Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

3.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,505 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #55

Jun 112016

Silverado 2500

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was maneuvered to the shoulder of the road. The vehicle was restarted and returned to normal. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the computer circuit board cracked and would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 89,000.

- Vandergrift, PA, USA

problem #54

Jul 152015

Silverado 2500

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving approximately 65 mph, the doors unlocked and locked independently and the gauges on the instrument panel fluctuated rapidly without warning. The failures recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failures. The failure mileage was approximately 66,000.

- Louisa, KY, USA

problem #53

Jan 152016

Silverado 2500

  • 61,500 miles
"takata recall " received recall notice several months ago and still no fix. 2 speakers all failed with in six years, 3 window switches all stopped working have pictures available, all quit while driving on a cold night with my 4 yr old in the back seat. Had to pull over and remove switch to short out and get window back up. 4 bed mounting rails and bed side all have rust. So not only did it rot out prematurely but the dealership that covered up the problem entered an accident on the car fax for the bull crap repair they did on my vehicle. Dealership is barlow located in manahawkin

- Manahawkin, NJ, USA

problem #52

May 282015

Silverado 2500

  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Silverado. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V324000 (air bags) and 10V240000 (electrical system). However, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the issues. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Goffstown, NH, USA

problem #51

Oct 282015

Silverado 2500

  • 148,000 miles
Electrical short in driver windows switch. Vehicle was parked. Switch and circuit board melted. Same as recall GM 12180. Defective switch part # 15906881 Bosch bp688144801602K0

- Port Huron, MI, USA

problem #50

Nov 122014

Silverado 2500

  • 115 miles
The driver side door will not open it just stopped no notice. The next week the windows in the back seat will go down but not up driver side has to roll up. The passenger side door lock won't work driver has to unlock.

- Pocatello , ID, USA

problem #49

Aug 312015

Silverado 2500

  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle stalled and the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The contact stated that the vehicle was able to restarted; however, the failure recurred approximately fifteen minutes later. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 84,000.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #48

Jan 012009

Silverado 2500

  • 4,205 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags). While driving at an unknown speed, the door latch actuator failed and the door opened on the vehicle. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 4,205. Updated 09/14/15

- Morgantown, WV, USA

problem #47

Feb 012015

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving approximately 55 mph, all of the gauges became disabled without warning. The contact mentioned that when the gauges reactivated, the air bags were disabled. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the failure was unable to be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.... updated 06-02-15 updated 9/17/2015

- Picayune, MS, USA

problem #46

Jan 152014

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
Rear sliding window cable has broken for no reason what so ever I didn't even know I had this feature for the 1st 2 years of ownership. Now that I know I have used it a total of maybe 10 times and its broken.

- Havre De Grace, MD, USA

problem #45

Feb 252015

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 22,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine trouble light appears and service airbag message appears, both. Passenger side windows would not operate. Burning odors appear inside the cabin. The G.M. dealership located the wiring harness had caught fire and melted part of the carpet on the front drivers side kick plate. $2,400 to replace the harness and carpet. What's going to prevent this from happening again?

- Williston Park, NY, USA

problem #44

Oct 312014

Silverado 2500

  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado. While starting the vehicle, the starter continued to function. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V827000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The dealer inspected the vehicle and stated that the recall repair did not need to be performed. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 51,000.

- Warren, OH, USA

problem #43

Feb 092015

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact stated that the brake light warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the authorized dealer who diagnosed that there was an internal failure with the module and the dealer replaced the rear brakes, the module, and the relay switch. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000. Updated 4/15/15 MA 08/14/15 the consumer stated GM refused to honor the recall by not refunding the cost of repairs. Updated 11/12/15

- Lake Wales, FL, USA

problem #42

Jan 292015

Silverado 2500

  • 112,328 miles
I have bought vehicles since I was 17 years old. I have never had the whole left side electronics go bad like in my 2008 Silverado, ltz. The windows would not go up or down. Either side. My mirrors would not come in. Extended cab windows would not work. I replaced left door electronics panel, chev. Dealer mechanic tried to syncronize with vehicle computer ($130) found broken wires in harness. Mechanic tried to fix the problem and shut drivers door. Opened door and the wires had broken again plus it shorted out a fuse panel.a new harness and panel was ordered. A week later the new items were installed ( $606.89). The mechanic then said that the left rear door was shorting out and it needed a new harness ($500.99). I waited another week and this harness was installed on 2-13-15. If I had been in a wreck and the doors could not be opened and I could not get my windows down I could have burnt up or the first responders would have had to cut me out of my truck. This happened to me in the middle of the night with my whole left side electronics going dead. A friend of mine also bought a 2008 Chevrolet Suburban and has also had to replace the left side electronics in his drivers door. ([xxx], owner of body shop) he advised that he had heard of many others with the same problems. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Germanton, NC, USA

problem #41

Feb 072015

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
Air bag sensors go out making whole system inoperable.

- Akron , OH, USA

problem #40

Mar 112014

Silverado 2500

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 60 mph, all four locks on the vehicle locked and unlocked constantly. The vehicle stalled. The failures recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 67,000. The VIN was not available.

- Rialto , CA, USA

problem #39

Jan 042015

Silverado 2500

  • 95,100 miles
All four doors would not lock or unlock by pressing the lock button on either front doors or by using the remote when stopped. It scares me as a parent of a seven year old that the doors may not lock when needed and my child could accidentally open the door when driving anywhere at any speed. For the safety of my family and friends this really concerns me because if we were in an accident what if the doors couldn't unlock by button or manually or lock to keep passengers in while driving. In my opinion this is a safety hazard that really needs to be investigated by GM and an action taken into affect to correct this faulty issue or parts.

- Winner, SD, USA

problem #38

May 052009

Silverado 2500

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado. While attempting to start the vehicle, the ignition switch was difficult to turn. The contact mentioned that several attempts had to be made before the vehicle started. The contact stated that the check engine warning indicator was illuminated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Ravenswood , WV, USA

problem #37

May 012014

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 61,202 miles
I have had the 4th door lock fail again and outside of warranty. This should be a recall from GM and they refuse to fix a known issue.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #36

Apr 132011

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The front speakers and one of the extended cab doors speakers do not work.can not hear the warning chime. Sometimes when the truck has been driven for awhile the speakers in the driver's side starts to work. As of 07/11/14 the passenger side door speakers doesn't work unless the truck has been driven for awhile.. I've contacted GM several times on this issue and get the same response, they can not help me without paying them a fee.... I tell them what is happening and they don't care. I sent an email to them on 07/12/14 and haven't heard from them yet. I afraid that the truck is going catch on fire or shut off while I'm driving or when my wife is driving with my kids in the truck.

- Pinckard, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?