster did not work, the fan switch did not work right away, and the turn signal light did not work unless he tapped the dashboard, and the transmission shifted hard. Updated 10/13/16.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #9

Jul 162009

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Monte Carlo. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start unless the key was shaken in the ignition. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician diagnosed that the head gasket needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 110,597. Updated 9/11/14 the consumer stated the vehicle should be put on a recall list for faulty ignition. The vehicle should be added to all former recall list that exist or existed for the model. The consumer requested for the vehicle to be repaired and to be reimbursed for what has already been repaired. Updated 1/20/2015

- Lizmores, WV, USA

problem #8

Mar 162014

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 178,000 miles
Intermittent failure of the Chevrolet passlock system. The engine starts, but dies in one or two seconds and the "security" light begins flashing - or the engine may not start at all. If I wait 10 to 30 mintues after the first attempt, I can usually get the car restarted but if you do a search online for GM passlock, you'll find numerous websites reporting this issue and suggesting that it may eventually get so bad that the car will not start again. The General Motors passlock system is supposed to protect yoru car from theft by preventing the fuel system from engaging, however; this malfunction is happening to owners all across the United States of America.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #7

Dec 182013

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 195,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Upon attempting to start my car, the engine made a loud bang and saw some smoke coming out from the sides of the hood. I then noticed in the reflection of some water on the street and orange glow. I got out of the car, saw fire under the car, and called 911.

- Freehold, NJ, USA

problem #6

Sep 012004

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 29,214 miles
Second submit - 1st submit no response 10427931 6/2003 - fuel pump replaced. 9/2004 cool pressure test found inter gasket leaking - replaced upper & lower internal gaskets; low cool sensor replaced. 12/2004 - missing on incline and with cruise - nothing found. 11/2005 - missing on accel, using lots of gas - wanted to replace plugs, etc. 2/2006 - missing on incline and cruise - nothing found. 6/2008 - numerous issues - BCM replaced. 7/2008 - after BCM replaced, dash lights, cruise indicator, heat and A/C did not function properly - dealer stated there would be cost to fix items even though they worked prior to replacement of BCM. 9/29/2011 - learned about "special policy adjustment-catalytic converter #05551(9/14/2005)" although I was never advised by dealer and did not receive notification. Called dealer to ask if they would check under special policy - dealer said they could not because, although mileage is within special policy guidelines, the time expired 4/2011. I have copies of all service done on this vehicle. Can this special policy be honored since I was not notified of the policy by GM or the dealer? the car has always had a problem with missing and using lots of gasoline. Thank you for advocating for me.

- Hernshaw, WV, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #5

Sep 012004

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • 29,214 miles
6/2003 - fuel pump replaced. 9/2004 cool pressure test found inter gasket leaking - replaced upper & lower internal gaskets; low cool sensor replaced. 12/2004 - missing on incline and with cruise - nothing found. 11/2005 - missing on accel, using lots of gas - wanted to replace plugs, etc. 2/2006 - missing on incline and cruise - nothing found. 6/2008 - numerous issues - BCM replaced. 7/2008 - after BCM replaced, dash lights, cruise indicator, heat and A/C did not function properly - dealer stated there would be cost to fix items even though they worked prior to replacement of BCM. 9/29/2011 - learned about "special policy adjustment-catalytic converter #05551(9/14/2005)" although I was never advised by dealer and did not receive notification. Called dealer to ask if they would check under special policy - dealer said they could not because, although mileage is within special policy guidelines, the time expired 4/2011. I have copies of all service done on this vehicle. Can this special policy be honored since I was not notified of the policy by GM or the dealer? the car has always had a problem with missing and using lots of gasoline. Thank you for advocating for me.

- Hernshaw, WV, USA

problem #4

Sep 302010

Monte Carlo

  • 119,452 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Intake manifold explosion resulting in 2nd degree burns.

- Covington, TN, USA

problem #3

Jan 192008

Monte Carlo

  • miles
I was trying to start the car again, and the engine exploded in my face while I was standing over it.

- Thayer, MO, USA

problem #2

Jan 192008

Monte Carlo

  • 100,000 miles
Car would not start again, raised hood and proceeded to attach jump cables, and at the moment just before attachment, my daughter turns the key and wow, what an explosion! I was injured very bad the whole center of the motor was all over my driveway and I was thrown away from the car. Over 25,000 in medical bills and months of disability and still seeking medical attention to this day.

- Thayer, MO, USA

problem #1

May 122005

Monte Carlo 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Chevrolet Monte Carlo. The contact stated the vehicle would not start. The contact tried to start it three or four times when it exploded. This occurred in the engine compartment. The vehicle had to be towed to the dealership, who stated that the fuel system was putting too much power to the engine, and that caused the explosion. This happened in May 2005. The vehicle was towed to dealership about the beginning of October 2005. The vehicle was sluggish when started. When driving on the freeway the contact would have to pull over because it was not getting enough power to the vehicle. The debris from the explosion hit the top of the hood. The contact does still have parts from the vehicle. Chevrolet stated that because the vehicle was not under warranty or recall they could not assist the contact.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?