Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.7

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,775 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer EXT fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer EXT:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer EXT Owner Comments (Page 2 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #82

May 202010

Trailblazer EXT

  • 55,357 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fuel gauge was not working properly. It would fluctuate constantly.

- Mililani, HI, USA

problem #81

Mar 132011

Trailblazer EXT 4WD 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Gas gauge does not work.check engine light stays on and gauge shows empty all the time.

- Middle River, MD, USA

problem #80

Sep 122010

Trailblazer EXT 4WD 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
Vehicle bought Aug 2010 with 76, 014 miles on it. About one month after the purchase the gas gauge starting acting erratic. ( could have been that way when we bought it but didn't notice.) when you would fill it up it would still read E until you drove about 50 miles off from it then it would bounce around sometimes reading correct other times not. I ran out of gas on I-69 one time fortunately for me no one was behind me because I the whole vehicle starting jerking and eventually just shut off. The vehicle still read that it had gas at that point. In February 2011 the gas gauge just quit working all together would read E even when you filled it all the way up. Had to use gallons used to tell how much fuel was in it. May 2011 the check engine light started coming on and off. July 11, 2011 I took it to a GM service shop found out the error for the check engine light was the fuel sensor and the same reason the gauge wasn't working. $458 and change to have it fixed. I had it fixed because I couldn't afford to run out of gas on the freeway again with three small children that are frequently riding with me. Looking for a recall because this is a very widespread issue and a potentially dangerous one when people are running out of gas on major freeways because of it.

- Charlotte, MI, USA

problem #79

Jul 112011

Trailblazer EXT

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The fuel sensor in my 2006 Chevrolet trailblazer has been spuriously failing. It does not accurately represent the amount of fuel that is in my tank. Sometime it will say that my tank is full when I know that it is not, and sometimes it will say that my tank is empty immediately after filling it. My car has 65,000 miles on it.

- Attleboro, MA, USA

problem #78

May 022011

Trailblazer EXT 4WD 6-cyl

  • 62,015 miles
The fuel gauge in my Chevrolet Trailblazer ext failed resulting in the vehicle stalling on a busy road. This is the second time that the gauge on this car has malfunctioned (was repaired by the dealer after a similar incident about 2 years ago). At this time, the gauge once again does not work at all.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #77

Jan 102009

Trailblazer EXT 4WD 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
I have a 2006 Chevy trailblazer. I am having problems with the fuel gauge. It is always on empty, even after I fill it up. I've called Chevy about the problem. I've seen on topix.com that are about 589 people with the same issue.

- West Orange, NJ, USA

problem #76

May 202011

Trailblazer EXT 4WD 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The gas tank registers empty even when full. Gas gage floats randomly up and down, not staying accurate, gas light coming on constantly saying "low fuel" even as pulling away from the tank after a complete fillup. Had been doing it for a few weeks off/on, now constant. Gauge constantly reading empty, rarely moving at all. Gas light stays on. Now seems to be causing problems with engine/transmission. Car is suddenly moving slow when accelerating initially.

- Mason, OH, USA

problem #75

Jul 202009

Trailblazer EXT 4WD 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
2006 Chevy trailblazer runs out of fuel. The low fuel light fails to work. The gauge is off slightly. Vehicle has 52,000 miles, this first start in 2009 with 42,000 miles.

- Norwalk, IA, USA

problem #74

Jun 192009

Trailblazer EXT 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
We ran out of gas on an interstate highway, despite the gauge indicating fuel was left in the tank. We drifted to a stop on the shoulder and I had to obtain fuel from the nearest service station 5 miles away and then return to the vehicle, leaving my wife and 3 young children unattended. Afterward, the fuel gauge only periodically functioned for the next 2-3 fill-ups and now does not work at all - the gauge constantly reads "empty" and the fuel light is always on. We ran out of gas on one additional instance because of this malfunction on a busy freeway offramp and now must constantly carefully check our mileage everytime we fill the tank.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #73

Apr 022011

Trailblazer EXT 4WD 6-cyl

  • 71,502 miles
Fuel gauge 2006 trailblazer stopped working and the low fuel light stays on!

- Weedsport, NY, USA

problem #72

Jun 112011

Trailblazer EXT 4WD 6-cyl

  • 102,526 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Chevy trailblazer faulty fuel sending unit, started giving false amounts and now does not work at all.

