Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
113,372 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #33

Jul 242014

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • 99,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was traveling about 30 miles per hour when I had to stop for a van ahead of me. I touched my brakes and the pedal went all the way to the floor. No brakes at all. Because of other traffic, and no time, I hit the van in the rear. Neither of the air bags deployed. The gentleman in the van had to go to the hospital. I had a bump on my leg, and my brother was not hurt. I just now have heard other stories of the same problem going on for years. This is not right.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #32

Jun 152014

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • 117,355 miles
On the way to pick up some items from a relative that lived 42 miles, approximately 32 miles into the trip it was noticed that the brakes were getting progressively worse, within 4 miles of our destination, the brakes were almost non-existent. Fortunately, we made it, however as soon as we parked and turned the engine off, we heard a pop and liquid began spraying from the right side of the front grill near the headlight. A very large amount of liquid then began pouring out of the right side by the bumper as well. Originally we believed it to be coolant as it had a green tint to it, however this didn't explain the poor brake response. We thought perhaps the brake fluid was low, and checked the reservoir. The reservoir had some still, but showed low. We added some, but it poured out almost as fast as it went in. Upon further investigation we found the leak not to be coolant, but the actual brake lines had blown out due to rust, and what sprayed out was brake fluid mixed with rust. Had this happened 20 minutes later, after we would have loaded a large amount of bricks in the bed, and we had to stop suddenly, this could have been disastrous and even deadly. We learned about this site by looking online and seeing the tens of thousands of complaints of the same thing - Chevrolet saving a few dollars and using steel for brake lines instead of stainless steel - a cost of less than $40 per vehicle (we priced replacements and the steel was $195, while stainless steel was $233), and no warning to consumers given even after they acknowledged publicly and the NHTSA investigated, but did nothing...so much for protecting the public. In addition, we had to have the vehicle towed back to our home. Hopefully, no one has to die before they're forced to inform all current owners to check their brake lines because they chose to use steel in an area of the country known for steel rusting!

- Bolviar, OH, USA

problem #31

Mar 122014

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • 137,500 miles
My wife was backing up the truck to give me and my stuck four wheeler a tow and just barely got the truck to stop. I jumped in to move it and the brakes went to the floor, no warning lights. I then noticed it was leaking brake fluid on the driveway.

- Stacy, MN, USA

problem #30

May 282014

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 23,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet silver ado. The contact stated that while attempting to stop, the brake pedal abnormally traveled to the floorboard. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that all the brake lines were severely corroded. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 23,000. Updated 8/14/14 updated 8/26/2014

- Milwakee, WI, USA

problem #29

May 302012

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • 187,000 miles
My truck was parked on a hill the emergency brake didnt hold I had a trailer on the back and it caused the trailer to jacknife and damaged my bed.

- Heiskell, TN, USA

problem #28

May 162014

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
I was pulling into a parking slot at home depot and pushed on the brakes to stop. Brake pedal went to the floor twice before applying parking brake to stop. No one was parked in the slot in front of me so I was able to stop without any accident. One of the brake lines, near the electro-hydraulic control unit, had sever corrosion and had ruptured causing failure of the complete brake system. There was no indication of any leakage from these brake lines before the failure. The oil was changed and vehicle inspected at the dealership about one month before this incident. Upon inspection, after this incident. All brake lines are corroded and need to be replaced. The fuel lines were replaced at the dealer about a year ago as they started leaking and were also corroded.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #27

Apr 152014

Silverado 2500

  • 90,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The brake lines are rusting out. I have spoke to two other people one with a 2002 Chevy Avalanche and another 1993 Silverado their brake lines have already rusted and failed. How many injuries or deaths are you going to let happen before you make GM recall the 1999 to 2006 GM trucks.

- White Plains, MD, USA

problem #26

Oct 192013

Silverado 2500

  • 102,275 miles
I had just replaced the hub and bearing housing on the right front axle on my four wheel drive 2001 Chevrolet HD2500 Silverado pickup and was in the process of refilling and bleeding the air from the brake lines. During this process it appeared as if it was requiring more fluid than I had removed it was then that I noticed brake fluid dripping from the left front wheel well. To my surprise after removing the plastic wheel well cover I couldn't believe my eyes at what I saw, there were the brake lines either rusted away or delaminated. I have never experienced anything like this in over fifty years of repairing my own vehicles, I can only be thankful that I wasn't on the road towing my fifth wheel trailer when the brake lines failed in such a catastrophic manner. Since this happened late in October of 2013 I have yet to replace the brake lines, if you need pictures of the problem I can provide them to you.

