Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,002 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #38

Jan 042014

Silverado 1500

  • 97,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated at any speed the steering wheel made a loud popping, vibration and clicking noise while driving the vehicle. The failure occurred while driving in reverse or when the contact made a left or right turn. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who diagnosed that the intermediate shaft needed to be replaced. The vehicle was going to be repaired by an authorized dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 97000.

- Commerce City, CO, USA

problem #37

Jul 292013

Silverado 1500

  • miles
I have a 2002 Chevy Silverado 1500 truck, and had a new set of tires (oem size), a new Napa hub bearing assembly and a new Napa inner tie rod. This work was professionally installed by a certified ase mechanic at a local repair shop on July 3, 2013. The tie rod failed on July 29, 2013. The hub bearing and the inner tie rod were replaced due to normal wear. Thankfully - this happened while I was backing out of my driveway and not last weekend doing 70 mph on the highway with my family in my truck. Failure of this part on the highway could have cost me my life, my family's lives and the lives of everyone else in my unintended path. Vehicle was "repaired" by the local shop in the driveway and they showed up with a replacement Napa inner tie rod. I see on the box that this part is manufactured in china. I did not want that part on my vehicle and told them they could install it for a one-time trip to the shop but then I want it changed to another brand. They obliged and found another manufacturer. The Napa part is ES3478 - inner tie rod.

- Belle Chasse, LA, USA

problem #36

Dec 072012

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • 82,457 miles
Took truck in for state inspection, truck failed inspection due to rusted brake lines, power steering pump leaking, dealer said it would be $1228.43 to $1420.99 to just fixed the brake lines all lines needed replaced and calipers screws. Power steering pump cost $535 to replace. Poor quality, high cost to fix and lack of safety on GM part for not covering rubber coating or using stainless steel lines to protect our family very discouraged with service tech said these are the prices. What happened to our safety. Brake lines and gas lines should not be made of steel that can corrode and rust out and break. Power steering pump with these few miles should not have gone out. My 1988 Chevy truck never had these problems. There needs to be a recall.

- Rollinsford, NH, USA

problem #35

Mar 052012

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • 111,230 miles


Steering shaft makes noises on turns and bumpy roads.

- Powhatan, VA, USA

problem #34

Feb 012011

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
When I turn or hit a bump it makes a clunk, and you can hear it and feel it through the steering wheel, now have 119000 miles on it. I am consurned it my become a safety issue.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #33

Jan 052004

Silverado 1500

  • 35,000 miles
Vehicle was taken to dealer regarding this issue at 35000 miles, in 2004. They could find nothing wrong. I found that this was a common problem involving only the 2002 model. The dealer said it was not a safety problem, just an annoyance I would have to live with. I still own this vehicle now in 2012 and still see many complaints, ineffective repairs reported, and people not understanding why GM has not done a recall, or issued any bulletins. Why is it only the 2002 model had this problem ? I hesitate letting anyone else drive the truck due to safety concerns it should be recalled.

- Englewood, FL, USA

problem #32

Jun 152004

Silverado 1500

  • 20,000 miles


This model pickup had a noisy intermediate steering shaft replaced in mid 2004 and the replacement made the same clucking noise shortly after and we were told to wait until a fix that would last was engineered. We later found GM had a fix but our extended warranty in Dec 2007 was over and the service bulletin that would fix this could not be done free. This noise was common and it is loud enough to mask other noises that could cause a wreck or loss of control. GM should have a recall so they can fix a failed component that finally they got right. Failed component was intermediate steering shaft loose and noisy. Yes, I am I certified mechanic since 1958. Bad spelling but a good mechanic.

- San Jose , CA, USA

problem #31

Oct 122010

Silverado 1500

  • 67,000 miles
Upper steering column intermediate shaft clunking noise when turning or on bumpy road, have to replace this part at my cost. GM knows about this common defect but there is no recall on this part even though they manufactured 2 replacement shafts to fix this problem. I don't know why there is no recall. Seems a steering issue is important.

- Wilson, NC, USA

problem #30

Jun 232010

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2002 Chevrolet Silverado K1500. Consumer states defective part in steering column the consumer stated since 2002 the intermediate shaft has been repaired five times, to eliminate the rattle when turning the steering wheel or when going over a bump. The consumer stated he located a GM service bulletin regarding the intermediate shaft.

