Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,723 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Aug 122014

Silverado 2500

  • 167,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact was informed by an independent mechanic that the rear rotors were worn out, which caused the parking brake to malfunction. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 167,000.

- Venus, TX, USA

problem #26

Oct 242010

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
Total brake failure. Completely rusted through brake lines. Rear wheel drums rusted through, backing plate and emer. Brake rotted away. Nearly causing a severe accident on interstate. I was unable to stop my vehicle, and had to coast to a stop. Fortunately, I was not in traffic, and no one was injured. The potential was there for a serious accident. I wrote to GM twice in June, they never acknowledged either letter.

- Brookfield, CT, USA

problem #25

Feb 222010

Silverado 2500

  • miles
The 2002 Silverado (standard) was recalled due to defective parking brake id 05V161000 dated 4/22/05. I own a 2002 Silverado truck with only 35,000 but it is automatic and the GM dealer in Hawaii will not fix my hand brake because it was not involved in the recall. My hand brake does not work and I am due for a safety check soon. I called my local dealer several months ago and they will not fix this problem - they say they will service it but it will cost $400+.

- Pearl City, HI, USA

problem #24

Aug 062008

Silverado 2500

  • 59,756 miles


2002 Chevy Silverado (1500 2wd) parking brake failure. See/reference manufacturer campaign #: 05042 or NHTSA campaign #: 05V161000. Should be extended to automatic transmission vehicles. Defect summary: The parking brake friction linings may wear to an extent where the parking brake can become ineffective in immobilizing a parked vehicle. Consequence summary: If the parking brake does not hold, unintended vehicle movement could occur, which could result in a crash. Corrective action: Dealers will install a low-force spring clip retainer for vehicles equipped with a PBR parking brake system. On vehicles equipped with the TRW parking brake system, dealers will install a redesigned parking brake cable assembly. The recall began on July 29, 2005.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #23

Jul 112008

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,202 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado. The parking brake malfunctioned while the vehicle was parked. The brake would not activate when shifted into neutral and the vehicle drifted without warning. The vehicle was not taken to an authorized dealer and has not been repaired. The current mileage is 75,000. Updated 09/15/08 the consumer stated he heard a scrapping noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. He was informed the differential needed to be serviced. No one informed the consumer there was a problem with the parking brake. Updated 09/24/08.

- West Covina, CA, USA

problem #22

Aug 202007

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,500 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Silverado. The vehicle failed inspection because the parking brake did not operate. The mechanic replaced the rear parking brake shoes. The current and failure mileages were 69,500. The consumer stated vehicles with automatic transmssions should have been included in the recall. Updated 09/26/07.

- Richardson, TX, USA

problem #21

Mar 302007

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles


2002 Chevy Silverado. I bought this vehicle brand new, I am the only driver. For as long as I can remember the parking brake never worked. I took in the dealer after about a year and didn't have it inspected. They wanted to adjust or perhaps replace the brake shoes. I never heard of a parking brake needing adjustment after a year, and how could it possibly be wore out" I never used the thing. I figured, it wouldn't be long before they had a recall on it. Now it is about 4 years later, I call G.M. to find out if there is a recall or if they would help out with the costs. I also have the 100,000 mile 5 year G.M. warranty. Of course they admitted nothing and didn't help at all. I took it to the dealer and had it diagnosed like they asked me to. The dealer wanted $855 to replace the shoes and drums which somehow destroyed themselves over the last 4 years that I had a non operational parking brake. How is that possible" I know a little about cars. That doesn't happen unless there is something defective. It wasn't a fun day dealing with people who won't listen to reason, or shall I say won't admit to it.

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #20

Jun 292004

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2002 Silverado parking brake does not hold, rear axle seals were leaking. ** answer required*** the consumer received a recall regarding the parking brake after several attempts of trying to get it repaired. The ABS light illuminated, the dealer replaced the speed sensor. The cd player failed. The complained about a rattle when going over bumps. The dealer tightened the shocks. The tailgate latch was replaced.

- Gunnison, CO, USA

problem #19

May 012004

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
The contact state vehicle rolled out of the driveway with the parking assist brake on. There was a recall for the manual transmission but not for the automatic transmission. The dealership stated the parking assist brake wore out. Contacted the manufacturer, was referred back to dealership. No repairs made. Phone interview update (April 3, 2006): The complainant had the 4-wheel drive transfer case placed in neutral, which effectively render the automatice transmission (in the 'P' position) parking pawl ineffective in immobilizing the vehicle.

- Carnation , WA, USA

problem #18

Dec 092005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,700 miles
I own a 2002 Chevy Silverado K-1500 with 64,000 miles. Last week I was pulling into a parking space at 2-3 mph, and all of a sudden my brakes failed ( pedal to the floor) and it felt like the truck accelerated (my foot was off the gas pedal. I ran into a brick wall, cracking some plastic on the front bumper, and denting the bumper itself. Luckily, I hit the brick wall with the front tow hook. The next day I took my truck to stanley Chevrolet and had them look for any problems. The truck was taken there earlier in the fall, to correct the ABS recall. Stanley, could not find any problem. I would also like to submit that my emergency brake system is completely worn out. Which is odd since I have never used them.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #17

Dec 052005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles


GM recall no. 05042 is not limited to trucks with manual transmissions. I have talked to other owners of Silverado trucks with automatic transmissions who have reported parking brake failures. Service brakes are not affected.

