Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 3
Average Mileage:
79,235 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Chevrolet Tahoe brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Tahoe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Chevrolet Tahoe Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #39

Mar 072013

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • 127 miles


I was driving North on rt 67 in southbury ct. When a deer crossed the street in front of me. I applied the brakes firmly and at first they felt fine, then they just went to the floor. Fortunately the car slowed from the first application of the brakes since I no brakes after that point. Using the E-brake I inched my way to a safe spot on the side of the road and called a tow truck. The car is currently at a repair shop and I am waiting for an estimate. This incident appears to match many others related to EA11001. As you know, this might have turned out differently under other circumstances. Fortunately in my case, the deer jumped out at the right place at the right time. If the deer did not jump out and the brakes failed later in my trip I might have been on a hill or at a busy intersection where injury and property damage would have been a certainty. I find it remarkable that EA11001 is taking so long to resolve given the seriousness of this issue. Please provide me with any updated information. Thank you.

- New Milford, CT, USA

problem #38

May 052012

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • miles
The rear steel hydraulic brake line rusted through and rendered the brakes inoperable. The brake warning light did not come on immediately after the failure. All hydraulic fluid was lost to the rear brakes.

- Pine Beach, NJ, USA

problem #37

Dec 192011


  • 156,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Tahoe. The contact stated the brakes seemed to fail whenever they tried to stop the vehicle on a bumpy surface. The contact stated the anti-lock braking system failed when the road was not even. Recall campaign id number: 05V379000 (services brakes: Hydraulic anti-lock) repair was performed in 2005, but the failure recurred. The contact did not have the vehicle inspected, but stated the stopping distance and lack of brake response was the same as it was when the original recall was performed. The failure mileage was 156,000 and the current mileage was 157,000. Updated 05/31/12

- Tyingsboro, MA, USA

problem #36

Apr 202012

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • 157,688 miles


Was driving a rural two lane road when the car in front of me slowed to turn left. I tried to brake and the brake pedal wet to the floor, no brakes at all. I veered of F to the shoulder and was able to avoid collision and slow the car using the parking brake. I called my husband and he had me check my brake fluid which was almost empty. He brought some, we refilled and saw a large puddle start to form under car near the driver side door. Upon getting the vehicle home, we found a two foot section of hard line so corroded it was leaking in three places. To find the leak it was necessary to remove the gasoline tank to see it. And replace that section of line. We are in the process of replacing all the lines a there are many sections that are corroded (rusted ) very badly. I see no other way to feed secure in this vehicle and dealer cost are said to be $1200 to $1500. The area around the brake line was clean and we saw no cause for this corrosion.

- Cocoa, FL, USA

problem #35

Apr 012011


  • 144,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Tahoe. The contact stated that all the brake lines were rusted and the fuel lines were corroded. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer were notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 144,000 and the current mileage was 154,000.

- Minnetonka, MN, USA

problem #34

Jan 282012

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • 105,600 miles
Our 2001 Tahoe had brake failure due to a corroded brake line. We were told all five were corroded and needed to be replaced. We have lived in both NY and NJ and are the only owners of the truck. We found out that GMC 1999-2003 trucks are in your engineering investigation for brake line failure due to corroded brake lines in the salt belt states which we live in. I wanted to add this complaint with the hopes that others will as well and if a recall is issued we can get compensated for the very hefty repair bill.

- Freehold , NJ, USA

problem #33

Dec 172011


  • 126,000 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Tahoe. The contact stated while driving 10 mph, she applied the brakes and the pedal depressed to the floor. As a result, the contact crashed into another vehicle. The contact noticed that the brake lines were fractured and leaking brake fluid upon exiting the vehicle. The vehicle was safely driven home and parked. The vehicle was then taken to an independent repair shop, but repairs were not performed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 126,000.

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #32

Oct 152011

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • 119,577 miles
I experienced brake line failure on my 2001 Tahoe due to rust. I was hauling a trailer last week in southern Utah and traveled over some high passes. In escalente, I put my foot on the brake and it went all the way to the floor. Scary to think what might have happened an hour earlier when I was driving in the mountains. The brake line running over the gas tank had completely rusted through. All the brake and fuel lines were severely rusted. Fortunately, the only shop in town was able to make up a replacement line and that got me home. I'm in the process now of replacing all the brake and fuel lines. This is not due to neglect. I wash and clean the undercarriage often during the winter to remove salt and sand. I first noticed rust within a year of purchasing the car in December 2000. About 5 years ago, I had my mechanic install a "counteract gsl-2-lc corrosion control system". the rust continued to worsen this failure could have been catastrophic! I'm getting my lines replaced but what about all the other Tahoe experiencing the same problem?

- Eden, UT, USA

problem #31

Oct 212011

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • 87,500 miles
Brake line ruptured and the fluid leaked out resulting in damage to vehicle.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #30

Oct 052011

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Brakes failed to function properly. Brake pedal suddenly retracted to the floor and braking power was nearly lost. The brake fluid reservoir was almost empty. Upon investigation it was clear that fluid was leaking through a rusted steel line on the left rear of the vehicle. The line showed significant rust particularly within several inches where it connects above the rear differential. The right rear line was also very rusted in the same location but not yet leaking --- both lines where replace at owners expense. The steel line that leads up to the master cylinder is also very rusty.