- Brighton, CO, USA

problem #29

Oct 152009

Silverado 1500

  • 19,000 miles
The intermediate steering shaft has a clunking/knocking noise when turning wheels at low speeds.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #28

Sep 202003

Silverado 1500

  • 6,500 miles


Vehicle began making a clunking noise that could be felt within the steering wheel and steering column. Eventually became a rattle so bad that it was taken to a mechanic who informed us that there was a technical bulletin issued on this problem. #00-02-35-003C. Vehicle was taken to local GM dealership for repairs. It was stated on the N/C invoice that the solution was 'repack steering shaft with grease kit' part #26098419, vehicle had 6,941 miles on the odometer. Vehicle was fine for some time, but began to experience the same issue again. Local dealership was called and we were informed that there was nothing else that could be done. Vehicle now has just over 20,000 miles and is still making this noise and the feeling in the steering column is very bad. Feels as if something is going to fall apart at any moment. We have received no further information regarding this situation and will now try to contact GM to find out if a solution to this issue has been found. It actually feels 'dangerous', like the steering is not 'sure' and very loose and sloppy. We had a front end alignment performed just a month ago but that did not improve this issue. Obviously it is the steering shaft problem again. I feel this should be investigated to find out if indeed there is no safety risk.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #27

Nov 152003

Silverado 1500

  • miles
Steering column rattling and vibrating excessively on my 2002 Chevrolet Silverado. While vehicle was still under warranty, the dealer reported that the column just needed to be greased. Three days later, the noise was back. Same thing was done when the truck was taken back to the dealer. This appears to be a common problem with the pick up. The vibration from the column is enough to put your hands to sleep and the noise is extremely annoying.

- Belton, TX, USA

problem #26

Jul 162005

Silverado 1500

  • 18,031 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock). The dealer cleaned the speed sensor, but did not replace any parts. The failure has recurred and the brakes stick when attempting to stop the vehicle at low speeds. On the fourth trip to the dealer, the contact was informed that no failures could be found. She is unsure if the dealer will replace or clean the sensor, but she requested that it be replaced. In addition, the intermediate steering shaft was replaced with a re-manufactured part in July of 2005 at 18,031 miles. In November of 2006, at 29,650 miles, the steering shaft was lubed. In April of 2008, at 43,194 miles, the steering shaft was replaced a second time. Currently, at 56,000 miles, the vehicle is still experiencing issues. The dealer must check and replace the shaft failures every 25,000 miles. Lastly, the rear brake rotors were resurfaced four times and all of the window regulators have to be replaced. The vehicle is currently at the dealer to have all of the issues repaired. The failure mileage was 18,031. Updated 07/02/09.

- Nescopeck, PA, USA

problem #25

Dec 282008

Silverado 1500

  • 96,000 miles
When making a turn I hear a thumping noise in the steering column.

- North Conway, NH, USA

problem #24

Jan 202009

Silverado 1500

  • 31,166 miles
I have a 2002 Chevy Silverado the steering box was replace at 31,166 miles and at 48,000 miles its doing the same thing all over again you can not park the truck and if you are at a stop trying to turn the wheel is hard and a noise coming from the steering box the first time I had to pay $200 this time looking to it I feel I should to pay nothing at all and thousands people are having this same problem I read this on a web site and this is a steering problem that could fail and people could get killed or kill somebody would you please look in to this problem before it is to late and make GM recall the steering gear box thank you roger sanson

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #23

Nov 012002

Silverado 1500

  • miles
2002 Chevy Silverado truck has steering popping. Repaired once under warranty. Now I am having the same problem. The truck only has 36,000 miles and is in great shape otherwise. I researched online and found out that others were having the same problem over and over. This could become a serious problem if the steering fails. G.M. should recall this and take care of keeping their customers safe.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #22

May 292008

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
The intermediate steering shaft went bad on it I had a mechanic look over the trucks front end thinking the ball joints were bad. That wasn't the case his dad has an 04 Silverado that had the same problem. I called my local Chevrolet garage in Indiana and they acted like they never heard of it. So I called the local GMC dealership and its getting fixed next week. Sense its a 2002 there is no warranty so its going to cost around 200 dollars. It makes a clunking noise in the front end and the steering wheel feels loose. It also makes a weird grinding noise so I hope this fixes my problem!!!

- Elderton, PA, USA

problem #21

Jan 012003

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
Steering column rattle.

- Sioux City, IA, USA

problem #20

Aug 052003

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. While driving between 30-40 mph, there was a clunking noise coming from the steering wheel and the front end of the vehicle bounced. The noise intensified when making a turn. The dealer greased the intermediate steering shaft. The failure continued and the intermediate steering shaft was replaced. The failure still persists. The failure mileage was 36,000 and current mileage was 112,000. Updated 03-05-08

- Pittsburgh , PA, USA

problem #19

Nov 012002

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
Intermediate shaft in 2002 Chevrolet Silverado rattles since new. Temporary fix has been to grease the shaft every few months. Now GM says don't grease the shaft, replace it with new design, but of course, there isn't any warranty now.

- Sioux City, IA, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?