Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,890 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer EXT electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer EXT:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer EXT Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #55

Sep 062009

Trailblazer EXT

  • 82,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Instrument panel gauges fluctuate, showing inaccurate readings. Speedometer sticks on one speed and also just fails consistently.

- Salisbury, MD, USA

problem #54

Feb 052010

Trailblazer EXT

  • miles
On 02/05 /2010 I was going South on 165 to monroe, la it was about 8:00 at night, when the dashboard lights then the headlights just went out. This made me go into a panic. I did not know what to do because it was very dark. I did manage to pull over. Thankfully there was a gas station near by. On 2/06/2010 I took to a Chevy dealer and they told me that they have be seeing this problem for some time. But they close early on Saturday so they could not fits it in one day. So I took to another repair shop and they told me they have seen this same problem 4 times in Jan. So Chevrolet has a problem that needs looking into.

- Sterlington, LA, USA

problem #53

Feb 152010

Trailblazer EXT

  • 65,750 miles
I own a 2004 Chevy trailblazer that I purchased new in 2004. In 2007, the instrument cluster began to malfunction exhibiting erratic function. I took it to my local dealer where I purchased the vehicle and it was replaced under the warranty. Now, here it is, 2/2010 and the cluster is doing the very same thing the original defective cluster was doing. I have gone online and read where many, many owners of Chevy products from 2003 on are having these comparable issues and that Chevy has some sort of extended warranty they are offering for many GM products with these defective clusters. I am disgusted by the fact that, from what I have read online, trailblazer owners have been excluded from this extended warranty due to an inadequate number of complaints necessary to warrant coverage. It is a known fact that the trailblazer has the identical instrument cluster as the other GM products covered in their extended warranty. At this point, I am adding myself to what I'm sure is a growing number of unhappy GM owners coming to you in hopes that GM will be made held responsible to replace a their defective product.

- Atchison, KS, USA

problem #52

Feb 042010

Trailblazer EXT

  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The speedometer, oil pressure gauge, and tachometer have stopped working on my 04 trailblazer. Only have 64,000 miles on it. Have talked to mechanics about replacing. Told it would cost between $400 and $800 to replace but may not fix the problem in the long term--many times replaced clusters have the same problem. Look at the internet and you will see that many people are having the same problem.

- Plattsburg, MO, USA

problem #51

Jul 012009

Trailblazer EXT 4WD

  • miles
Each time I start my 2004 Chevy Trailblazer ext the "change engine oil" light comes on. After 15 seconds it turns off. On several occasions, my RPM will either go extremely high, traveling 30 and the RPM says I'm doing 90, or will go extremely low, going 30-says I'm going 0. also, my gas gauge started me out with just under a half a tank of gas, and when I got to work 15 miles away, I am under a quarter a tank of gas. Finally, my 4WD and all-wheel-drive flashes intermittently while I am driving. I do not need to switch it myself, it just sometimes switches to 4hi, and flashes between. This morning I noticed the light wasn't on, period. The electrical system is entirely messed up.

- Vevay, IN, USA

problem #50

Jan 282010

Trailblazer EXT

  • 84,000 miles
I have a 2004 Chevy extended trailblazer with 84,000 miles. My speedometer is stuck at 90 mph. I understand it is not a recall issue and this is not covered under my warranty. It will be approximately $500 to fix a safety issue. I don't feel this is fair. It should be a recall. It is a safety issue when you don't know what rate of speed you are traveling. I understand from discussion boards in the internet that this is a very common Chevy trailblazer problem. I have not yet had it fixed as I cannot afford it at this time. My car was just in a few weeks ago for a cost of over $300 for a thermostat. Tw*

- Wallingford, CT, USA

problem #49

Jan 052009

Trailblazer EXT

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2004 Chevy trailblazer with a malfunctioning dash. The RPM gauge does not work, speedometer bounces back and forth only working once in a while, gas gauge quite working last week so I am judging by how many miles I travel. The mileage has not stopped functioning yet. I feel that this is not a safe manner to operate this vehicle bu it is my only mode of transportation.I understand that there are several complaints online about this very same problem. Chevy should be help accountable and recall/fix this issue.

