Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.4

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,781 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Owner Comments

problem #20

Oct 282016

Silverado 1500

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had this issue quite a few times and only a few times able to get videos and pictures of what messages come up on the dash board. On the street going about 30mph turning right the stirring wheel locked up on me and I was close to colliding with a truck on the opposite lane due to the fact that I basically lost control of my vehicle I just put the truck on parking and the lights on the dash, radio, va all flickered and suddenly the truck shut off I turned it back on and drove and did not have an issue other then messages on the dash telling me to drive safe steering assist off and service stabilitrac. The times before I didn't get pictures but I'm concerned about my family's safety things could of got worst and the dealership doesn't seem to "find the code for the issue" which I find ridiculous with some much and an ES technology everything should be able to get diagnoses at the dealership.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #19

Oct 242016

Silverado 1500

  • 54,192 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. While driving 20 mph and making a turn, the stabilitrac warning indicator illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 54,192.

- Von Ormy, TX, USA

problem #18

Sep 012016

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
I was driving the truck in downtown austin, I pulled in to the right to a restaurant, and proceeded to pull up and park in reverse. As I pulled up and aligned the truck I slightly turned the truck steering wheel to the left to straighten up as I did this the steering wheel jerked to the left even more with its own force, the display marked stabilitrak and engine power reduced, and then did this to me the entire time I was trying to straighten up the truck to try and back up to park. Not only that my wife who drives the truck daily said it did this to her several times before and its even completely died on her, with her having to put the truck back into park and restart the truck. Luckily it has not yet done this to us or more specifically to my wife because she drives the truck daily, to her on the interstate or major highway. This is a huge safety concern and have taken the truck to the dealer several times and its stayed there a few days each time. With them only repairing the recalls. And them not being able to reproduce what happened to my wife and I both. This is a major issue and the dealer cant find anything supposedly wrong with the truck. I have no idea what to do now, and am stuck with the truck with no answers what so eve!!!!!!!!

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #17

Sep 092016

Silverado 1500

  • 62,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving down the road randomly when I go to turn service stabilitrack pops up and when you try to turn it jerks the wheel back to zero. This has happened to me 3 times in the past month. I have had two dealerships look at it and could not find the issue. I have contacted GM and all they say is the dealer has to replicate it. And they will not foot the bill for me a loaner. This truck is not safe to drive and I feel like I should not be responsible seeing how just a little research will show many other people having the same issues I have. Of course GM tells me they are not aware of the issue which is a lie.

- Sulphur, LA, USA

problem #16

Sep 062016

Silverado 1500

  • 63,000 miles
Engine light and traction light came on then displayed stabilizer malfunction the truck stop while driving down the road. Difficult to steer when engine stopped. Car has stopped several times. Dealer unable to find problem with truck. This problem has been occurring with the different lights displaying a malfunction and the truck stopping for the past 2 weeks

- Many, LA, USA

problem #15

Aug 272016

Silverado 1500

  • 35,000 miles
I purchased the vehicle June 2016 with 32K miles on the odometer. August 2016 at 35K miles while driving at 55mph, the entire electrical system shut down 4 times within 2 miles. As I turned into my driveway, the electrical system shut down again along with the ability to control the vehicle. The steering wheel jerked violently and the vehicle stopped just short of hitting my mailbox. All functions were dead at this point. I turned the key to the off position and back on and the vehicle started as if nothing happened. 3 days later on a family outing, after parking the vehicle in a parking space at a theme park, my wife had forgotten her theme park mug, so we walked back to get it. When I tried to unlock the vehicle using the remote key entry, the vehicle would not unlock. I used the key to manually unlock the vehicle and noticed the courtesy light was not on when I opened the door. I then tried to start the vehicle and it would not do anything. It had no power as if the battery was dead. After spending the day in the theme park with friends, we were going to get a ride home due to the vehicle not starting. I told them lets try to start it again and see if it will do anything. It started as if nothing happened. I took the vehicle to the dealer the following day and they said it was a negative battery cable. They kept the vehicle for a week and said the problem had been fixed. 2 weeks later, the vehicle started the same erratic process. The electrical components shut down and the steering wheel jerked violently at the same time. The service stabilitrak light came on and that was while driving in a public parking lot. If this happens on a highway or interstate, someone is going to get seriously or fatally injured. I also have video of the erratic behavior. A person has no control of a GM vehicle with this same issue and GM is placing lives at risk.

- Seymour, TN, USA

problem #14

Jul 192016

Silverado 1500

  • 56,764 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. While driving 75 mph, the contact attempted to switch lanes and all power seized in the vehicle. The electronic stability control light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic body control module needed to be updated. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred numerous times. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 56,764.

