Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

8.5

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
3,529 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Hybrid brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Hybrid Owner Comments

problem #6

Sep 012015

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2011 Chevrolet Silverado. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle brakes issue. Consumer has another vehicle complaint listed in artemis. The consumer stated the rear brake shoes would stick to the drums after getting wet when the parking brake was applied. The brake shoes would release with a thud when the vehicle was put into to drive or reverse. The vehicle would not move or roll, until the accelerator was depressed to move the vehicle. When the vehicle was driven in wet conditions, the braking felt different when compared to dry condition.

- South Bound Brook, NJ, USA

problem #5

Jun 042011

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,976 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact stated while driving 65 mph, the front end of the vehicle and wheels began to shake violently when the brakes were applied. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated the front rotors were out of round and turned downward. The brake rotors were repaired but the vehicle continued to shake violently. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 6,976 and the current mileage was 14,000. The consumer stated the vibration is still present in the front end. The consumer was informed the tires were wearing prematurely. Updated 05/17/12 updated 06/05/12 updated 06/06/12 updated 06/11/12. Updated 06/26/12 the consumer stated he continues to have problems with the brakes. Updated 06/10/13

- Weston , WV, USA

problem #4

Oct 202011

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact stated while driving at speeds of 60 mph, the brakes were engaged and the vehicle failed to slow down immediately. The brake pedal was engaged with extreme pressure in order to stop the vehicle. The failure occurred four times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing and was advised there was nothing wrong and the computer was suppose to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 7,000 and the current mileage was 11,000. Updated 03/05/12 updated 03/06/12

- Dickson , TN, USA

problem #3

Sep 102011

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 4WD 8-cyl

  • 4,105 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2011 Chevy Silverado with a fuel gauge problem. While driving downhill, my fuel gauge light just comes on and the fuel gauge goes down to empty. The vehicle then stalls losing all power and control of the vehicle (brakes, steering). As I reach the bottom of the hill, I have to place the vehicle in park and it starts right back up but the fuel gauge stays at empty. I had the vehicle serviced at a GM dealership and it was stated by the tech that vehicle is working as designed. This was also confirmed by GM engineering department. If I recall, the fuel pump is placed more toward the back of truck and while driving downhill gas moves towards front of tank giving the fuel sensor a false reading. I'm no engineer but I had a 2009 Silverado and never came across this problem. This is a big vehicle and I believe this poses a great safety risk to myself and family as well as the public. Many times when the truck has lost all power steering and braking capability, myself or my family members who are driving have narrowly avoided accidents. GM tech and GM corporate said remedy is to keep more gas in vehicle. This is a continuous problem as at times in travel I may not keep my tank as full as required by GM.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #2

Jul 042011

Silverado 1500 Hybrid

  • 114 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact stated that when depressing the brakes, he would feel a pulsating sensation. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they advised him that he might need to replace the pads and resurface both the rotors and drums. The vehicle was repaired but the pulsation continued. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 114. * request that complaint be deleted * 12/14/2011

- Sheradon, AR, USA

problem #1

Oct 072011

Silverado 1500 Hybrid 6-cyl

  • 2,981 miles
Brake failure. Applied brakes rapidly due to vehicle stopping in front of me. Noticed tire squeal then brake pedal remained firm but, my vehicle failed to stop. Had to steer into opposite travel lane to avoid accident. Brakes then began to function normally. Drove to dealership to have checked. Service manager said brakes checked ok. In route to my home service brake soon light appeared on dash display.

- Hephzibah, GA, USA

Not what you are looking for?