Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,050 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Owner Comments

problem #19

Jul 282016

Silverado 1500

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Drivers seat shifts from side to side when maiking a left or right turn the seat will shift

- Culleoka, TN, USA

problem #18

Jun 022015

Silverado 1500

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. While driving at various speeds, the driver seat began to shift and come out of alignment independently. The dealer replaced the seat cushion, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and contacted the dealer. The technician stated that the shim kit needed to be installed in order to remedy the failure. Shortly after having the repairs performed, the seat experienced the failure again, but the manufacturer and dealer refused to provide any additional assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 12,000. Updated 12/18/15

- Elkhorn City, KY, USA

problem #17

Aug 132014

Silverado 1500

  • 6,524 miles
The seat of my truck is loose. There is a service advisory the dealers have in their system which is #pit5223: Front driver or passenger seat cover / cushion loose...... dealer has attempted to fix it 3 times following guidlines from GM but it is still a problem. A friend of mine purchased a 2015 GMC Sierra (which is the same truck) and he is having the problem with 2000 miles on it..... he to just picked his truck up from the dealer and on the way home the seat was doing the same thing. There is an online forum that has many other owners complaining about the same thing here www.GM-trucks.com/forums/topic/155228-seat-clickclunk-noise-update/ ---- overall it is very annoying and it seems to have been going on for years and still is because there is no fix. I stopped at another dealer and the service manager said that GM is aware of the problem and is working on a solution. Please please please take action..... its very annoying and dangerous to be sitting in a seat rocking to the left or right depending on whether your making a right hand or left hand turn.... its like your sitting 'unsettled'.... someone is going to wind up losing their footing while braking or making a turn and kill someone.

- Centereach, NY, USA

problem #16

Feb 172014

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was cleaning the inside out and noticed a hole in the passenger side seat in the bottom area and the leather was thin where it was torn and I went to my dealer and they said it would take most of the day to take it off to see if it was torn or a puncture so I just wanted to add my truck to this list for defects.

- Pine Hill, AL, USA

problem #15

Feb 052014

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 1,400 miles
While driving in 4WD 'auto', off pavement in waterfront area, I did not think 4WD was engaging. When I shifted to 4H, the seat immediately clam shelled in and down on me. I reset seat, and noticed mirrors also had moved. A few minutes latter I tried the same maneuver while moving <5 mph, with the same results. I drove the 20+ miles back home in 4auto, but ready for a surprise shift into 4WD, with the accompanying, dangerous seat position change. It occurred 1 more time, while driving slowly approaching my driveway. I tried to duplicated it a few more times during a 2 week period; no occurrences. The sales people told me to use 4auto as my regualr mode. I decided to try 2H. Now when I go from 2H to 4auto, the seat moves backward in short jolts. Going to 4H or 4L, as directed in the manual, a clam shell effect occurs. I have done it with others in my truck, so they can witness the seat try to devour me. The last time it happened, I left it in the driveway with the seat & mirrors in their final position, so others could get in and see if they thought they could drive in that position. I have not set the set memory, and was very careful to not touch anything but the 4WD control while changing drive modes. As an aside, I noticed others owners had complaints about the seats. My 'safety alert' seat, 'heated and cooled (perforated)', 'front full feature', 'leather appointed buckets' developed a small tear in the lower, middle portion of the seat. I wanted it replaced, and of course, the friendly dealership staff tried to say this was 'normal wear and tear'. this was at less than 500 miles, 350 of which the dealership put on while driving it from another dealer. This truck is used for pleasure only, not work, no tool pouches or in pockets... if it wasn't such a bad example of how customers are treated by some dealerships, it would be laughable. Current millage: 1,711 mi.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #14

Feb 102015

Silverado 1500

  • 12,855 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that while backing out of a parking space at approximately 5 mph, the power seats and mirrors began to move without warning causing the contact to crash into a telephone pole. The contact did not specified if there were any injuries or if a police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that a wire connected to the seat module was pinched and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 12,855. Updated 04/10/15

- Springfield, NY, USA

problem #13

Jan 092015

Silverado 1500

  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that while reversing, the driver's seat became unlatched and moved forward independently causing the contact to be thrown against the steering wheel. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 22,000. The VIN was not available.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #12

