Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
97,069 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Tahoe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Feb 012015

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 185,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Tahoe. The contact stated that while driving out of the driveway and depressing the brake pedal, the brake pedal pulsated and the vehicle failed to respond without warning. The contact continued to depress the brake pedal and the vehicle hesitated to respond. The failure recurred on several occasions while driving at low speeds of 5 mph or less. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic). The approximate failure mileage was 185,000. Updated 04/13/16 the consumer stated the brakes functioned properly when the ABS was disconnected. Updated 04/20/16

- Hilton, NY, USA

problem #31

Oct 012005


  • 40,000 miles
I am the original owner of a 2002 Chevrolet Tahoe that experienced ABS cut-in at low speeds in dry weather in 2005 and was recalled under campaign 05V379000 / NHTSA action number : PE05020. The cut-in problem has recently returned, with exact same symptoms as before. I called GM as the original recall no longer appears to be in effect, but they do not appear to be willing/able to cover any repairs against that recall despite the corrosion treatment and lubrication obviously not being a permanent fix. Other GM vehicles impacted by the ABS issue and which are still in service will begin to experience similar failures and NHTSA and GM need to recognize the original issue has not been resolved and take action.

- Lexington, OH, USA

problem #30

Sep 282014

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • 137,000 miles
The ABS kicks in at slow speeds while stopping in normal conditions. Had all new brakes put on and the problem continues. Checked recall status on my vehicle and the year and symptoms of recall were found at NHTSA id#05V379000 / GM recall #05068. Called Chevy and they said my vehicle didn't qualify for recall due to it's VIN. Very upset because my vehicle fits exactly what is on recall and GM wont fix it.

- Wheaton, IL, USA

problem #29

Nov 232009

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles


2002 Chevrolet Tahoe. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle brake line corrosion. The consumer lost braking without warning. He was able to avoid a serious accident. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and upon inspection, it was found that one of the rear brake lines had ruptured due to brake line corrosion, which caused a loss of brake fluid. In addition, the front brake lines exhibited the same problem.

- East Hanover, NJ, USA

problem #28

Feb 072014

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • 117,000 miles
EA11001 brake pedal suddenly went to the floor during braking, hit pole. Repair center showed me a batch of rusted brake lines entering the ABS box underneath the drivers side door. There was fluid leaking from that group of lines, four of them together. Searching the internet, I have found there are thousands of complaints and news shows about this issue and yet, you have done little. Why " I have two of these vehicles grey [xxx] and green [xxx] and they both have this issue! - wtf " and they do not work with 1/2 the system as stated in EA11001 - the pedal goes to the floor! this is severely dangerous! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Elgin, IL, USA

problem #27

May 082012

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • 162,604 miles
I just was told by the GM dealer that my brake lines are rusted out and need to be replaced as they will eventually fail. I have only 160,500 miles on the vehicle. The Chevrolet dealer said that GM will not cover costs of $1,200. Never had any prior Chevy Tahoe's that I owned have any issues like this.

- Yardley, PA, USA

problem #26

Apr 162012


  • 200,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Tahoe. The contact stated that after taking the vehicle to the dealer for routine service, he was advised that all of the brake lines were severely rusted and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired nor was the manufacturer contacted. The failure and the current mileages were approximately 200,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- West Hartford, CT, USA

problem #25

Feb 132012

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • 109,000 miles
At low speeds such as driving in a parking lot or city traffic, upon activation of the vehicle brakes, the anti-lock brakes activate unexpectedly on dry pavement thereby extending the stopping distance. No crash has occurred yet some near misses have happened. This occurs at almost every low-speed stop. I called Chevrolet as this exact condition is described under an existing broad recall for vehicles in my category but they insist no such recall is active for my vehicle. They further strongly and repeatedly requested "for their informational purposes" that I, at my cost, take my vehicle to a Chevrolet dealer for servicing. If they later determined the cause to be defective parts they would discuss reimbursement options. I am a good mechanic and regularly maintain my own vehicles. Rather than pay for dealer service on a defective design that is well known with a published resolution I will make the repairs myself. I want NHTSA to be aware of Chevrolet's strong arm tactics to induce customers to pay for diagnostic service they should be covering and this problem has not been fully resolved by existing recalls. They have many vehicles on the road susceptible to this dangerous condition. If provided a complaint or tracking number I will follow-up with you on the results of my diagnostic and repair work.

- Boalsburg, PA, USA

problem #24

Dec 162010


  • 85,000 miles
I had a complete brake failure on my 2002 Tahoe after driving at hwy speeds, no warning lights, nothing, could have been catastrophic, and or deadly. Brake lines completely rusted under drivers door along hundreds, and thousands of other complaints of same exact problem, same location. To replace all of my brake lines except the rear lines, which were replaced 2 years ago for the same problem, it cost me $800. Recall needed before somebody is seriously injured, or killed.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #23

Nov 292011

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • 134,734 miles
I was en route to the local gas station to fuel up my vehicle to return home from a road trip. As I approached the stop sign and applied my brakes, my vehicle failed to stop and I traveled right through the intersection and drove off the road into the ditch in order to stop. It appears that the brake line has actually corroded through just under the drivers side door, as I left a trail of fluid behind. I thank god I wasn't already on the highway with my family, or this may have been tragic. We didn't make our trip, but are happy to be alive. A friend helped move my vehicle to the garage where it still sits waiting to be repaired.