- Hopewell, NJ, USA

problem #25

Sep 182013

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
My wife was driving truck to post office when the brake pedal went to the floor slowly. After getting it home safely I looked at left front wheel area and saw brake fluid everywhere. The leak was in the bundle of brake lines just above the frame, going from the reservoir to the ABS unit under the driver side of the frame. Inspection showed that all of these lines were severely corroded. The lines going from the ABS unit to the back brakes appeared to show some corrosion as well but not nearly as bad. I have replaced all lines from ABS to the front with an aftermarket set and will replace the backs soon. This truck was bought new in South Florida by me and has never been up North until just a few months ago. There is also significant rust on the frame and suspension parts as well for truck of this vintage. I am very disappointed in the quality of this crucial safety component of this vehicle. I hope our 2011 Malibu which we bought new, doesn't end up with the same problem a few years from now.

- Saluda, NC, USA

problem #24

Feb 012014

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, he depressed the brake pedal and the pedal abnormally traveled to the floorboard. The vehicle was towed to a certified mechanic, who stated that the brake lines were corroded and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 85,000. Updated 04/14/14 updated 04/18/2014

- Cranford, NJ, USA

problem #23

Sep 112012

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • 71,246 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on us 41 when the light started to changed I applied the brakes and the pedal went to the floor, the rear brake line burst, this first occurrence was in Sept 2012, then this November the same thing occurred accept the front brake line burst. Both times I had the Chevrolet dealer perform the repairs. The second repair, I was informed by the service tech that this occurs with trucks that are in the northern states quite often and is due to corrosion that attacks the carbon steel brake lines. I was very lucky in both brake failures that nobody was in front of me, otherwise there would have been possible injuries..

- Venice, FL, USA

problem #22

Sep 242013

Silverado 2500

  • 211,000 miles
I had just picked up 2 cu. Yds of mulch and was going home when I was coming up to a roundabout. I slowed down more than usual, started braking early, since I was driving with a load. As I got to the intersection I noticed a car that was coming through quickly and got to the intersection before I did so I had to stomp on the brake a little more than I had planned. As I did the brake pedal went to the floor. Luckily the hole was small enough that I still had some pressure and was able to slow down and just miss the car. I slowly crawled through the intersection and pulled over at the next street. I was thinking it was the calipers but when I looked under the truck I saw that the leak was coming from higher up. I crawled under the truck to get a better look and saw that all the brake line where severely corroded. I had the truck towed back home and need to have it towed to the dealer tomorrow to see what the damage is.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #21

Mar 162012

Silverado 2500

  • 211,409 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that he noticed brake fluid leaking from the vehicle and onto the ground. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who stated that the sub frame and brake lines were corroded. The mechanic attempted to put the vehicle on the lift but and as the lift began to rise, the vehicle began to crack. The vehicle was not repairable. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 211,409.

- Butler, TN, USA

problem #20

Nov 262009

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • 170,000 miles
Brake line corrosion caused total brake system failure. Fortunately, no one was injured or killed.

- Galloway, NJ, USA

problem #19

Aug 192013

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Brake lines ruptured, parking brake non-existent, corrosion of brake line, fuel lines, frame and brake dust covers.

- Phyllis, KY, USA

problem #18

Aug 012012

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 194,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. The contact stated that the brake lines failed while exiting a residential driveway with a steep incline. The contact was unable to stop the vehicle using the brakes and had to utilize the emergency hand brake, which allowed the brakes to catch very slowly. The vehicle did not stop until it had reached level ground. The contact's personal mechanic confirmed that the brake lines were rusted and caused the failure. The failure and current mileages were 194,000. Updated 09/17/13 the consumer and his wife experienced brake failure, twice. His wife noticed something was wrong with the brakes. When she exited the vehicle, she saw brake fluid on the ground. The first time, the brakes failed, while backing out of the driveway.

- Coatesville, PA, USA

problem #17

Aug 072010

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
Driving down my driveway ready to take a heavy load of shingles to the dump, the brake pedal went almost to the floor. Barely could stop from 5 mph. Upon inspection brake fluid was dripping down the frame rail under the drivers seat location. All of the five brake lines running down along the top of the frame rail were corroded to the point one failed.

- New Tripoli, PA, USA

problem #16

Jun 082013

Silverado 2500 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
On Saturday, June 8, 2013, I was traveling approximately 3-4 mph (or less) entering a parking space. The parking lot was level and dry. I applied the brakes to stop, the ABS activated, I.e., I heard a growling noise, the brake pedal vibrated and pulsated, it became soft and promptly bottomed out on the floor. No brakes. It was necessary to shift into neutral while standing on the emergency brake. My vehicle jumped the curb onto the sidewalk and stopped approximately 10 inches from the building. I raised the hood to check the brake fluid level. It was full, no leaks noted under the hood nor under the vehicle. What now?

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #15

Dec 272011

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • 151,250 miles
I was descending a driveway and applied the brakes and they failed due to brake line corrosion. The rear line is rusted through. Upon inspection of the other lines I found they are also corroded. I was lucky to be where I was in order to avoid an accident.

- Harvey's Lake, PA, USA

problem #14

Jan 012013

Silverado 2500

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Silverado 3500. The contact stated that while driving approximately 15 mph, he depressed the brake pedal but the brakes did not respond. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the front wheel assembly had to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 77,000.

- Athens, WI, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?