- Middleborough, MA, USA

problem #13

Jul 202016

Silverado 1500

  • 34,320 miles
I was having what I thought was an electrical problem. In traffic after hitting my breaks many times I noticed my dash lights go dim, the radio would cut out once in a while and my gauge cluster would reset just like it looks when you first start the truck. This happened several times in approx.30 min. I was planning on taking it in the first chance I got but the next day I was driving in my residential neighborhood, a car was coming the opposite way when and I hit my breaks the steering wheel violently jerked out of my hand and caused the vehicle to drive up onto the sidewalk and almost into a retaining wall. Everything was dinging the ABS and other lights were on and the word stabilitac was displayed on the center dash. Thankfully no one was injured. I immediately called the dealership when I got home and took it in to have it looked at. The dealership had my truck for several days and offered no real explanation for what caused the problem other than it was a software problem. Now here we are a month later I'm driving down the interstate and take my exit for work. When I hit my breaks the lights go dim in the truck, the radio goes out, the ABS and other indicator lights come on, things are dinging and stabilitrac is displayed on the screen on the dash. When I started into my turn the wheel jerked violently many times in the opposite direction of my turn causing the vehicle to go onto the shoulder of the off ramp. It took every bit of strength to keep the vehicle on the road. I reluctantly continued on to work as it happened a few more times. One of them I was able to capture on video. The vehicle is currently at the same dealership that made the first assessment and repair. I don't feel safe operating this vehicle even after the repair as it has been proven it can and will happen again.. someone is going to get killed or seriously injured if GM doesn't fix it.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #12

Jun 242016

Silverado 1500

  • 44,000 miles
After having the battery replaced, the vehicle started giving "stabiltrak service required" "reduced power to steering" warnings. At these times and intermittently afterwards, these would appear and the steering would then respond as if the engine were not running while underway. This happened in several parking lots requiring close maneuvering as well as on the Florida turnpike, endangering my family, myself and others. The local dealership claimed and replaced the entire positive engine lead, stating that was the cause. The same issue has arisen again and now I am being informed there are now multiple low voltage codes due to this short. Researching online forums, this has been an issue among many who own this truck. It would appear this could be a life threatening situation that needs to be addressed. This began happening on approx. June 20th and continued until "repaired" June

- Pompano Beach, FL, USA

problem #11

Jul 122016

Silverado 1500

  • miles
I have had this issues happen numerous times. The first I was backing up into a parking spot and my service stabilitrak warning came on, and my steering wheel started jerking left and right on its own. 2nd time I was pulling into my parents drive way and warning came on while turning causing truck to jerk and I almost hit the corner of the house. A 3rd time happened again reversing but this time my headlights dimmed and I had multiple service warnings pop up. A 4th time I was again about to reverse. I was able to straighten up and while in reverse and foot on brake, I would turn steering wheel and it would jerk back to center on its own. I took video of that accurance. While driving on the highway yesterday night. I noticed my headlights kept going dim then bright. While in cruise control going 75mph I moved left to pass a vehicle, when I turned right signal on to come back to lane my cruise disengaged. This happend 5 times. Before one of the occurrences while in cruise I tapped the brake to slow down, and my volt gauge dropped to 10 or so and the headlights almlst shut off and all lights in cab flikered on and off. It almost felt like the truck was about to turn off but didn't. last issue, a few times I have tried to start the truck and the anti theft deterant comes on and I have to try numeros times to get truck to start.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #10

Jun 122016

Silverado 1500

  • 45,098 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

**stabilitrak** while driving home on the interstate I noticed that when I pressed the brake the radio blinked off. Then when I activated the turn signals the radio blinked off. After exiting the highway the dash lights would flicker as well. While attempting to make a left hand turn into my development the truck shut off, wheel whipped hard and locked while making that left hand turn. This forced the truck into the grass coming within feet of a tree. Service stabilitrak warning appeared on dash. Truck was able to be restarted, backed out of grass and parked in driveway at home.

- Jonestown, PA, USA

problem #9

Jun 062016

Silverado 1500

  • 44,000 miles
Problem started with the radio display blinking off when I pressed brake pedal or activated turn signals. Thought this was strange, but did not think of it as a safety concern. I then got stuck in a little rush hour traffic on the highway, I noticed while holding the brake on for extended periods of time the transmission would down shift extremely hard and just acting strange all together. Traffic was moving approx 30 mph when the radio blinked off the doors locked, unlocked then locked again. A message flashed on the dash something stabilitrak then started shifting extremely hard again. I was on the interstate and no where safely to pull over. I was traveling with my 4 year old child and had some serious safety concerns at this point. No more than a mile later, while in the same stop and go traffic and apply the brakes, the radio blinked off and the truck shut down completely while traveling around 30-35 mph in traffic with a tractor trailer behind me. I was able to shift the truck to neutral to start the truck and continue to the next exit. When slowing down the truck started to sputter out almost to a stall and quickly flashing a stabilitrak message and the dash blinking off, until I released my foot off the brake. I called to have a family member come pick my child up as I had serious safety concerns of my child being in the vehicle. I continued to my appointment which involved accessing the turnpike through toll booths. While slowing down to enter the toll plaza the truck did the same thing radio blinked off, dash displays blinked off, sputtering the steering wheel at this point ripped out of my hand almost causing a collision, stabilitrak message appearing. Once I got to my destination the truck sat for approx 2 hours. My return trip was normal and did not have any issues. This truck is a death trap with this problem occurring.

