Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,117 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chevrolet Silverado 3500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Apr 252011

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • 74,717 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet pickup equipped with cooper discoverer H/T tires, tire size 265/75/16. While driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle began to vibrate excessively for approximately thirty seconds. The contact pulled over and inspected the vehicle where he discovered that the rear driver side tire tread was completely separated and impacted into the rear driver side bed, causing severe damage. The defective tire was replaced with a spare. The vehicle was not repaired for the body damage. The failure mileage was 74,717. Updated 06/03/11 the remaining tires were replaced. Updated 06/13/11

- Winston Salem , NC, USA

problem #22

Oct 302010

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • 30,988 miles
Purchased 2 new(?) Wrangler St tires from dealer on 11/09/2005 but date code on tire was 2504 to match original 2 still in good shape. Breaks redone front end alignment performed. Front end of truck still vibrated at higher speeds on level road. Dealer tried numerous times to identify cause over 2-3 years. Balanced and rebalanced the tires. Did high speed test in shop. Suspected tires, but could not identify exact problem with tires. On 30 Oct. 2010 while traveling @ 70mph on clear day on straight interstate road, front passenger tire exploded. Road was clear, nothing was struck by tire, outside temp was about 73 degrees F. tire was shredded to bits and only had about 31K miles on it. Plenty of tread and no unusual wear patterns. Took tire to dealer and replaced both front tires with coopers and now there is no vibration in the front coming from the tires.

- Chattanooga, TN, USA

problem #21

Nov 182004

Silverado 3500 8-cyl Diesel

  • 30,998 miles
This claim is on a Chevy Silverado 3500 diesel truck that I bought new. Around 30,000 miles this vehicle was taken in for clutch problems 3 times, brakes going to the floor, the windshield coming loose, radio problems, steering problems and tire wear. General Motors, the better business bureau and the federal government was contacted an assured me this truck was not a lemon, I said it was. Now between 30,000 and 90,000 miles I have had numerous problems. I had the doors lock for no reason at all, lock by themselves. Both driver and passenger doors have hung at the fender causing massive dents where I had to force the doors open due to contact between the door and fender. The initial brake problem has come back. I had a water leak in the cab around the lights, that caused water damage to the seats. I rewired the rear lights, because the circuit board went out several times. Four sets of tires have been placed on this truck at 90,000 miles (tires cost around $1,000 a set). I have tried three brands of tires. They are generals (6 ply), Geo trac (10 ply), and toyo (10 ply). The dash system is going out (dash costs $1200). The truck is lacking power when pulling and today 7/28/2010 the clutch almost came out during normal driving at 90,232 miles (probably will cost between $2,000 and $3,000 if not more). The engine oil plus filter, the fuel filters, and greasing of the tie rod ends are all done per manufactures specifications. This truck has never been in a wreck, but looking at the door and fender problem, one would think it has. This truck has been a problem from day one. It is a lemon and a safety hazard. The lemon law was changed from three failures to four failures during the time this happened. Now the vehicle lemon law year is any vehicle 2004 or after. This truck is a 2003 model. It is time all parties involved come to the table and deal. The vehicle had an oil leak between the clutch and the engine that was never fixed. The engine was not running at full RPM. Updated IVOQ 10/01/10

- Kingston, TN, USA

problem #20

Aug 102009

Silverado 3500

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado 3500. The contact stated that the front and rear outer driver side cooper tires began losing rubber which caused tread separation. While driving 50 mph on the highway, the tire tread has continuously separated from the tires. The cooper dealer and manufacturer advised the contact to return the two tires that have failed. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #19

Nov 082007

Silverado 3500

  • miles
2003 Chevrolet Silverado right rear tire blew out causing the consumer to hit the guardrail on the right side of the roadway. Ohio traffic crash report# 10-9100758.

- Linden, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #18

Mar 272006

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,301 miles
: the contact stated while driving 10 mph and below, the steering allowed too much play and maneuvered loosely. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who replaced the steering shaft. However, the problem still exists. The rack and pinion had a slight leak. The consumer has had numerous components replaced on the vehicle such as wheel bearings, ball joints, tie rod ends, control arms, steering gear, shocks, steering linkages, coils springs, wheel hubs steering column and the power steering gear. The intermediate shaft was replaced three times and lubricated the last time. The consumer was told the steering design was flawed, which contains a looseness that can't seem to be corrected. The transmission hesitated at times. The dealer stated the clutches were burnt and glazed. The tires were exhibiting premature wear. Updated 08/02/06. Updated 04/16/08

- Westminster, CA, USA

problem #17

Oct 012005

Silverado 3500 4WD Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,145 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Contact stated while driving vehicle did not brake well. The vehicle was taken to a Goodyear tire to have the tires replaced. The mechanic told her the tires wore out. This resulted from the rotors being rusted. Also, the rear brakes wore out due to the rotors being rusted. The rotors needed to be replaced. The repairs will be made at the contact's expense. However, the repairs haven't been done at this time.

- Horton, MI, USA

problem #16

Dec 252003

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,500 miles
Pieces of tire keep falling off the sidewalls on four tires that came with vehicle. The tire pressure recommended is 44 psi. Apart from the pieces coming off the tires, there are no bulges or anything of that sort. Updated 11/15/05.

- Palo Alto, CA, USA

problem #15

Dec 202003

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
4X4 not working, charcoal canister, cd-player 3 times, complete new brake system from rotors, seals, caliperes etc. That I paid for $1,000., window regulator, door latches, noise coming from the steering area, dash peeling apart, chapman Chevy replaced all four tires twice within 50,000 miles-I finally went and spent $1,200 on new tires to make sure my family and I our safe

- Maricopa, AZ, USA

problem #14

Apr 102005

Silverado 3500

  • miles
Blowout of driver's side rear tire while going aproximately 50 mph on St rt 56. Caused over $3, ooo.oo worth of damage to vehicle. Tire taken to Firestone. Dealer. Dealer sending tire to their nashville, tn tech center for evaluation.