- Newtown, PA, USA

problem #29

May 092007

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • 130,000 miles


Gas gauge had been broken for several years took to the dealership and was told that there have been reported problems with this happening but no recall had been issued after several years my brother bought a new fuel pump and filter and fixed the problem or at least I hope it is fixed. ABS/ brake light has also been coming on and off I have also taken it to dealership for this problem about a year ago and was told that it is just the sensor not to worry about it brakes will be fine or I could always take out the fuse so light will stay off which I have not done, so far lucky and no failure with brakes working.

- Fort Mill, SC, USA

problem #28

Sep 082011

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • 227,652 miles
On approx. September 8th, 2011. My anti lock brake system on my Tahoe started to engage at low speeds, even though it was dry pavement. When you pull up to a stop light or into a parking space, at low speed, the ABS system kicks in and does not allow you to stop properly. Almost causing an accident. I took the vehicle to my regular mechanic and he informed me that there was a safety recall on this vehicle for this problem. I called Chevrolet in il and spoke to service advisor. He asked me the VIN number of the vehicle and then looked it up and told me that this was done in 2005, but there is a lifetime warranty due to the safety recall and it being the same problem. I set up an appointment for September 15th, 2011 at 10:00am. I took my vehicle in to them and again was told that it was covered under the safety recall and has a lifetime warranty. After a few hours, they called me back and now told me it was not covered and that I now owed them an inspection fee on my vehicle. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Dixon, IL, USA

problem #27

Aug 012011


  • 100,126 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Tahoe. The contact stated when the brakes were applied the antilock system activated and the vehicle would not come to a complete stop. Previously the vehicle was taken to the dealer and repaired under NHTSA recall campaign id number: 05V379000, service brakes, hydraulic: Antilock; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 100,126.

- Rochester, NH, USA

problem #26

Dec 052009

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Tahoe. The contact was driving approximately 10 mph and approaching a traffic stop signal when the brake pedal was depressed with a delayed response in the activation of the anti-lock brake system. In addition, the parking brake and ABS warning indicators illuminated whenever the engine was in operation and remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. There was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic: Antilock). The recall was offered in the salt belt states which excluded the vehicle from being eligible for the recall repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000. Updated 09/28/2011

- Radford, VA, USA

problem #25

Jun 062011


  • 145,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Tahoe. The contact stated was driving 25 mph when the brakes were applied, but the vehicle would not stop. The contact had to pump the brakes for the vehicle to come to a complete stop as the brake warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. A local mechanic inspected the vehicle and found that the front brakes were rusted and leaking brake fluid. The same brake failure was repaired for the rear brakes prior to the failure. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 145,000 and the current mileage was 153,000.

- Easton, CT, USA

problem #24

Apr 012011


  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Tahoe. The contact stated that he got his vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock). The contact stated that at low speeds the ABS activated, which made the stopping distance for the vehicle much longer. The vehicle was repaired in 2006 and identical failure recurred. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 125,000 and the current mileage was 130,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Millington, NJ, USA

problem #23

May 072001


  • 95,000 miles
2001 Chevy Tahoe brake failure. Very sudden. This is a major safety issue that could have been catastrophic. There is corrosion on the brake lines and is reportedly occurring on other Chevy makes from 1999-2003. We need to replace all of the brake lines per dealership.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #22

May 072011

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • 96,500 miles
My brakes suddenly failed as I was approaching a red traffic light. When I pushed on the brake pedal it went all the way to the floor and produced no deceleration of the vehicle. I was able to narrowly avoid an accident, but the situation could have been deadly if traffic had been different. The cause of the failure was diagnosed as a rusted brake line. I found a report of an ongoing investigation of rusted brake lines that covers my vehicle make/model/year, and I want to add my event to your database.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #21

Sep 172005


  • 78,818 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Tahoe. The contact stated that the assist brake system failed in 2005. In addition, the ABS module was replaced and the failure continued. The contact notified the manufacturer to file a complaint. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was 78,818 and the current mileage was 130,000. Updated 03/24/11 updated 1/4/11

- Stephenville, TX, USA

problem #20

Jan 172011


  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Chevrolet Tahoe. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced unwanted antilock brake system (ABS) activation. The condition was likely to occur in environmentally corrosive areas. The vehicle was repaired under recall number 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock). Six years after the repair the vehicle experienced unwanted antilock brake activation. The contact took the vehicle back to the dealer who stated that the ABS sensor needed to be replaced. Since the vehicle was repaired under the recall the manufacturer was not willing to repair the vehicle under the recall again. The contact stated that the remedy repair did not fix the failure and the manufacturer should extend the recall. The failure mileage was 108,000.

- Audubon, PA, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?