- Harrisburg, NC, USA

problem #48

Jan 142010

Trailblazer EXT

  • 47,000 miles
All gauges are randomly failing, but even when working they do not read properly. The speedometer will read all over the place and not move and then at times appear to work, but thanks to a gps in the car I noticed it was showing 10 to 20 mph off on the low side.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #47

Oct 262009

Trailblazer EXT

  • 62,321 miles
I own a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer ext. Took the vehicle in October 2009 for a oil change & a exhaust leak was told the exhaust manifold needed to be replaced, after searching on the internet found out it is a known problem that GM when manufacturing the vehicle used bolts that were to long therefore the exhaust manifold wasn't properly torque/tightened which made the manifold vibrate until it broke and prior to its breaking it leaked the manifold becomes loose and that leads to it cracking. After having the vehicle repaired at the cost of $319.50 & having it back for a month & driving it 3 times my speedometer went haywire registering a sitting still speed of 45 mph. Once again looked on the internet and found numerous complaints about the instrument panel cluster they have issued recalls for the Chevy trucks and Yukon GMC for the same issue but no recall so far about the trailblazer. This repair will cost me $516.33, both of these repairs are due to faulty manufacturing & should be listed as a recall. I just hope that none of the other issues I have read about becomes a concern for me.

- Chardon, OH, USA

problem #46

Oct 262009

Trailblazer EXT

  • 62,321 miles
I own a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer ext. Took the vehicle in October 2009 for a oil change & a exhaust leak was told the exhaust manifold needed to be replaced, after searching on the internet found out it is a known problem that GM when manufacturing the vehicle used bolts that were to long making the manifold get to hot and therefore leads to it cracking. After having the vehicle repaired at the cost of $319.50 & having it back for a month & driving it 3 times my speedometer went haywire registering a sitting still speed of 45 mph. Once again looked on the internet and found numerous complaints about the instrument panel cluster they have issued recalls for the Chevy trucks and Yukon GMC for the same issue but no recall so far about the trailblazer. This repair will cost me $516.33, both of these repairs are due to faulty manufacturing & should be listed as a recall. I just hope that none of the other issues I have read about becomes a concern for me.

- Chardon, OH, USA

problem #45

Dec 082009

Trailblazer EXT

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Chevrolet trailblazer speedometer and fuel gauge are unreliable. Speedometer sometimes seems to work but is no accurate when it does show a speed. Fuel gauge moves but is usually the needle is not even in the normal area ie. Between E and F. there are numerous complaints online, but GM has not issued a recall. This is a prevalent problem that GM should resolve at no cost to the owners.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #44

Oct 152009

Trailblazer EXT

  • 49,000 miles
I have a 2004 trailblazer I purchased in 2007 for my wife. After about a year the speedometer is not working at all. After a little research, how found out many people are having the same problem. I believe Chevy should recall the instrument panel.

- Lake Worth, FL, USA

problem #43

Jul 132005

Trailblazer EXT

  • miles
We are the owner of a 2004 Chevy trailblazer. I would like to file 4 major concerns regarding our vehicle. The first I have brought to the attention of the Chevy company. Our trailblazer was shutting off due to a bad seal somehow connected when the heat/air is running. The vehicle just shuts off and you lose complete control. We had an outside mechanic fix the problem. The second is the loss of our windshield front windshield wipers. They no longer work. The 3rd is the rear molding broke loose from water collecting and then freezing with no way of preventing this from happening. We lost this piece of molding while driving on the highway and it hit a semi truck. The 4th is a major electrical problem that has not be able to be diagnosed. Each morning when starting the vehicle, the SUV will act like the battery is dead and then start. I have had this vehicle in while under warranty and problem was not found. I am quite concerned with this vehicle. I am not sure if others have had these problems, but I would like to have them notated. We are currently on our 3rd battery since 2004.

- East Liverpool, OH, USA

problem #42

Aug 102009

Trailblazer EXT

  • 89,000 miles
The speedometer has been giving me problems for some time. At first it would malfunction from time to time at approximately 89,000. Now the speedometer has stopped all together. When I started investigating this problem I found out that Chevrolet has another vehicle, "Chevy Tahoe", that has had the same problem. Why there is a recall to fix the Tahoe and not the trailblazers? definite "defect trend" that should result in a recall. I don't have the $600+ to fix so must continue to drive with my young children in it. A very unsafe situation for me and the others on the road! waiting for the whole instrument panel to fail as others say happens next!