- West Chicago, IL, USA

problem #22

Nov 082011


  • 70,000 miles


2002 Tahoe brakes, calipers all lines rusted out. Brakes to floor almost had accident. Fluid all leaked out of system when lines failed.

- Towson, MD, USA

problem #21

Nov 042011

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • 43,750 miles
I was traveling on a parkway, and had to brake when traffic ahead started to slow down. The truck started to slow down, but while I was still traveling approx. 35-40mph (was orig. Driving 55.... normal highway speed when I started to brake) when the brake pedal went to the floor, and I lost all braking. The only reason I didn't rear end the car in front of me was because there was no car in the lane to my right at the time. I rolled to the side of the road (luckily near an exit), and after turning on my hazard lights, my friend who was in the passenger seat and witnessed the entire thing, and I got out of the truck. He opened the hood, and I got down on the ground and looked under the truck. It was obvious where the problem was, as there was brake fluid leaking down from above the area of the center (gear housing) of the rear axle. I slowly drove (walking speed) the truck from the shoulder to the exit and into a gas station a few blocks away. The owner was closing up, but was nice enough to take my truck and promised to work on it the next morning. I got a local hotel room for the night, as we were no where near home. The next morning, the mechanic said my truck was done. He replaced both brake lines in the rear of my truck and bled the system. He recommended I drive cautiously straight home (which I did uneventfully), but every brake line in the truck (and fuel line) would need to be replaced due to rust. My truck is in my driveway awaiting a robert Chevrolet (NY) appt. In 3 days. Btw, this bought new by me truck has low mileage, and I have receipts piled 1/2" high for between $3,000-$4,000 (out of pocket) worth of brake related brake repairs on this truck, and it doesn't take much searching on the internet to realize this is not a isolated case. Please look in to this because someone's going to get killed. Hopefully not already.

- Seaford, NY, USA

problem #20

Oct 312005


  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Tahoe. The contact stated that the vehicles ABS system activated and the brakes failed to activate when engaged. As a result, the contact crashed onto the back another vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop who diagnosed that the failure was a result of a faulty speed sensor. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 155,000.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #19

Apr 202011


  • 111,000 miles
2002 Chevy Tahoe. While driving attempted to slow down for a red light and drifted through it just missed getting hit by a tractor trailer. Got the trucked stopped and had found the brake lines at the antilock brake controller are corroded and leaking.

- Altoona, PA, USA

problem #18

Mar 172011


  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Tahoe. The contact was driving 5 mph when the braking system malfunctioned, causing an increase in stopping distance. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock) and the contact took the vehicle to the dealer where he was advised that his vehicle was not included in the recall. The dealer recommended having a diagnostic performed on the vehicle. The vehicle was neither diagnosed for the failure nor repaired. The failure mileage was 82,000.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #17

Apr 132011

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Tahoe K1500. While driving approximately 15 mph, the contact stated that the vehicle continued to accelerate while depressing the brakes. She was able to engage the emergency brake and shifted the vehicle into park. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and the contact was informed that the brake line was rusted and corroded. The dealer recommended that she replace the brake lines. The contact did not inform the manufacturer of the failure nor was the vehicle repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 69,000. Updated 06/21/11 updated 06/24/11

- Allendale, NJ, USA

problem #16

Apr 062011


  • 99,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Tahoe. While driving approximately 10 mph the brakes were applied and the brake pedal depressed to the floor. The vehicle rolled to a stop and the contact noticed brake fluid was spilling under the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to an independent repair shop where the contact was advised to replace the brake lines. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 99,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- South Glastonbury, CT, USA

problem #15

Mar 122011

Tahoe 4WD 8-cyl

  • 156,854 miles
Approaching intersection attempted to stop for red light, brake pedal went to floor with very diminished braking. Fortunately it was a Saturday evening and there was no car in front of me and none coming through the intersection. Inspection showed rear brake line split after ABS due to excessive rust. Two days later and we would have been on vacation driving in the mountains. The day and time is the only reason the occupants walked away. There was no brake idiot light or message center message to indicate a problem. The brake idiot light does work when the key is turned on.

- Milford, OH, USA

problem #14

Aug 012010


  • 113,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Tahoe. The contact was driving approximately 10 mph when the ABS warning light illuminated. He turned the vehicle off and on and the light went out. He stated that the ABS warning light would illuminate intermittently and the failure would only occur when driving at low speeds. The failure had been ongoing since August 2010. He called the manufacturer and was advised that his VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic:anti lock). The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for the failure. The failure mileage was 113,000 and the current 117,000.

- Conway, AR, USA

problem #13

Jan 312011

Tahoe 8-cyl

  • 47,663 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Tahoe. The contact stated when coming to a stop and depressing the brakes, the ABS sensor would engage independently and cause the vehicle to lunge forward. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who informed the contact that there was a recall for the failure under NHTSA campaign id number: 05V379000 (service brakes, hydraulic: Antilock), which was repaired in 2006. The manufacturer was contacted but provided no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 47,663 and the current mileage was 91,000. Updated 03/10/11 updated 03/14/11

- Baltimore, MD, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?