Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
93,932 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Owner Comments

problem #5

Sep 202011

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 176,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact stated that he heard a rattling from under the vehicle. He then inspected the vehicle and realized that the spare tire had separated from the vehicle without him noticing. The contact also mentioned that the cable was corroded. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer and the manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 176,000...updated 10/21/11 updated 10/26/11

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #4

Nov 182004

Silverado 1500

  • 198,412 miles
The engine keep crashing down, the indicator say low engine pressure, check engine pressure, then the hole truck will shut down in the middle of producing. This happen three time already. Im on the highway driving 80mil and the truck will shut down, cant move the wheel, cant change lines, cant restart the truck or anything. This has almost coast me life three time. What kind of safety shut down is that. I think it is very unsafe and needs to change or fix. I spent over $2,500 on my truck thinking the problem is fix, but it keep recurring. The Chevy engineers guys just say that the prob cant be fix and my best bet is to get a new truck, or engine. I don't have money for that.

- Tula, OK, USA

problem #3

May 012005

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
2 mo. After inspection of 2002 silverdo truck(2-05) brakes started to make a grinding noise. Excessive build-up of rust on rotors-checked brake shoes and all were in good shape-contacted dealer and was told to have rotors turned down at my expense even after buying extended warrenty. My father just had his brakes repaired 2 mo. Ago for the same problem on a 2001 silverdo truck and a 2 people I work with had the same problems

- Butler, PA, USA

problem #2

Feb 152003

Silverado 1500

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles
Many of the problems took several times in the shop to fix. The castrophic failures in the engine & transmission have never been fixed. The truck has lunging, dead spots & surges & the transmission clunks (shifts hard, jerky) the auto may or may not accelerate on demand & will later accelerate when you need to apply the brakes.

- Ridgecrest, CA, USA

problem #1

Aug 222002

Silverado 1500 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,247 miles
2002 Silverado 1500 2wd reg cab, purchased on 11-21-01. Vehicle was repaired at 2 dealerships. Mechanics can only resolve problem for a short period. Seems like a recall is needed. Repaired on 8-22-02 towing required replaced distributor cap & rotor installed insulation on A/C line (leaking water into distributor cap) repaired 10-29-02 towing required leaking water in distributing housing replaced distributor housing cap and rotor reinsulate A/C suction line repaired 10-3-03 towing required leaking water in distrubutor cap. Replaced cap and rotor repaired 12-30-03 towing required replaced corroded cap and rotor due to moisture. 1-28-04 towing required waiting for the finding of the repairs anticipating same results.

- Galliano, LA, USA

Not what you are looking for?