Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
15 / 1
Average Mileage:
37,650 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #78

Jul 312015

Silverado 2500

  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall - recall was issued July 2015, status today on chev. Websites is parts and fix are unavailable - repair status is unknown. This is over 1 year with repairs.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #77

Jul 012015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 10/04/16

- St.Charles, MO, USA

problem #76

Aug 072015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Grayson, KY, USA

problem #75

Jul 282016

Silverado 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator remained illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V381000 (air bags); however, the remedy was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #74

Jul 132015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact received a call notifying him that the recall was reversed. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Concord, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #73

May 282015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms part not available.

- Monroe, TN, USA

problem #72

Jun 302016

Silverado 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

"takata recall" my vehicle is affected by this recall. I have received mail from GM / Chevrolet and have called several times. I have been told by GM that no repair is available and there no time frame to offer. In a recent conversation with Chevrolet customer service I was told it could be an additional year or years and sorry they have no other information" this has been going on for several years we purchased and paid for the truck in good faith. The truck is parked in the garage based on NHTSA and GM recommendations and continuing news warnings. The truck is now almost 10 years old, we are not able to trade or sell it do to the issue and are basically stuck. The vehicle has just over 30K miles and at this point we only drive it if we have to. I feel it is unfair to have to continue to wait leaving the vehicle parked or driving the vehicle at risk of injury or death. At this point would it be fair for your office to step in and require GM to replace the vehicle with a new truck if there is no options available" while I like the truck very much I feel this is unreasonable and unfair at best.

- Janesville, WI, USA

problem #71

Jul 092015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Monroe, WA, USA

problem #70

Feb 022015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
The dashboard on my truck has cracked in the middle and leading around the passenger side air bag. I am concerned if in an accident and the passenger airbag deploys, it will be ripped or destroyed by the sharp edges of the cracked dash defeating its life saving potential. This is a severe safety concern and I would like GM to recall and replace the cracked dash in my truck.

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #69

Jun 072016

Silverado 2500

  • 80,000 miles
Takata recall I have been under recall since July, 2015 for this airbag on the passenger side of my truck. The recall itself states : "inflators subject to takata equipment recall 15E-041 were installed in certain 2007- 2008 model year Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra 2500/3500 heavy duty pickup trucks as original equipment. In accordance with takata's defect determination for these takata inflators, GM is recalling these vehicles to replace these takata inflators." (I retrieved this information off of the GM website, specifically related to my VIN. Recall date :05/28/2015. This information is current as of today, 06/07/2016. On 07/31/2015, I called the number on my letter that I received in July, 2015 and placed a claim with GM. GM advised me that the part was not available, but that they would contact me when it was. I never received any correspondence about the part being available. On 06/07/2016, I called the same number and spoke to a representative. She advised me that the part was still not available. I advised her that I frequently carry passengers, including children, and that I need a safe vehicle. I let her know that I placed a claim last year and I felt I should be able to get a rental or have this fixed. She opened a - new claim, with a new claim # - and advised me to call the dealership. Dealership told me that he pulled my recall by my VIN, and stated that it said "GM does not currently think this is a safety issue and that they do not feel that we need to have this fixed". note: I live in an extremely humid environment in the deep South of the usa. This type of humidity is exactly what is causing these airbags to rupture metal objects. I am not okay with these results. I have paper documentation as of today showing that I am in danger. I do not appreciate the way GM is treating me or my family.

- Alabaster, AL, USA

problem #68

Jun 032016

Silverado 2500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I've received my recall notice almost (2) years ago now. I travel out of state monthly, and afraid to travel at the best times, evenings, and it's taking a toll on me, as I'm afraid of whitetail deer being all over the road of which I travel. I've had a family member already killed by (1) of these air bags blowing up and taking his life from hitting that same animal that I can also hit. I'm tired of getting the run around from General Motors telling me that the recall parts are not available etc etc. If they are still building my same truck, which they are, I told them than those bags are the same type, because the steering wheels have not changed, to please install one in my vehicle. Or disconnect my current bag, I don't want to dye yet. And I'm holding them accountable for my death in the event it was due to a "defective air bag". my family and my "lawyer" are aware of this. Thank you, mr stine

- N.Tonawanda, NY, USA

problem #67

Jun 012016

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received notification of the NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 07/13/16 updated 07/14/16.

- Monaca, PA, USA

problem #66

Jul 152015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags). The dealer was unable to provide a reasonable time frame that the manufacturer would supply the part. The contact was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Coeur D'alene, ID, USA

problem #65

Aug 182015

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500hd. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 06/29/16 updated 07/07/16.

- Eagle River, WI, USA

problem #64

Jul 022015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Kenner, LA, USA

problem #63

May 182016

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15fv324000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced any failures. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available....updated 06/30/16 updaated 07/11/16.

- Ham Lake, MN, USA

problem #62

Jul 312015

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 06/29/16

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #61

Jul 082015

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the parts needed for the repairs were not available. The contact believed that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the recall repairs. The dealer and manufacturer were made aware of the delay. In addition, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 125,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 06/14/16

- Oswego, NY, USA

problem #60

May 282015

Silverado 2500 8-cyl Diesel

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 05/24/16

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #59

Feb 052016

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact received a notification for the air bags; however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The NHTSA campaign number was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Mount Marion, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?