- Grove City, OH, USA

problem #13

Dec 282004

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When braking at any speed brake pedal would go to the floor, and there would be extended stopping distance. Dealership was notified, but did not resolve the problem. ABS displayed brake system failure. The consumer stated that the brakes failed on inclines. The consumer stated that there was an electrical short. The odometer failed and added extra mileage. The tires started separating after 300 miles. The radio became hot and shorted out. The air conditioner shorted out. The consumer stated that the new vehicle checklist was not filled out nor reviewed with him. The consumer stated that the engine knocks. The consumers fingers were burned by the radio after it got hot. The consumer stated that he heard a growling noise in the power steering. The consumer heard a buzzing noise in the transmission. The consumer had to use the emergency brake to stop the vehicle coming down a hill. The right headlight went out and turned black. The headlight was replaced with the wrong high beam light. The cd player will not take the cd. The speedometer will only go to 20 mph at times.

- North Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #12

Oct 182004

Silverado 3500 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving, the vehicle started shaking uncontrollably. The consumer was able to drive it to the dealer for inspection. The mechanic informed the consumer that the tires needed to balance and rotated. Please provide additional details.

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA

problem #11

Oct 062004

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
Tire just fell apart on the thruway. Luckily my wife and I are ok. I am going today to buy new tires. I will not keep or own Firestone tires again. This was not a blowout, the tire failed.

- Westfalls, NY, USA

problem #10

Aug 022004

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles
2003 Chevy 1500hd taken to 3 different dealers for a vibration in running gear, last dealer instructed me to lower tire pressure from 50 in front and 80 in the rear to 45 pounds all around. This is half the recommened pressure of the truck and I asked if this would be safe, I was told not to worry about it.

- Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #9

Oct 152003

Silverado 3500

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,140 miles
Constant wind noise from hood hinge flaps and top windshield seal at 50 and above. Also driver door seal squeals. I repaired the flapping noises myself after the dealer tried 6 times and said it was my bug deflector. The door seal was replaced after 6 trips and is worse now than then. I repaired this as well as I could. They replaced 1 of 3 seals. After 6 visits for my Goodyear tires (nothing found wrong again) they decide to replace them. It took 2 weeks to get tires and then they replaced 2. the trans is clunker and has computer software issues causing shifting problems and dealer can not duplicate. The computer thinks it is ok so no codes will be stored. I also pointed out the GM tsb's to them on this problem. I may as well go to the zoo for service at least I get to expect poor service from wild animals. I wrote the vp of GM and he responded to me and forwarded my letter to vp of sales and service. Went back for repairs and still have same problems and the new tires with 1000 miles are bad just like the others. $38,000 piece of junk with $3 hr monkeys repairing it. What a joke, they can have this truck back since there is nothing wrong with it. I was also refused service two times by my local dealer because I bought it else where. Service manager said: "you are not our loyal customer and if we decide to service you, you go behind our loyal customers, reguardless of order". I think he may be looking for other employment now that the vp called me to discuss my concerns, but that is still against the law and the GM contract. Think I am going to just get a horse and when it stops working just shoot it.

- Covington, GA, USA

problem #8

Nov 182003

Silverado 3500

  • 18,000 miles
Tires developed bubbles, and the steel belts are visible in places. Also, exhaust system is designed with the pipes sitting directly on top of the spare tire.

- Dalton, GA, USA

problem #7

Dec 052003

Silverado 3500

  • miles
I own a 2003 Z71 extended cab 4X4 Silverado w/ less than 9,000 miles. On numerous occasions on wet pavement there is no traction (the tires just spin). This causes problems when taking off (ie from a stop light) or stopping. This can cause a potential vehicle crash situation especially if you are accelerating across traffic.

- Richmond, IN, USA

problem #6

Mar 282003

Silverado 3500

  • miles
Original Goodyear tires have no traction in wet conditions. Vehicle has hydroplaned several times while traveling cautiously slow in wet weather.

- Acworth, GA, USA

problem #5

Nov 112003

Silverado 3500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have a 2003 Chevrolet Silverado with 17,000 miles on it and the vibration with the tires are driving me crazy. I have had them rotated regularly. Infact, I have rotated them more than any vehicle I have ever had. I reciently had them "trued" and balanced. The vibration continues. After a visit to my local bill heard Chevy dealer, they told me that the tires are in such bad shape that they would not "index" them. I now must show them documentation of when, where and who rotated my tires in the first 6,000 miles in order for them to do anything about the situation. Now I rotate my tire myself and therefor, I have no paperwork on it. Chevrolet says to take the vechile to a Goodyear tire dealership and see what they will do about it. I got more/better response from them. If the tires are 25% or less in wear, then they will replace them. Keep in mind, I had them "trued" which means I had them "shaved" to a more round shape. So now I have gone the extra mile to get the vibration out of the tires by "trueing" them and now I have to have them "deapth checked" to see if there is enough tread to justifiy a replacement. Wow! talk about damned if you do and damned if you don't! Chevrolet needs to step up to the plate and take care of there customers. I didn't buy a truck without tires, I bought a package deal. But when needed after the sale, it's the other guys malfunction and you need to go and see them. What has happened to our car companies? don't believe the comercials you see on tv.

- New Market, AL, USA

problem #4

Nov 042003

Silverado 3500

  • miles
Tires cause you to skid on any surface and have almost caused several acccidents. They have little traction at all! very dangerous!!

- Montgomery, AL, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?