- Yorklyn, DE, USA

problem #16

Sep 232005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
There is recall 05V161000 concerning emergency brake problem on manual transmission vehicle. However, the consumer's vehicle has automatic transmission. This vehicle was not included in the recall due to VIN although it has the same emergency brake system on automatic transmission. Realized this problem on September 23, 2005 because of taking the vehicle to get it inspected, and their insistence the emergency brakes will not hold. There was no forewarning for the problem.

- North Ridgeland Hills, TX, USA

problem #15

Jan 142002

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10 miles
Parking brake has never worked.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #14

Aug 082005

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The parking brake on my Chevy truck from the day I purchased it has been weak. I seldom use it and have never driven it while engaged, however it has completely worn out the shoes and destroyed my rotor/drums. I had not noticed it until I recently tried to obtain an inspection. The attendant then immediately proceeded to check the parking brake and informed me that it did not work and it costs $400 to $500 to repair. He also stated that all Chevy trucks of these years all had the same problem. I am thankful that I had not encountered a situation where I would need it as it had worn itself out without even being used.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #13

Aug 082005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles
I own a 2002 chev K2500hd. I have had several problems, but was unaware of this site to report these problems until now. First, the dryer switch on the ac went bad @ 34K. Second, @ 65K I had to replace the front left wheel hub assembly as talked about in one of the other complaints I read. Third, @ 95K my transfer case developed a leak and I lost all the fluid. A Chevrolet mechanic showed me a transfer case that had gone bad due to the same problem and had been used in 4WD w/out fluid in it. Another Chevrolet mechanic told me he had seen several of these and that "jb weld is your friend". so I patched the hole, and 10K later it developed a second leak in a similar location and also about this same time an electrical part (about $550) went out for my 4WD. Now at 130K it has developed a third leak! also starting @ approximately 50K, my rear differential has locked up on me several times and I have had to replace 4 cables on my tailgate. After being a Chevy man all my life I think I will look at Toyota.

- Markham, TX, USA

problem #12

Jun 302002

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
Parking brake will not hold

- Osage City, KS, USA

problem #11

Jun 052005

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
Recently I was rotating my tires (moving front tires to rear and rear tires to front). I had the emergency brake engaged and upon hand tightening up the rear tires (the rear end was completly off the ground), I noticed that there was no resistance on the rear tires with the emergency brake engaged. After lowering the vehicle back to the ground, I performed a test. I was on a flat surface, put the vehicle in neutral, engaged the emergency brake, and tried to move the vehicle by myself. I was able to move the vehicle with ease. The emergency brake also goes all the way to the floor with no resistance and has no effect on the brakes. I visited and noticed that a recall has been placed on the emergency brake system on vehicles with manual transmissions (NHTSA campaign id number : 05V161000). I call Chevrolet and voiced my concern over my vehicle not having resistance at the emergency brake, they stated that since my vehicle was not a manual transmission, that I was not a part of the recall. Question to NHTSA, how does the type of transmission effect the emergency brake which is suppose to be a mechanical device that operates on its own? I have been to many forums where numerous people have mentioned problems with their emergency brakes. I have even printed a technical document from Chevrolet that describes to the technician to install the same retaining clip to emergency brake jobs that is used in the recall for manual transmissions. This is a problem and could lead to numerous crashes, the emergency brake is just that...a person relies on the emergency brake in emergencies and without the brake doing its job, people will sustain injuries and even die without this problem being fixed immediately.

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #10

May 012005

Silverado 2500

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
2002 Silverado automatic, parking brake at 53,000miles has no pads left and the rotor is scored. Rotor unrepairable.parking brake not holding. Dealer as well as gmcustomer service denies any previous complaints. Problem not fixed as GM refuses to accept responsibility also denies any knowlege of recall on 2002 Silverado manual transmission.

- La Verne, CA, USA

problem #9

May 092005

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles
Emergency brake failure at 57000 miles, ate up drum/rotor, never adjusted properly from new. Used at every engagement of park. Dealer said he had seen many with same problem due to faulty design by Chevrolet. Expensive to have fixed and no guarantee it won't happen again at 50K+/- miles.

- Meadows Place, TX, USA

problem #8

Mar 012004

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles
Unwanted ABS brake activation almost caused 4 accidents with my 2002 Chevy Silverado. After the dealer told me I couldn't replace just the sensor and that I had to replace a part that was fine just to replace the sensor because it was built into that part and it was going to cost almost $600 I just pulled the fuse on the ABS. Now I have no ABS and have to look at two warning lights on the dash all the time. The truck only had around 39000 miles on it when this happend. Also the parking brake didn't work and after adjusting, it still bairly works.

- Flushing, MI, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?