Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.8

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,870 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Uplander wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Uplander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Uplander Owner Comments

problem #8

Nov 162005

Uplander

  • 23,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Uplander. While driving 50 mph, the steering column shook violently. The contact had to firmly hold the steering wheel. There were no warning lights illuminated prior to the failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the front brakes and rotors failed. The vehicle was repaired at the cost of $122.07. Seven months later, the failure recurred. The contact managed to safely maneuver the vehicle to her destination. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the two front tires were failing. In addition, the vehicle failed the road force diagnostic test. The failure still persists and has not been remedied. The contact called the manufacturer and was informed that no compensation would be provided because there were no current recalls. The failure mileage was 23,000 and current mileage was 60,000.

- Vassalboro, ME, USA

problem #7

Sep 262008

Uplander

  • 30,000 miles
I purchased a 2006 Chevy Uplander in 12/06 with 20,543 miles on it. I began having problems with the steering about 3,000 miles after purchasing it. It was difficult to steer to the left and there was a grinding noise as I turned. The dealership replaced the steering column. I am having problems again with the steering, and it shakes and makes noise when I pull into parking lots. At about 30,000 miles, the rear sliding doors began to open on their own. When I put the van into reverse and begin to back out of the driveway, the doors sometimes will open. Parked in the driveway and parking lots with no one in the vehicle, the driver's rear door has opened. After I close the doors, they will immediately open, although no buttons have been pushed. Now, at 43,000 miles, the driver's rear sliding door will not close. I pushed the button inside the door as I always have to close it, as well as the overhead button, and the door would not close. Each time I pushed the button, the already open door pulled back as if still trying to open the door. When I tried to manually pull the door closed, it would not close. After 5 minutes of work, I finally got the door closed. The next day, 9/27/08, I experienced the same thing, and on this day as well, a chiming sound rang the entire trip. There is one sound for driving and a different sound for waiting at red lights. The loud ringing never stopped. When I called the dealership, they told me I was no longer under warranty, and will have to pay to have it fixed. I also discovered at 35,000 miles that my tires have worn unevenly on the outside edges of all 4 tires and need to be replaced. Also, the sway bar is in need of repair. I have children ages 2 and 4. I am concerned for their safety.

- Willingboro, NJ, USA

problem #6

Aug 202008

Uplander

  • 32,000 miles
I have had two of the tires that came with my new vehicle have the treads separate. They are model Goodyear, P22560R17. One tire separated in February and was replaced by the dealership and the second one on August 20, 2008.

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #5

Jun 052008

Uplander

  • 50,632 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Uplander. The ABS light illuminated and the contact took the vehicle to the dealer. She stated that the dealer did not inspect the vehicle, but only attempted to sell her another one. She took her vehicle to another mechanic and was informed that the front struts and rear shocks needed to be replaced, the rear tires were wearing and cupping badly, 25% remained on the front brake pads, 30% remained on the rear brake pads, and the rotors could not turn. The vehicle was previously taken to the dealer prior to the failures because the rear tires were making noise. The contact believes that the dealer knew something was wrong with her vehicle and waited for the warranty to expire. The current and failure mileages were 50,632.

- Mocksville, NC, USA

problem #4

Sep 182006

Uplander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,666 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Uplander. A few days after purchasing the vehicle, the contact began experiencing failures with her vehicle. She had to have all the front end components replaced, including the brakes, alternator, axle, swaybar link, wheel bearings, tie rod, and tires. The dealer repaired the failures, but they are recurring. The failures were covered under warranty; however, the contact had to pay a $50 deductible. The failure mileage was 23,666 and current mileage was 49,376.

- Sidney, ME, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #3

Sep 112006

Uplander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,264 miles
Purchased in Jan 06. By Sept 11, 2006 steering wheel became tight and heard noise under car when driving. Steering shaft was binding and had to be replaced; could not locate noise. Said may be related to steering shaft. Sept 20, 2006, took car back to dealership for noise under van again; was told E-brake cable was hitting rear suspension. February 11, 2007, had to replace front worn tires with only 23, 275 miles on car and have an alignment. March 9, 2007, traction control and ABS lights coming on as well as vehicle shaking. Was told front brakes were 100% worn and back brakes were 80% worn and would not be replaced under warranty because this was normal wear and tear.(only had 23,989 miles on van). April 19, 2007, heard noised while driving, heard something like a spring pop, service engine light was coming on, and it was stalling when trying to start. Both sway bars had to be replaced, spring pop was related to sway bars, and they could not find a problem related to the last two. Now a year later with only 39,000, I have to take my car in for new brakes again. And my front tires are worn and need to be replaced again!!!!! I also had problems with my doors not closing; after they wiped off the little magnets at the bottom sometimes they still don't want to close.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #2

Jun 252007

Uplander

  • miles
Purchased a 2006 chevrolot Uplander van with good year tires, P225/60R17. Right after the purchase vehicle started making noise & riding rough. Was informed by dealership that tires were defective, and that I should have good year replace tires. Good year alleged tires were cupped due to no rotation prior to my purchasing vehicle. Now approximately 6 months after purchase I have to purchase 4 new tires and be responsible for the cost. I believe this to be a total rip off.

- Mansura, LA, USA

problem #1

Apr 132006

Uplander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 395 miles
-the contact stated that he purchased the 2006 Chevrolet Uplander truck on 04/2006. He would lose control of the steering. He stated that the vehicle started zig zagging across the road. The contact stated that he took the vehicle to the dealership, and they rotated the tires, and replaced the console assembly. The contact stated that Continental tire with size P225/60R17, with dot# ac794blt5005 was taken to sears, and they informed him that the tread on the tires was deteriorating and splitting. The dealership did replace the first tire, but not the other tires, which were having the same problem. The vehicle started making a grinding noise and when turning the steering wheel there would be a loud noise, the contact took the vehicle once again to the dealership and they replaced the steering shaft. The contact stated that they realigned the hood and the hood latch assembly. He also had problems with the power doors. The failure mileage was 395 miles, and the current mileage was 13700. Several days ago an article stated that there were defective tires and the tire tread may cause deadly accidents. There have been problems with the vehicle since he purchased it April 1, 2006. He has an extended warranty, Continental advised him to take the tires to their independent tire dealers; however, the dealer will not replace the remaining defective tires. The tie rod was replaced on December 19, 2007, the driving shaft was replaced on two occasions and the inner tie rod boot was also replaced on October 9, 2006. The bearing and the hub assembly was also replaced on June 21, 2007. The front passenger tire currently has a blister on it. He has also notified General Motors and they have not offered him any assistance. The current mileage was 30,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

Not what you are looking for?