Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,734 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Chrysler Concorde engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Chrysler Concorde:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Chrysler Concorde Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #34

May 172010

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Chrysler Concorde. While attempting to accelerate, the contact stated that the vehicle stalled. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired when the complaint was filed. The current and failure mileages were approximately 110,000. The consumer stated the timing chain faild and blew out the engine. Updated 07/23/10

- Kannapolis, NC, USA

problem #33

Oct 162008

Concorde

  • 117,750 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Chrysler Concorde. While driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they stated that the engine needed to be replaced. The cause of the failure could not be determined. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 117,750.

- Lehigh Acres, FL, USA

problem #32

Apr 222005

Concorde

  • miles
Chrysler/Dodge 2.7 liter DOHC engine has oil engine sludge.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #31

Jul 142007

Concorde

  • 109,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine failure, regular oil changes well maintained. Car was running fine driving on way home from work in heavy traffic, then oil light came on car shut off would not start back up. Had to have police come help with traffic and have help getting it off road. Towed home got it started back up sounded like a bunch of metal in a blender. Drained oil out of car was pureed metal. Total engine lose, no shop would repair, said the engine was not worth fixing, not even worth putting new engine in the car. Every place I talked to said same thing that the 2.7 engine in the 98 concord was faulty and junk.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #30

Mar 062008

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles
Knocking in engine.

- Porter, ME, USA

problem #29

Jul 292007

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Chrysler Concorde. While driving 70 mph, the vehicle decelerated without warning to approximately 55 mph. The contact stated that she heard a knocking noise coming from the engine. The dealer has not inspected the vehicle to determine the cause of failure. The failure mileage was 97,000 and current mileage was 98,400.

- Rowe, NM, USA

problem #28

May 242005

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My engine failed with no warning at all while driving.

- Monroe, LA, USA

problem #27

Oct 202006

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,095 miles
On the morning of 10/20/2006, my husband was driving to work in our 1998 Chrysler Concorde. He was in rush hour traffic and the engine started knocking and losing power, the oil light also came on when he stopped. He was able to make it to work and park the car. Only to be told by a certified mechanic that we have "engine failure" and need a new engine. More than likely due to "oil sludge"...whatever that is. We have had the oil changed in this car every 3,000 miles with synthetic oil since purchasing it from my parents in 2001. My parents had purchased the vehicle new and also had the oil changed every 3,000 miles. Our mechanic told us this "oil sludge" and engine failure is a major problem with these cars that have the 2.7L engine. We can not afford a new engine let alone a rebuilt engine. My husband has no transportation to work now, as we have 5 children 3 of them under 3, and I can't be without a vehicle due to our middle daughter's health problems and 3 weekly doctor appointments. My husband's job is in the city which is a 30 - 45 minute commute. Now my husband is having to take a bus to work and has to add 2 additional hours on to his commute time. Less time with family and a car with 72,000 miles that we can't drive!!! Chrysler's own mechanics admit the defect with the 2.7L engines, why won't the company acknowlege the problem. I'll tell you why......having to stand up and take responsibility for their defective engine would totally bankrupt them. Not to mention tarnish the "Mercedes-Benz" affilitation. Since hearing this I have researched this and have found thousands of people with the same problem and Chrysler won't do a damn thing about it!!! my parents have been loyal Chrysler owners since their first new car 40 years ago......I doubt that they will continue to be.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #26

Jun 142003

Concorde

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have a 1998 Chrysler concord that received routine maintenance. While driving on day, I heard a knocking noise come from the engine. I pulled over and turned the car off. The car never cut back on and the mechanic stated that the engine locked up. I phoned several engine repair companies and was notified that they receive many complaints / requests for the engines. They also stated that the concord had one of the worst performing and the most expensive engines.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #25

Aug 012006

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 153,000 miles
: the contact stated that the vehicle stalled while attempting to accelerate at an intersection. The vehicle would not restart and was towed to an independent repair shop who determined that the engine failed because there was sludge in the oil. The engine needs to be replaced. Updated 11/21/06.

