Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,318 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Chevrolet Venture cooling system problems

cooling system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Chevrolet Venture:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Chevrolet Venture Owner Comments

problem #19

Feb 202006

Venture 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,652 miles


Venture was making a smell that I remembered from my 95 Chevy lumina. Pull over realized the same thing was going on with this van. Coolant going into engine. This van only had 51,652 miles on for a 98 that is great I took very good care of it and Chevy lost a customer for life. We were looking a Tahoe but I would even look at it now Chevy is the worst car maker out there but then again they are making me now look a Toyota, Honda in a whole new light.

- Levittown, PA, USA

problem #18

Dec 182005

Venture 6-cyl

  • 112,234 miles
The intake gasket on my 98 Venture failed and leaked dexcool into the engine. The engine temp fluctuated and the vehicle overheated damaging the head gasket. I see GM is ignoring the issue as well as NHTSA. There is however a law firm in putting together a class action suit for this problem. I encourage all to join in the suit and to leave GM and become loyal Honda owners.

- West Valley, UT, USA

problem #17

Dec 112003

Venture 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles
For the 2nd time since the date noted below, I am experiencing intake manifold failure on my 1998 Chevy Venture. In 2003 it was replaced while the vehicle was still under warranty at 34,000 miles. Now, just shy of 2 years later, and at 53,000 (at my own expense and a cost of $1200)) it needs to be replaced again. The reason I am contacting you at this time is that GM does not recognize this as a recallable issue with their vehicles. I spoke with glen kuniyuki on 12/7/05, and sylvia jabouin on 12/8/05, at GM customer service. They said that since this was not a recallable issue and until such time that the NHTSA made them recall the vehicles involved, that they simply were not going to recognize that this is a common problem to GM models, and recommended trading it in for a newer model. While researching this problem, I found several websites where many other GM customers are experiencing the same repetitive problem with no satisfaction from the manufacturer. I am providing you with only four, but there are many out there. ( your attention and response to this matter will be anxiously awaited.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #16

Oct 052003

Venture 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles


Consumer owns a 1998 Chevrolet Venture. At 55000 miles the intake manifold gasket went out. The vehicle was maintained immaculately. This happened in October 2003. Vehicle was fixed by a dealer on October 10, 2003. He then checked the internet to find that this was a common problem due to a coolant that the manufacturer used. On July 2, 2005 the head gasket failed suddenly, vehicle had 75,000 miles. This was two weeks after a garage had done a 75000 mile check up on vehicle. Well over $40000 was spent. He did further research on the internet to find many other complaints on this issue. He felt this wa a safety issue, and it was endangering the life of his family. He contacted manufacturer, and was told that they would call him back, after not being called back by the manufacturer and him calling manufacture often back they finally made him an offer of a discount on something. He refused the offer, . he felt that the offer was not near what he had spent on repairs that manufacture should have paid for repairs.

- Glencove, NY, USA

problem #15

May 162005

Venture 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
1998 Chevy Venture mini-van. Have had to replace the radiator (now twice) due to overheating caused by "sludge" in the cooling system. Also, mechanic reports a coolant leakage in intake manifold gasket, which apparently is a well-known problem. Have only put dexcool in system, so wonder where sludge came from. Have not had gasket repaired yet because I think GM should do it for free.

- Oviedo, FL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Nov 112004

Venture 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,691 miles
I am going to need to repair my minivan due to the problem with the coolant leak and I really can not afford this and may have to have the van sit until I can. I cannot believe after all the complaints I have read on here that there is not a recall on this or the headlights. I will not purchase another Chevy vehicle again because this is a costly repair that is not the consumers responsibility, its obvious that this needs a recall. I do hope you come to your senses about this costly repair to the consumers because I will let every one I possible know that Chevy knows about this costly problem but refuses to accept responsibility as I am sure others that have this problem have told numerous people and you sales will drop so low that you will wish you would have had a recall.

- Franklin, OH, USA

problem #13

Jun 262004

Venture 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,000 miles


My family and I were on vacation driving from butler, pa to cape canaveral, Florida. I was driving on I-95 near savannah, ga on June 26th when I noticed my temperture gauge was moving up and down. Car never boiled over or loss any anti-freeze. I stopped at a pep boys repair shop at which time they advised me that my thermostat needed replacement. It appeared the dex-cool antifreeze that GM requires to be used turns into a sludge at high temperatures. Entire cooling system was sludged up by the dex-cool. After installing new thermostat and anit-freeze engine was idling rough. Car was taken to Chevrolet dealer nearby - Chevrolet dealer said engine needed replacement. - anti-freeze was entering cylinders #1 and #2. Chevrolet dealer charged over $6,000. I feel Chevrolet dealer overcharged as I was traveling from out of state - my local Chevrolet dealer quoted $3,700 for same work. My local mechanic advised me it's common knowledge that dex-cool is a defective product that has ruined many engines, radiators, heater cores and thermostats - GM refuses to acknowledge the problem while the damage continues. My vehicle was purchased new by me - garage kept - well maintained - 112,000 miles at time of failure.