Nov 012014

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 1,600 miles
The rear seat head rests on the 2014 Chevy Silverado Z71 double cab 1500 trucks do not provide protection. They do extend up some but not only do they not stay in place when extended up, they also do not extend up high enough for even a 5' 8" persons head. The rest still allows the passengers head to hit the rear window. When one rests their head back the rest easily goes down and does not lock in place. Rear impacts would definitely result in a head injury. Others on various Chevrolet online forums have noticed the problem and will not let adults ride in the rear double cab area of the truck. I can send you a video of this problem if you like. Email: [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Calumet, MI, USA

problem #11

Jul 012014

Silverado 1500

  • 200 miles
Purchased a new 2014 Chevy Silverado in June and after driving a few hundred miles, I noticed the drivers seat was not very comfortable on long trips. Soon after a noise was coming from under seat. Dealer replaced seat track but was not installed properly and my seat cushion came unattached. Dealer attempted to fix the problem but noise is still apparent. I have read other complaints about seats being uncomfortable and I can confirm. Why is Chevrolet putting out this type of vehicles and expect people to buy. If you are reading this do not buy a Chevrolet/GMC truck. Save your money!!!!!

- Taft, TX, USA

problem #10

Jul 012014

Silverado 1500

  • 500 miles
Purchased my 2014 Chevy Silverado at the end of June 2014 and by July 2014 while traveling to work my truck experience a severe vibration that shooked my entire interior and especially my center console. Took my truck to two local dealerships and they say my truck drives and handles normally. After reading other complaints by other owners, I decided to write my own complaint. Chevy corporation needs to investigate this matter before any tragic incident happe ns like the ignition switch recall that innocent people died and now they are paying mega bucks. Also requesting other owners to file a complaint so other truck buyers will stay away from Chevrolet automobiles entirely. My next purchase will probably a foreign because I am having to many problems and nothing is getting done. Thanks alot Chevy, from soon to be ex-Chevrolet owner.

- Taft, TX, USA

problem #9

Jul 122014

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • 180 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle has a shake and vibration in the seats, steering and suspension at interstate speeds of 65 mph and above on smooth roads it has had the shake and vibration since the day I bought it new.

- Theodore, AL, USA

problem #8

Sep 132014

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • 9,600 miles
Driver seat lower cushion rocks left and right as well as front to back. Took vehicle in to dealer on 9/3/14 and was fixed on 9/5/14. The seat felt sturdy upon pick up from dealer. Have driven approx 30 miles since picking up on 9/5/14. Seat is now doing same movements as before. I have filed a claim with GM customer care and they state there is not a fix for the seats at this time. I feel this is a safety hazard and potential critical failure during a crash.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #7

Apr 012014

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact stated that the driver seat was not stationary and moved around while the contact operated the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to two different authorized dealers who stated that the shims, clips, and hooks were not available to repair the vehicle. The dealer and manufacturer were unable to tell the contact, when the parts would become available. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 1,000. Updated 09/11/14 updated 10/8/14 the consumer stated as of 9/20/2014 the vehicle had not been repaired. Updated 3/23/2015

- Simon, WV, USA

problem #6

Oct 042013

Silverado 1500

  • 6 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact stated the driver seat was extremely uncomfortable and the padding was very thin. As result of the problem, the contact had to constantly make adjustments while traveling. The vehicle was neither repaired nor diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified of the safety concern and provided no remedy. The approximate failure mileage was 6.

