Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,055 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Owner Comments

problem #13

Sep 172014

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 98,188 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tire blowout on left front of 2005 Chevrolet Silverado. Truck had motorcycle secured in bed, and was towing a kwikkamp tent trailer. Incident happened on hwy 93, 34 miles South of alamo, Nevada. We were southbound traveling at approx. 60 mph. The truck has suffered damage to the front end and left front fender.

- Avondale, AZ, USA

problem #12

Sep 172014

Silverado 2500

  • 98,148 miles
Tire blowout on right front of 2005 Chevrolet Silverado. Truck had motorcycle secured in bed, and was towing a kwikkamp tent trailer. Incident happened on hwy 93, 6 miles North of alamo, Nevada. We were southbound traveling at approx 60 mph. The truck has suffered damage to the frond end and right front fender.

- Avondale, AZ, USA

problem #11

Aug 022014

Silverado 2500

  • 95,726 miles
Tire blowout on left rear of 2005 Chevrolet Silverado. Truck was pulling a trailer on the way back from a mission trip, returning from Montana. Incident happened on I-90 about 50 miles East of moses lake Washington. We were westbound traveling at 70 mph. No injuries, however the truck suffered approx $3000 damage.

- Avondale, AZ, USA

problem #10

Aug 212014

Silverado 2500 8-cyl Diesel

  • 134,062 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On June 7, 2014, we were driving our 2005 Chevy Silverado hd westbound through Kansas on I70. A strong vibration forced us to exit. The automotive technician identified that the driver's side front tire had slipped a belt. We purchased a new tire (no Firestone available). All tires were rotated and balanced. In August 2014, a similar vibration was noticed. On August 21, 2014, after an extensive, multi-point inspection, it was determined that the driver's rear tire had slipped a belt. Replacement necessary. Of the remaining two Firestone tires, one appears to be from the same batch (corresponding dot#) as the driver's rear tire that was just removed. Replacement recommended. The passenger front tire appears to be from a different batch, but will be replaced. (unfortunately, we have not been unable to locate a record of the dot# from the tire replaced in June 2014.) Firestone has initially denied replacement/compensation to the automotive business performing the repairs.

- Holt, MO, USA

problem #9

Jun 072014

Silverado 2500 8-cyl Diesel

  • miles
On June 7, 2014, we were driving our 2005 Chevy Silverado hd westbound through Kansas on I70. A strong vibration forced us to exit. The automotive technician identified that the driver's side front tire had slipped a belt. We purchased a new tire (no Firestone available). All tires were rotated and balanced. In August 2014, a similar vibration was noticed. On August 21, 2014, after an extensive, multi-point inspection, it was determined that the driver's rear tire had slipped a belt. Replacement necessary. Of the remaining two Firestone tires, one appears to be from the same batch (corresponding dot#) as the driver's rear tire that was just removed. Replacement recommended. The passenger front tire appears to be from a different batch, but will be replaced. (unfortunately, we have not been unable to locate a record of the dot# from the tire replaced in June 2014.) Firestone has initially denied replacement/compensation to the automotive business performing the repairs.

- Holt, MO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #8

May 072013

Silverado 2500 6-cyl

  • 30,100 miles
Was on highway when heard a noise and pulled over to see a doughnut for a tire and rubber pieces tied around tailpipe, _E-brake and other parts underneath. Damaged rear panel the mileage at the time was 30100miles could've caused a bad accident. Also broke a cluster lost all meters on dash.

- Mooresville, NC, USA

problem #7

Dec 102012

Silverado 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was notified of NHTSA recall number 12T-019 for a recall on my bf goodrich tires. I went to my local dealer mccarthy tires located at 119 linden St in scranton pa. The customer service rep told me I had to of bought the tires at mccarthy tire for them to do the recall replacement. After I insisted that they are an authorized service center they told me that they didn't have the tires and had to order them and would call me when they came in. I waited a week and a half and called mccarthy tire. When I inquired about the order they told me they did not have any tires in my size on order and they did not know what I as talking about. It appears they refuse to perform the service recall work if I didn't buy the tires from them.

- Tafton, PA, USA

problem #6

Nov 082012

Silverado 2500

  • 192,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 hd equipped with bf goodridge tires commercial ta, size LT245-75-R16, dot bf11jb11. The contact stated that while driving 65mph hauling a trailer, the vehicle passenger rear tire tread separated. The vehicle right rear bed was damaged. The tire was replaced. The tire failure mileage was 31,000. The vehicle failure mileage was 192,000.

- Bryant , AR, USA

problem #5

Aug 302010

Silverado 2500

  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado. The vehicle was equipped with general tires, line size P245/70R17. The contact stated that the front driver side tire went flat. He purchased pennzoil fix a flat S455, 16 oz to repair the tire. The contact was attempting to fix the flat when the hose disconnected from the can. The contact stated that the plastic ring was fractured and the chemicals from the can released into his face. The contact sustained injuries to his lungs, both eyes and burns to the face. The contact stated that the bottle was not labeled in regards to wearing goggles or protection when using the product. He referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 99E007000 (tires) but had not contacted the manufacturer in regards to the recall. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 54,000.

- Sarasato, FL, USA

problem #4

Aug 112010

Silverado 2500

  • 70,000 miles
Driving on I 95 North bound in va at exit 126 I had a major tire failure which resulted in property damage to my truck. The tread became separated from the tire and caused $4,500 dollars in damage to my truck. The tire was made by cooper tire for ntb tire chain under the name mesa ct. It was a 285/75/R16 in size and the dot # is 3dyut3J0906. I have taken the truck and tire to ntb in mclean va for them to inspect, I was dealing with the service manager henry. I also called cooper tire and notified them on this and I spoke with david. My insurance company is repairing my vehicle but I would like to get a new set of tires from ntb or cooper because I will not be able to trust these tires no longer. I almost rolled my truck when this happened and am glad noone got hurt.

- Purcellville, VA, USA

problem #3

Mar 302006

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tire blow out, side wall failure. This occurred at 70 mph. No indication of tire problem until failure.

- Newark, FM, USA

problem #2

Oct 062005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
The contact started having problems at 1,000 miles with the tires. The tires started feathering on the outside edges. At 2,700 miles the dealer replaced the front tires on 10-6-05. The rear tires also started to feather. The dealership refused to replace the rear tires under warranty. The front end alignment was performed at that time. In regard to the alignment, the camber, caster, toe in, and toe out were all determined out of adjustment on all four sides from the factory. This was determined by the dealership. After the new tires and the front end alignment was done the vehicle still pulled to the left extremely hard.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #1

Apr 302005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,685 miles
The tires are out of round and they make the vehicle shimmy. The GM dealers replaced two of the four tires already, but was, suppose to replace all four of the tires. Now the vehicle shimmies again. The dealer had the consumer come in on three different occasions to get information off the tires. Noticed happened on April 30, 2005, and it only has 4685 miles on it.

- Ketchikam , AK, USA

Not what you are looking for?