- Wakarusa, IN, USA

problem #24

Jun 282006

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 1998 Chrysler Concorde lxi and currently the mileage on this car is around 84000. On June 28, 2006, while driving, suddenly engine making a rattling noise without any warning or indications, and lost power and turned off. After obtaining three different expert opinions from different mechanics, I have been told that the engine has failed and I have two options - either put a new engine or junk it. The estimated cost of repair is around $6000. I called the Chrysler today (July 2, 2006) and received a file number (it is 15115756). At the end of the call, I was told that Chrysler cannot help in this matter. I have the understanding that Chrysler has received many complaints about this problem and in many cases, they have got the cars repairs at their cost. Keeping in view the many people complaining about this, I feel that Chrysler need to look into this very carefully and must take the responsibility of having it repaired at their cost. I never expected this kind of trouble with this car, especially from a pioneer manufacturing automaker company like Chrysler.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #23

Apr 012005

Concorde 6-cyl

  • miles
Consumer check engine light came on and was told that he would need a new computer. ** received 9-28-05*** the consumer was living in germany at the time and the Chrysler dealer there was unable to get the part from the states for two months. The consumer requested a rental but was told that since his Chrysler came from the states the couldn't authorize a rental. The consumer rented a vehicle from 4/29/05 - 7/19/05 and request reimburse from Chrysler for the cost.

- Pleitersheim, DC, USA

problem #22

Mar 022005

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles
3/2/05 I left the car repair shop getting 2 sensors for my transmission replaced, I drove away, within 30 minutes of leaving, the engine began making loud clicking noises that then became a noise similar to a diesal engine running. I drove a total of approximately 4 miles, was sitting at a stop sign waiting to enter onto a main road, my engine just shut down. I was not able to restart the engine and unless I replace it for roughly $3500 the car is no longer able to be used. That is only the cost of the replacement engine without the labor charge included...adding that will be an astronomical amount. This car has been well maintained, I purchased it new in 6/98. Having this happen is unacceptable.

- Beach Park, IL, USA

problem #21

Jun 232005

Concorde

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
My 1998 Chrysler Concorde's engine seized while driving on the highway. The engine had been ticking and knocking for about a hundred miles before it seized. It then made a klunking sound, and simply quit. The mechanic I took it to could give no reason for it to have seized up.

- Clear Lake Oaks, CA, USA

problem #20

Jun 162005

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles
The car stopped while in motion, mechanic reports that the problem was the crankshaft sensor. The consumer was traveling about 63 mph on the interstate when car began to putter and then suddenly the engine cut off. There was no brakes, no steering, no electrical system. As it began, owner began to pull off to shoulder, then it died completely. There were no dashboard warning lights on at the time. The car was then towed to shop, where mechanic put it on the diagnostic computer. Mechanic installed new crankshaft sensor, and car started back up. Then after this, the next day after coming out of the shop, the engine began to knock horribly, and then the owner checked the engine oil and temperature, and everything was normal. The mechanic reported this time that there was a #2 piston that needed to be replaced. At a cost of 7000 dollars. The car is in the shop. Owner is going to put it in garage.

- Hilliard, OH, USA

problem #19

May 292005

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 1998 Chrysler Concorde. The contact states that the engine was making a loud noise, it was like a clanking noise. The vehicle quit while he was on the off ramp. Previously to this there was sludge in the engine. Chryslers claims not to have heard any other complaints on this problem, but consumer has gotten on the internet and seen other complaints for this problem.

- Rancho Cordova, CA, USA

problem #18

Dec 022004

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,000 miles
While driving 70-75 mph engine seized. Vehicle was towed to the dealer, who informed the consumer that the engine needed to be replaced.

- Mokena, IL, USA

problem #17

Nov 072004

Concorde 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,294 miles
While driving 3 mph vehicle stalled. Consumer was not able to restart the vehicle. Check engine light appeared on the dashboard. Vehicle was towed to the dealer for inspection. The mechanic determined that the engine needed to be replaced.

- Comanche, OK, USA

problem #16

Sep 012004

Concorde

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,700 miles
While driving 36 mph engine failed. As a result, power steering malfunctioned. The cause has yet to be determined.

- Schertz, TX, USA

problem #15

Oct 152004

Concorde

  • miles
The consumer took the vehicle in for an oil change. The vehicle had no problems prior to the oil change. Once the consumer left the jiffy lube. The consumer heard a flat banging noise in the engine. The consumer took the vehicle to a Chrysler dealership and was told the engine had to be replaced. The engine had sludge build up.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?