Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,693 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Owner Comments

problem #17

Mar 252016

Silverado 2500

  • 6,200 miles


Truck got hot and engine power reduction light came on also check engine light. Message reset when turned off and restarted but check engine light still on and truck runs hot. Power reduction was while I was on highway and truck would not go above 1000 RPM

- Wabash, IN, USA

problem #16

Jan 072016

Silverado 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact had not experienced a failure prior to having the vehicle repaired for a manufacturer recall concerning the 4 wheel drive function ability. Also, the engine control module was reprogrammed. Shortly after the repair by the dealer, the vehicle manually shifted into 4 wheel drive when in reverse or drive and would not disengage in inclement weather. In addition, the vehicle idled roughly, shuttered, and then stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for further inspection and the battery was replaced. The dealer stated that there was a faulty ground connection under the dash panel. The ground surface was cleaned and the wiring was re-grounded. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was not available.

- Veneta, OR, USA

problem #15

Nov 272015

Silverado 2500

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado. While driving at approximately 5 mph, the engine stalled and caused the vehicle to crash into a fire hydrant. The vehicle was able to restart. No police report was filed. The contact did not sustain any injuries. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Morrisville, IN, USA

problem #14

Jan 012014

Silverado 2500

  • 172 miles


I own a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. While traveling T a a low rate of speed/under 40 mph, there is a sudden loss of power. The vehicle hesitates numerous times and stalls. The vehicle almost shuts off but recovers just before shutting off and the start of losing power the vehicle jumps and stops. Called dealer service department and was told there are no recalls for my vehicle. This problem started almost frome week one after purchase until this date of reporting.

- Brownsville, TN, USA

problem #13

Nov 202014

Silverado 2500

  • 10,733 miles
Purchased a new 1500 in may of 2014 and a few months later noticed the engine has a random miss both while driving as well as at idle. Will experience a significant jerk and will also hesitate to pick up speed shortly after experiencing the jerk. I have reported this problem to Chevrolet on numerous occasions, but only have 4 invoices (from 11/20/14-8/26/15) with the complaint listed. Each time Chevrolet stated no problem found or present except for the most recent invoice dated Aug. 26, 2015 in which after Chevrolet service manager became involved because I complained about an unresolved issue, he did state that the problem was noticed by a "senior service technician" and since no code was present to diagnose or correct the problem, GM was contacted. Was told by the service manager that GM stated "they are aware of the concern but as yet have not formulated a repair." I am presently still experiencing the issue, but since GM has not "formulated a repair" for an issue that they are unsure of the cause and in which they feel "is not a safety issue" I am driving a vehicle that could stall at any given time. Be sure each complaint is documented via invoice number and make sure what you are told via phone and or in person is what is stated on the invoice.

- Longview, TX, USA

problem #12

May 072014

Silverado 2500

  • 0 miles
2014 Silverado shakes at various speeds. Has been a problem since the date of purchase and have been told by the dealership that there was nothing they could do to fix it. There have been complaints of this happening on the vehicle dating back to Oct. 2013, GM has been aware that the vehicle shakes and that has not been a recall issued. Dealerships are still selling the truck knowing that there has been numerous problems reported.

- Stanford, KY, USA

problem #11

Feb 162015

Silverado 2500

  • 12,500 miles


Shifted truck into reverse while plowing my driveway, truck made a large snap sound in front end and wouldn't move - oil was dispersed all over the ground. In the end - front yoke broke, causing drive shaft to hit oil filter and busting it off. Truck was under warrenttee so no cost but this is dangerous. Had I been moving this could have caused a truck to flip end for end.

- Minot, ME, USA

problem #10

Apr 022014

Silverado 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2014 Chevy Silverado consumer stated the vehicle was leaking oil

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #9

Nov 072014

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 1,312 miles
Truck engine completely shut off while driving in normal traffic. Coasted to side of the road and restarted the truck. Check engine light was on solid. Took to a Chevrolet dealer who refused to work on it but told me the 3 codes showing related to the camshaft. Drove the truck home and it felt like it was misfiring as it was jerking around the entire time. Chevrolet had it towed to another dealer who said, again, there is nothing wrong. Told them this is a clear safety issue and the dealers are just clearing the codes because they do not want to take on the warranty work. Awaiting resolution from General Motors. They told me for now, I just need to drive it until it happens again.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #8

Oct 302014

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • 20,650 miles
I started hearing some ticking. And no big deal the next day the motor just vibrated and them stopped accelerating, started rattling. Freaked me out big time, I've only had the vehicle for about 2 months. I'm no mechanic, but this ain't normal. I fear the worst.

