Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 1
Average Mileage:
35,981 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 3500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #63

Nov 062016

Silverado 3500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

"takata recall" - was notified about the recall on July 2015 and still waiting for the replacement. As of November 5, 2016 it says parts to repair your vehicle are not currently available.

- Parrish, FL, USA

problem #62

May 202014

Silverado 3500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 3500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags). The dealer was unable to determine when the manufacturer would supply the remedy and parts for the recall repair for over two years. The manufacturer was contacted several times, but was unable to provide a time frame to provide a solution. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Thorndale, TX, USA

problem #61

Jul 012015

Silverado 3500

  • miles
Takata recall received recall notice in July 2015 contacted GM dealer ship and was told no parts available they would contact us when the parts came in. Called on 3/23/2016 and got the same story from the dealership again. We have 5-1 ton trucks and drive all across the U.S. this truck involved in the recall we made it a shop truck for local runs only untill this recall gets fixed.

- Warren, PA, USA

problem #60

Jun 172016

Silverado 3500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 3500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the part for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Martinsville, IN, USA

problem #59

Jun 172016

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 3500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the part for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 08/16/16 updated 08/17/16.

- Martinsville, IN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #58

Jul 012015

Silverado 3500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 3500. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the parts for the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Lanesboro, IA, USA

problem #57

Jul 212015

Silverado 3500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Odessen, TX, USA

problem #56

Jun 012015

Silverado 3500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 3500. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the remedy or parts for the recall were not available. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Bulverde, TX, USA

problem #55

Mar 202015

Silverado 3500

  • 26,500 miles
Takata recall..I can't believe it's over a year and still no fix for my truck. Are you really serious. Someone died tonite on the news. What the hell is going on with your auto industry. A year, a year later and nothing.. hope no one in my family is hurt or worse before you get off your butts and deal with this. What a disgrace to this country, an american car, yeah right. I want a fix and I want to know when this is going to happen. The service department says they can't do anything about the neglect on your part of this problem and say they're sorry. I want an answer to when this is going to be remedied. Please contact me soon!!

- Flemington, NJ, USA

problem #54

Apr 072016

Silverado 3500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts unavailable.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #53

Dec 152015

Silverado 3500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado. When the vehicle was purchased, the dealer would not release it until the recall repair was completed. The dealer did not disclose that the vehicle was included in a recall prior to purchasing the vehicle. The dealer and the manufacturer indicated that the parts were not available. The contact was uncertain when the vehicle would be released. The contact was notified by the dealer that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags). The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Winchester, VA, USA

problem #52

Mar 282016

Silverado 3500

  • miles
"takata recall" it has been over 8 months since I received a recall on this. As of today there is still no resolution from GM. This is irresponsible considering "it can cause serious injury or death". they should be forced to resolve this situation in some fashion so I am not risking the safety of my family while waiting.

- Cicero, IN, USA

problem #51

Jul 012015

Silverado 3500

  • miles
We received notice July 2015. We have yet to get approval for parts to get this item repaired. We have called several times to no avail! we our retired and travel all over the country. This defect is constantly on our mind. With the miles we travel we stand a greater risk of an accident occurring. Who do we turn to" the media"

- Oakley, CA, USA

problem #50

Jul 132015

Silverado 3500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Bradley, TX, USA

problem #49

Aug 072015

Silverado 3500 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 05/06/16 updated 05/09/16.

- Duncan, OK, USA

problem #48

Aug 152014

Silverado 3500

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was constantly illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000.

- Billings, MT, USA

problem #47

Sep 212015

Silverado 3500

  • 115,000 miles
The dash is cracked at the left corner of air bag. Afraid of pieces of dash hitting passenger if air bag deploys.

- Morristown, TN, USA

problem #46

Feb 092016

Silverado 3500

  • 68,080 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact stated that there was a loud abnormal noise inside the vehicle. The air bag warning indicator remained illuminated. In addition, the seat belt pre-tensioner failed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 68,080.

- New Brighton, MN, USA

problem #45

May 282015

Silverado 3500

  • 0 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Silverado. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V324000 (air bags) and 10V240000 (electrical system). However, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the issues. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Goffstown, NH, USA

problem #44

Jul 202015

Silverado 3500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Silverado. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Sneads Ferry, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?