- Galisteo, NM, USA

problem #5

Apr 282014

Silverado 1500

  • 12,000 miles
My 2014 Chevy Silverado 1500, ltz, Z71 started to have numerous issues since this past April. The truck has been in the unethical landers mcclarty Chevrolet in huntsville, Alabama seven times with only the smallest of the issues being fixed. 1st issue was the driver side seat moved when turning left or right. The dealer's service department informed me there was no fix and that the seat was within manufactures specs. The seat moved to the point that the ventilated seat cooler plug disconnected. The service dept eventually "fixed" the seat and reconnected the plug. Lastly the issue I cannot get resolved through GM corporate, dealer service department or the regional GM manager. My truck "shakes" from speeds of 65 mph and greater. The service dept first told me I needed an alignment and have the tire rotated and balanced. The shake still continued, so I complained again to the service dept. This time I was told that two tires where "bad" do to road force and replaced them. The truck still shakes like a stripper so I emailed the CEO of GM on 11 July and assigned an executive liaison to work the issue. Since then my truck has been in the service department twice. Each time I was called a liar indirectly by the service department manager "[xxx]" and the district manager "[xxx]" after they test drove the truck and couldn't replicate the complaint. I had the service dept foreman "[xxx]" ride along with me as I drove the truck and pointed out the "very" noticeable shake at high way speeds. After numerous phone calls to the service dept, GM corporate, I found out that the service dept can utilize a vibration analyzer on the truck. This has not taken place or even considered. I continue to drive the truck with the shaking becoming worse with each mile. Just like the ignition switch problem, GM down plays the issue and lets the problem compound. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Meridianville, AL, USA

problem #4

Sep 072013

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
When turning the seat pops and moves in the direction you are turning. The dealer could not duplicate. I addressed it again 7-8 months later and the dealer stated there is no fix. They said it only happens when the seat is in the top adjustment position, this is incorrect, it happens at all adjustments as I have tried them all. Needless to say, this will get your attention enough to think something is happening and you just cannot get used to it almost a year later. It scared my wife and daughter enough to where they will not drive it any longer.

- Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #3

Jan 142014

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • 200 miles
I purchased the 2014 Silverado 1500 while it was raining. Test drive was fine, but the sales person already had the vehicle running with the defroster and wipers on. Drove home (2 miles) and parked. Turned on the fan knob ( standard with A/C model) and the A/C turned on, this occurred nearly every time I turned it on and asked the dealer service center about it. I was told I am probably hitting it with my knuckles. I since tried only while pinching the knob to avoid this and the A/C still nearly turns on every time. Also when the truck sits a while the first start is a hard one but after running and warmed up it will be fine to start. Not sure if the truck battery needs a charge after sitting on the lot, I could also smell a rubber burning odor outside and through the vents, thought it was because it was new but then I seen there was a recall 3 days prior. When I tried anchoring my sons child seat I found no seat anchors in the center rear seat and only the ends. I worry about his seat near the door if there is a side crash. Lastly, why isn't there rear sensors at a minimum a mandatory on trucks yet. Cameras can still be offered as a option but sensors should be mandatory!

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #2

Jan 052014

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • 378 miles
Found that the rear head restraints in the crew cab would not raise high enough to protect an adult size person's head from hitting the glass or getting a severe neck injury in a rear end collision. This is a design flaw for a vehicle marketed as a people mover. I have issued complaints to Chevy via web and letter. Older truck (2005) didn't have this flaw in safety as the head restraints could be raised significantly higher. This vehicle should be recalled and a fix mandatory.

- Jordan, MN, USA

problem #1

Aug 182013

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • 500 miles
I purchased a 2014 Silverado crew cab ltz Z71 on August 16. Almost immediately it began having issues with the safety systems that were extra modules on this vehicle. Parking assist sensors do not work consistently, lane departure warning system fails to initialize or operate consistently and downhill grade breaking system fails to initialize or operate consistently, forward collision warning system fails to initialize and operate consistently. (I have photographs of the safety features failing). In addition, the heated/cooled seats (driver side) overheats with driver weighing 280 lbs - causing rear vent /exhaust covers to separate from the seat. Seat gets very hot- passengers in back of vehicle complain about extreme heat (again photographed failures) failures with safety system functionality are described by multiple owners of the same model truck (ltz) that I purchased. Same problems are described throughout this thread www.GM-trucks.com/forums/topic/152662-any-new-2014-Silverado-owners-having-issues-with-their-truck took to dealership- they kept for two days. Unable to reproduce problems. BCM and infotainment center updates failed to resolve. Heated/cooled seat overheating was not resolved- however, I duplicated it immediately upon departing from the dealership. Mileage is now 4300 miles with same problems. GM case [xxx] was opened on 9/9/13 and all issues remain unresolved after BCM update. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Galveston, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?