- Temple Terrace, FL, USA

problem #7

Oct 152014

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 15 miles


Drove home from dealer on highway, very noticeable pulsing vibration felt in gas pedal once I hit 65mph. Vehicle also "shakes" at a constant rate at 50mph, and more violently at 82-85mph. Drove up to 500 miles per dealers direction, problem still exists and has not gone away at all.

- Shelby Township, MI, USA

problem #6

Oct 152014

Silverado 2500

  • 15 miles
Drove home from dealer on highway, very noticeable pulsing vibration felt in gas pedal once I hit 65mph. Vehicle also "shakes" at a constant rate at 50mph, and more violently at 82-85mph. Drove up to 500 miles per dealers direction, problem still exists and has not gone away at all.

- Shelby Township, MI, USA

problem #5

Jun 212014

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
Drove 15 miles to store. Shopped. Started home engine light came on. Tcl light staying on and truck shaking will barely run.

- San Augustine , TX, USA

problem #4

Jun 162014

Silverado 2500

  • 2,000 miles
The contact rented a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 40mph, the vehicle stalled and no warnings lamps illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact stated that she was able to restart vehicle. The rental car company was made aware of the failure, however no solution was offered. The approximate failure mileage was 2,000.

- Allendale, IL, USA

problem #3

May 062014

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • 10,383 miles
Upon startup, my truck's check engine light illuminated. The car was restarted and the light did not clear. Car was taken to dealer at 10,383 miles. They checked the codes and received a hard code P0420 bank 1, catalytic converter failure. The catalytic converter was replaced and the codes cleared out. Mainly reporting this because the truck is four and a half months old and has 10,383 miles upon failure. Catalytic converters should last longer.

- Buford, GA, USA

problem #2

Feb 252014

Silverado 2500

  • 1,700 miles
I pulled out of a parking lot on to a city street and pressed the gas pedal a little, planning to get up to about 25 mph because there was a red light a block away. The truck responded as if I had floored the pedal. I took my foot off of the pedal and the truck kept accelerating at full throttle. I hit the brakes thinking the cruise control had gone nuts, but hitting the brakes would not turn it off. It kept accelerating with the tach over 5000. I shifted to neutral and the engine speed dropped down to idle. The light turned green and I shifted back to drive and the engine immediately started accelerating again at full throttle. I put it back in neutral, moved over to the shoulder and turned the key off. Then I started the engine again and the problem disappeared. I'm 72; if my wife had been driving by herself, she probably would have had a serious wreck. The truck is a 2014 Silverado, bought 4 weeks ago, 6 cylinder work truck.

- Georgetown, TX, USA

problem #1

Feb 222014

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • 100 miles
I bought a brand new 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1 week ago today. The vehicle was delivered 2 days ago. The Chevrolet dealer did not inform me of the recall for possible engine fire. I checked my VIN number online and it shows that my vehicle has been recalled about a month ago and it still has a warning for not being serviced as per Chevrolet and NHTSA websites. Basically, the Chevrolet dealer sold me a new vehicle on recall against the company policy, document dcs3115 (notice to dealers), as posted on this website. The dealer did not inform me if there was any reprogramming done as required by the manufacturer. I called the general sales manager who knows my vehicle today and he did not know about the recall at all and stated he get back to me. According to GM customer care and aftersales on your website, all Chevrolet and GM dealers were sent and urgent stop delivery order on January 10, 2014 addressed to the dealer, general mangers, new vehicle sales managers and service managers to stop delivery of the Chevrolet Silverado and to reprogram them prior to sales. In the mean time I am stuck with this vehicle and do not know whether it was serviced or whether it is at risk of catching fire. This has shown lack of confidence in Chevrolet and its local dealer in communication, trust, and confidence. It has placed me and my family at risk. It has violated their responsibility of disclosure to the customer and has been negligent in its policies and protocol in the handling of recall as mandated by its customer policies GM customer care dsc3115 and us department of transportation NHTSA motor vehicle safety title 49, United States code chapter 301 of May 2013, office of the chief counsel. Please investigate.

- Auburn , MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?