- Butler, PA, USA

problem #12

Jun 292004

Venture 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The upper and lower intake gaskets were leaking coolant and oil onto the engine. This resulted in vehicle overheating, and burning up the engine motor. Also, fuel injectors had to be cleaned numerous times due to them misfiring.

- West Burlington, IA, USA

problem #11

Jan 232004

Venture 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles
Low coolant light came on while wife was driving and she said temperature gauge soared then dropped, she pulled out and drove again and it soared then dropped again along with low coolant light. Saw on the internet this is common for 1998 Chevy Venture and others. A lot of minivans with kids and spouses out there encountering this. I checked the engine upon arrival and think it may be an intake manifold gasket failure and have contacted a local service representative.

- Harwich, MA, USA

problem #10

Jan 032004

Venture 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 119,000 miles
GM has issued a service bulletin number: 03-06-01-010 in March 2003. This bulletin affects my Chevrolet Venture van and will cost me between $600 and $1500 to repair. Talking to the dealer indicates to me that there are a considerable number of Chevy's with this problem.

- Smithfield, NC, USA

problem #9

Sep 012003

Venture 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


Low coolant light comes on and off and coolant over-flow is consantley empty with a residue left behind. Low coolant light started coming on at approx.48000; present mileage 58830. Within the last 2 months I have noticed coolant on my driveway and in my garage. Temperature guage also show signs of over heat.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #8

Nov 062003

Venture 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I had to have a gasket leak on the intake manifold repaired. I understand this is a problem since 1995 occurring in approximately 1 out of 30 vehicles according to my current dealership. My previous mechanic of 15 years (a Chevy mechanic for 26 years) also said GM is aware of this frequent gasket leak. I called Chevy in detroit to ask for financial assistance for my $1,070 repair and they turned me down due to lack of evidence of a problem.

- Mokena, IL, USA

problem #7

Jul 242003


  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles
Intake gasket leaking.

- Pontiac, MI, USA

problem #6

Jun 202003

Venture 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,089 miles
I bought my 1998 Venture in July. Of 2001. It had 67000 on it. It seemed to have the smell of antifreeze. In June of 2003 our vans intake gasket burst causing coolant to leak into the engine. Apparently this is not unusual plus to make matters worse the average repair bill is at least 6.6 hours long just for the gasket not including any damage done to the cam shaft (which is hollow in this motor) I would like to see a class action lawsuit against GM on this matter.

- Beaumont, CA, USA

problem #5

Jun 122003

Venture 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,758 miles
1998 Chevrolet Venture with 41,000 miles taken for oil change where low coolant condition was noted. GM dealership replaced lower intake gasket. This is the second gasket put on this car. The original gasket was replaced at approximately 15,000 miles.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #4

May 052003


  • miles
The consumer noticed that his vehicle was leaking antifreeze, and when he turned his vehicle off there was no pressure in the radiator. The consumer took his vehicle to the dealer and was told that the vehicle had a leaking intake manifold gasket. After testing the vehicle the dealer indicated that the repair would cost $678 plus tax.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #3

Mar 152003

Venture 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,262 miles
I had my van in the shop because my heater quit working. The thermostat was changed. When I got the van back the heater didn't work and by the next morning the coolant reservoir was empty. Their weren't any external leaks noted. I took it back into the shop and he ran some checks and he stated that it was the intake manifold gasket and that the coolant was leaking internally. He also said that this was a common problem with most GM engines. Now my van is parked and I can't even drive it. It is knocking real loud and I am afraid to drive it because I have found out that this problem can lead to the van eventually catching on fire. My van had been in the Chevrolet shop several times for the engine light coming on and it was running rough. I was told that the light was on because the gas cap wasn't on tight. My van is just out of the warranty at @ 82,000 miles. I hear that the gasket in question is on national back order do the excess amount of GM vehicles with the same problem.

- Anderson, IN, USA

problem #2

Jan 272003

Venture 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
At 57,000 mi my 1998 Chevrolet Venture developed a coolant leak at the intake manifold on the drivers side of the engine. I was quoted a $500 estimate to replace the $3 gasket and the mechanic at the dealership stated that he sees a lot of these leaks and that this is very common.

- Cortlandt Manor, NY, USA

problem #1

Dec 292002

Venture 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,350 miles
Leaking coolant in 1998 Chevrolet Venture van w/ 3400sfi V6 engine diagnosed by dealer as "blown head and intake gaskets; may have cracked head, won't know until opened up. Estimated repair cost of $1300 for replacement of gaskets and another $660 if head is cracked." No action yet taken by consumer 1/3/2003. Many other reports of this problem noted by owners.

- Frederick, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?