- College Corner, OH, USA

problem #71

Sep 102009

Trailblazer EXT 4WD 6-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
2006 Trailblazer ext; fuel level sensor, sending unit, etc. At 34,000 miles around Sept, 2009 right after filling up, the fuel gauge went to "empty' and the light went on with the warning bell sounding 5 times upon starting the vehicle. The check engine light also illuminated, but did go off by itself after 1 day. The gauge stayed at empty for approximately 50 miles after which it began to function properly, and then below about a third of a tank it went to zero again. Over time the portion of time the gauge functions properly has decreased. Now it registers about a quarter tank for only about 25 miles worth of driving, typically from 50 to 75 miles after filling it up. I've been aware of the preponderance of similar complaints, and have put off getting it fixed...just using the odometer...so far the odometer still works. A local Chevy dealer would not comment on this as a common issue, but wants a $49 minimum to look at it, which is more likely to be a full hour at $99, just to diagnose. I'm not interested in having a dealer look at it since it's out of warranty, but will put up with it until I find a trustworthy mechanic who will not fleece our family. This constitutes a safety problem in my opinion, but beyond my opinion this is a known issue that remains unresolved by GM to my knowledge. This is my first GM vehicle in 20 years, and I can safely say that unless GM shares some responsibility it will be my last.

- Carmel, IN, USA

problem #70

May 152011

Trailblazer EXT 4WD 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
Today for the 5th time my vehicle ran out of gas, this time on a busy highway right after I turned onto the highway. I had to be pushed out of the way of traffic. A truck came with fuel and I was able to get to a gas station. One of course pays a mark up on the fuel when it is brought to you. The dealership where I purchased it does not service Chevrolet's any longer. Another dealership in town says there is nothing to be done until there is a recall. This is very dangerous. I would like to sell the vehicle but who would buy a vehicle like this? I missed a clinic appointment, someone had to come pick up my son to get him to school and I rearranged my morning. The previous times I have been on my way to work or in to town. Once my son and I had to walk into town to get a gas can and walk back with the fuel. Another time aaa came but I missed all morning of work. Another time I was at a stoplight and it ran out of fuel and my older son and some basketball players, also in my vehicle, pushed the vehicle up the block into the gas station. The other time it ran out while I was on a main street but I was able to coast into a nearby gas station. I was informed that the vehicle was out of warranty when it began at about 75,000. I was told it would be 700$ and maybe more to fix and that to evaluate it meant paying most of the 700$. I watch my fuel mileage very carefully so I know when to refill. Today it stopped sooner than it should have. So now I can' T rely even on the mileage. I would not feel safe taking this vehicle on any longer trip. Five times is too many in 15 months especially when it stops suddenly in intersections and on highways.

- Oregon, WI, USA

problem #69

Feb 012011

Trailblazer EXT

  • 105,000 miles
The fuel sending unit has quit working. Can not tell how much gas is in the gas tank by the gas gauge. When gas runs out, vehicle stops with no warning causing a possible accident especially in heavy traffic or at a stop light.

- Clayton, NC, USA

problem #68

Apr 122011

Trailblazer EXT 4WD 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
Fuel gauge sending unit failure.

- Pickens, SC, USA

problem #67

Jan 012011

Trailblazer EXT

  • 60,000 miles
Gas gauge does not work properly and is very sporadic in its readings.

- Nashotah, WI, USA

problem #66

Jun 182009

Trailblazer EXT 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
I have a 2006 Chevy trailblazer. Since my vehicle hit 69000 miles my fuel gauge has become inoperable. I have tried to get it fixed but it is $1300 and no guarantee that it will not happen again since the part has not been changed. It stalls on many occasions as if I have no gas. I have run out of gas so I know how many miles I can go.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #65

Apr 282011

Trailblazer EXT

  • 86,000 miles
I started having problems with the fuel gauge swinging between full and empty then my check engine light came on. I've been told that I need an whole new fuel pump assembly and that the fuel tank will have to be dropped to replace it. I've been just setting the trip meter and filling it up every 250 miles because the fuel gauge now just stays lit on empty all the time. I don't have any problems with it running, starting, etc. So I'm assuming that it's just the sensor that is out. 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer ext.

- Camby, IN, USA

problem #64

Mar 012011

Trailblazer EXT 4WD 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
I have a 2006 Chevy Trailblazer ext with a fuel sending gauge problem. When I fill the tank, the guage indicates a full tank but the "needle" stays locked on full until I've driven approximately 50 miles - then the needle shows the fuel level at about 3/4 of a tank. Further driving makes the needle fluctuate wildly until sometime in the next 50/100 miles the needle falls to the empty mark and stays there. Recently there has been a new development: The needle never moves off the empty mark when I fill up and today, after filling up yesterday, the needle sits on the empty mark with the low fuel light on. I have resorted to bringing a gas can with me and using the odometer to "guesstimate" the amount of fuel I have left. Not always the best solution.

- Bettendorf, IA, USA

problem #63

May 122010

Trailblazer EXT 4WD 6-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
Fuel gauge does not register correct amount of fuel in tank, and at times blows fuel gauge fuse.

- Watsontown, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?