- Jonestown, PA, USA

problem #8

Apr 082016

Silverado 1500

  • 84,500 miles
Was driving to physical therapy. Pulled up to a stop light and "stabilitrack failure" poped up. Was pulling into the doctors office not 8 min L8R came up again but this time steering wheel locked up then un locked then locked up multiple times while I was trying to pull into a parking space. Thankfully I was going at an extremely low speed and I could control the vehicle between it locking and unlocking. When I left the doctors office I noticed my settings reset. Ex dashboard display showed the radio station instead of the fuel economy. I simply changed it and noticed the computer erased my previous fuel economy. I'm assuming theirs some malfunction between the computer and these systems. And from the looks of it my vehicle isn't the only vehicle with this issue. Now my check engine light is on and I'll be taking this back to the dealer and it will be fixed and never happen again or I won't purchase another GM vehicle.

- Findlay, OH, USA

problem #7

Mar 072016

Silverado 1500

  • 32,000 miles
Why can, T the dealership find the promble

- Mtvernon Ohio, OH, USA

problem #6

Aug 032015

Silverado 1500

  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. While driving approximately 70 mph, the electronic stability control warning light illuminated and the exterior and instrument panel lights flashed on and off. The vehicle lost power, but was able to restart after several attempts. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer were it was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 32,000.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #5

Sep 062015

Silverado 1500

  • 22,925 miles
When the below messages are received, steering the vehicle is extremely difficult, the steering wheel thrashes back and forth (when at slower speeds - I.e. attempting to park) and usually enters a "low power mode" where you can't accelerate, steer or about anything. In all cases, turning off the vehicle and restarting seems to return to normal until it happens again. 9/6/15: While making a turn, received a "stabilitrak off" and "power steering assist reduces drive with care" 9/8/15; received the above two messages plus "service 4WD" - 9/10/15 dealer replaced the transfer case actuator per tsb 9/14/15: Received stabilitrak and pwr steering messages when attempting to park the truck -- dealer stated love voltage codes present, so they charged the batter and returned the truck to me. 9/16/15: Had the steering wheel thrashing when backing into my driveway, but no messages 9/24/15: While on the highway (lucky traffic was slow) received the stabilitrak (twice) and pwr steering messages, so I exited to take side streets home. When making a left turn received the stabilitrak and pwr steering message, the low power mode and thrashing steering. This occurrence was in traffic and dangerous. Currently at dealer, they state they are replacing both positive and negative cables and rerouted a wire that may have been rubbing the frame. Note: There is a recall on the 2015 models for the electric power steering (eps) GM # 14743 -- same symptoms...

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #4

Sep 152015

Silverado 1500

  • 45,500 miles
First incident the stabilitrack service light flashed so fast I could barely read it.. second incident happened on September 20,2015 and it happened twice. The stabilitrack light came on again but this time the door locks locked and unlocked, lights went off and on, radio went off and on and it stalled the engine almost as if the vehicle shorted out. Luckily I was pulling into a parking lot because I had no control. I apllied the brake and put the vehicle in park and it restarted. About 45 minutes later it did the same exact thing as I was pulling into my driveway. It is at the dealership now.

- San Martin, CA, USA

problem #3

Jan 062014

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 10 miles
Since day one I noticed that the voice commands were not acknowledging proper voice commands. I took it to the dealer 2/20/14 they said it was my phone.it takes me a good solid 3-5 minutes to get a phone call out because of the voice recognition doesn't work. I would also notice that on pandora it would say acquiring net work service. Then from that, onto it saying network error.that happens no matter what every time I try to use it I have to turn blue tooth off and turn it back on and then connect it all over again. Sometimes I can hear people and they cant here me. On 4/08/14 again I took it in the dealer for the bluetooth problem. My front headlamps get moisture in them when I wash my truck on. 3/13/14 they replaced my left headlamp, still the moisture happens.when turning on the truck from park and engaging on drive a loud clunk and a tough movement makes the truck feel like its swinging from N to S. again I took it to the dealer 2/20/14 and they said nothing was wrong. January of 2014 - April 2014 there were 20 times that my truck went into the service department 4 times for recalls thats 24 times in 4 months for a new truck I got in an accident on 4/20/2014 and 50 parts were put into the truck to repair it. It took the dealer selman 3 months before I had to call and ask what was going on with my truck everyone seems to be clueless. On top of all that I had to denied the truck 8 times because of wrong parts that were put on. They changed my whole front end. The lights turn on when they want, it sound like lose parts in side the dash.the truck shakes on freeway going 40-60mph I have that on video. I feel unsafe driving the truck. I feel that I am being discriminated at selman since they treat me different. I want someone to help me look into this truck it is unsafe for my family and wanted a buy back but they said no I should be able to get that option.

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #2

Aug 012014

Silverado 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 3 miles
Bad shake at highway speeds, balancing tires didn't help, faulty steering components could be a safety issue.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #1

Jun 212014

Silverado 1500 8-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
Drove 15 miles to store. Shopped. Started home engine light came on. Tcl light staying on and truck shaking will barely run.

- San Augustine , TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?