- Calhan, CO, USA

problem #41

Dec 082008

Trailblazer EXT

  • 53,434 miles
On November 26 2007 took my Chevy trailblazer 04 4 wheel dr. In for steering wheel shimmy. Could not duplicate. Also C.D. changer will not eject cd's and low beams on headlights not working. Repaired headlights and C.D. changer. Did not fix steering problem. On June 07 took in for major service with 33,000 miles. On Dec.8 2008 took in for stalling when coming to a stop. Could not duplicate the problem.this is my main complaint, the stalling on Jan.. 10 2009 took in for erratic speedometer which was happening for about 3 months off and on.rebuilt the speedometer. On June 11 2009 took car in for stalling, ses lamp comes on when driving and HVAC fan does not blow on the #5 position. There is alot of grinding and whining when vehicle shifts to second gear. And turning at low speeds there is a whining coming from the front end. Removed and replaced 02 sensor. For the stalling they could not verify concern. Recommended throttle body de-carb and injection system cleaning. For the #5 fan not working removed and replaced speed control resistor. Transmission they could not feel any unusual shifting.for the steering prob.replaced power steering pump and power steering gear. Car still stalling on 6-19 -09. Took in. Did another decarb service and replace fuel filter.still stalls. 7-01-09 when car starts there is a loud clutch fan noise like a jet taking off. Feels like the trans is overworking, veryloud not right. Fix, was fancontrol set im properly trouble code P0483. Bulletin 05-06-02-004 reprogram PCM. Claim code1013B. July 8 took car for stalling issue July 9 took car for stalling issue July 10 took car for stalling issues no paper work for these 3 days they were trying to recreate the stalling issue. July 20 2009 in shop for 16 days for stalling issue they finally confirmed.replaced PCM. They called in tech assistance case #10971267 he said to perform top engine cleaning. Outcome is cannot guarantee repairs at this time due to how random this prob occurs.

- Pleasant Hill, CA, USA

problem #40

Jan 152009

Trailblazer EXT

  • 63,000 miles
The speedometer on my 2004 Chevrolet trailblazer frequently gets stuck or stops working, while driving.

- Turlock, CA, USA

problem #39

Feb 152009

Trailblazer EXT

  • 30,000 miles
2004 Chevrolet trailblazer all instruments intermittently quit functioning during normal operation (speedometer, fuel level, RPM's, battery charge, oil pressure, temperature, mileage, and gear indicator. You can't tell what gear you are in. Difficult to figure out forward from reverse. This is not safe at all to operate especially not knowing what gear you are in.

- Kingston, OH, USA

problem #38

Nov 202006

Trailblazer EXT

  • 45,000 miles
Instrument cluster my 2004 Chevy trailblazer has been acting erratic or not at all on some of the gauges. I've read that it is a very common problem and some have been recalled but not all.

- Bay City, MI, USA

problem #37

Feb 072009

Trailblazer EXT

  • 63,000 miles
On February 7, 2009, we were driving on the interstate. When approaching traffic I took the vehicle off of cruise and began to slow down. However, the speedometer did not move. After that, everytime I began to accelerate, the speedometer would not move. Everytime I start the car it drops 5 mph, but when you use cruise or do a constant speed, it sticks again. We are getting ready to go on a big family vacation and do not feel safe taking my family in a vehicle that you don't know how fast you are going. My mechanic is replacing the cluster with a used one from the local salvage yard. A used one with labor is still going to cost me $200 and who knows how long that one will last. I cannot believe with this many complaints about the same equipment failure that GM hasn't done anything. It's just not safe!

- Cape Girardeau, MO, USA

problem #36

Apr 182009

Trailblazer EXT

  • 55,000 miles
Yesterday my dashboard control panel worked great. This morning (4/18/09) as I was driving to my bank, I noticed that none of the gauges and/or lights were working ( oil gauge, temperature gauge, battery gauge, speedometer, tachometer, etc). Major safety factor.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?